We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Would return.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Large, modern comfortable rooms. Great service and free Wifi. This hotel is very well located, there's no restaurant but an easy walk takes you to Esplanade park and a wide choice of restaurants in a variety of cuisine. Try Aino restaurant. We were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    236
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
141
461
79
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Fabian is a great boutique hotel, well situated in Helsinki. The staff here were super friendly and did a great job of recommending restaurants, and making reservations, and helping us find where to rent bikes and buy ferry tickets. It's a beautiful place and a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProNomad33062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were recently in Helsinki with friends and stayed at the Fabian for 5 nights in Lux rooms.
This is truly one of the best boutique hotels we have ever experienced.
The lux rooms are ideal for the longer stays, being larger rooms with a small kitchenette area.
Everything about this property is first class. Location, staff, quality of all facilities and fittings.
The only slight shortcoming is that, while breakfast is included, they do not have a restaurant for other meals. However there are a number of restaurants close by.
Staff will assist with an early breakfast if you have an early excursion planned, all with absolutely no hassle.
Perhaps one of the best value meals in Helsinki is at the harbour area ( a five minute walk from the hotel) where you can try the fresh cooked local salmon, with vegetables, at the market stalls.
Absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: Lux rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I can't stop singing praises for this property. At the time when I book the hotel, all feedback were either excellent and good, how wrong can it be? True enough, all you read here are reliable and accurate. Why?

Pricing - Amazingly affordable to book directly to the hotel via their website. I was there during the peak of summer, yet, the price paid were much lower than any other property in the city.

Location - It is not that far walk from the city center. While there are other property situated in the MIDDLE of the city, for the price you paid for Fabian Hotel just to compromise with an extra 5 mins walk, it is really worth it.

Rooms - What you see in those lovely pictures is real when you get there! Very comfortable room. While each room may differ slightly in terms of size, but rest assured, all are comfy. Bed is extremely comfortable. All the white paint remain white despite being operating in their 3rd year. Toilet is tip top clean!

Deco - It's a WOW! If you are an art deco person who someone looking for boutique hotel, this will certain be THE one.

Breakfast - While it is true that breakfast starts at 7am, there are occassion when the management will bring it forward to earlier timing should there be request. We were served breakfast from 6am onwards as there were few request to do so for that morning.

Staff - Very pleasant. Information given were accurate. The staff even helped to book us a vehicle to airport which is so much comfortable and cheaper than those cab we flagged. Definitely saved us some Euro on this! Thank you!

Overall - A lovely hotel. Tastefully decorated. Reasonable walking distance to the city center. I will certainly come back again if I get a chance to visit Helsinki.

Btw, I stayed at room 410, it is a NICE room!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good but I love room 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A23W_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderfully designed, pleasantly located hotel where the service is impeccable. A very comfy bed, great shower, ok breakfast and reasonably priced compared to its counterparts. I wholeheartedly recommend and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I only stayed one night on a whirlwind tour of the Baltics. This hotel was a great place to recharge in the middle of a packed schedule. The room was elegant and also deliciously comfortable. The shower was divine. What really stood out, though, was the service. When I arrived at an ungodly hour, the front desk person could not have been more receptive. Tge next day I misplaced my cell phone and had a moment of panic, but the receptionists went way above and beyond the call of duty to help me find my phone. They never lost patience even though they were clearly quite busy. This little boutique hotel is classy, all the way around.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl_0tt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to ensure we had a good time, clean and well sized modern rooms (I was impressed with the design being very practical with lots of outlets and shelving while still being spacious, comfortable beds, good location. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone or come back myself. We noticed the hotel did not have gym facilities but the hotel arranged for us to use their sister hotel's facilities free of charge only a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing