We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nothing was a Problem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nothing was a Problem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've always found that it's not the problem, but how it is solved that is the sign of a good establishment, and Fabian is a good establishment.

My first room was without a desk, and they switched without quibble, and when the tv froze, (Samsung - great picture, poor software :-)) they were up within seconds to check and fix.

Putting aside problems, the rooms were well equipped, hotel was quiet, and breakfast buffet had a large number of options.

Location was good. Perfect location to downtown Helsinki, and its many restaurants.

Room Tip: The two rooms I saw looked pretty much the same. Both well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campagnolo39-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    237
    24
    2
    1
See reviews for
140
461
79
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Although many hotels tout themselves as boutique hotels, most think that they are so by virtue of their size or not offering full services. My belief is that a boutique hotel will be smaller, but offer a higher level of personalization, design, and service. You may not have a pool or certain amenities of a larger hotel, but it's more than compensated by the warm and personalized experience.

The Fabian certainly fills that bill & has become my ideal for a boutique hotel. The hotel is quite small, but very well designed. The rooms are actually quite large (especially for Europe) and filled with many nice touches. Service is exemplary, staff was uniformly helpful and considerate, without being intrusive. Breakfast was very filling, with a nice variety of local specialties and fishy baked goodies. It can get a little crowded in the dining area, but staff helped out to make it all work.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Right in the city center (market square). Tastefully decorated, beautiful modern rooms. Breakfast does not have rich selections, but food was fresh, actually it was the best hotel breakfast that I had during my 2 weeks stay in nordic countries. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Internet is free and you can connect all your devices at the same time with a password.There was a smell from sewage.No slippers in the room.Breakfast is not rich.It is not in center,you have to walk about 10 minutes to shopping center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cojusna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFabian, Manager at Fabian Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Cojusna,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hotel Fabian. We highly value our guests' opinion as it helps us to improve our service.
Concerning the sewage smell in your room, please accept my sincerest apologies for this very unpleasant event, which is now fixed.
I am sorry to hear you did not find our breakfast satisfying. We have gathered the breakfast using fresh, healthy and mostly organic high quality products.
Your comments are very important to us to keep up and to improve our service. I will be very happy to welcome you back to Hotel Fabian or to assist you with possible future bookings.
Best Regards,
Elli Suutarinen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We actually stayed a month in the hotel as we have just moved to Helsinki. We had a courtyard room, and when we arrived in middle of March it was -22 degrees and snow everywhere... did not make a difference to the hotel, everywhere was cosy, warm and it was delight to enjoy breakfast every morning. The staff are friendly, the hotel is immaculate and the rooms very stylish. You just feel like a Home away from Home feeling. A 5 minute walk you are in the city but it was always nice to come back to Hotel Fabian every evening...will miss it.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room if you can afford it as they are bigger and you get a living and dining are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotteeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hotel in the heart of Helsinki. Almost as nice as Hotel Haven! We stayed in the style room on the 6th floor. Good large bed and comfortable room. Breakfast was really nice, everything was good and put up nicely. Staff was friendly too! We will come here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 204TravelChick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a "style room" for three nights, to visit Helsinki over the weekend of March 16th.
Upon arrival we've immediately found ourselves immersed in the calm and warm atmosphere that characterized our whole stay: welcomed and assisted by friendly and helpful staff in a cozy and stylish interior, a hotel structure which I'm tempted to describe as "compact" - in the positive sense - everything is good architected, within reach and indeed located where you were looking for. Our room, located on the 6th floor, was a typical example of that: although not huge, it provided adequate space to accomodate all belonging without problems, featured a safebox, an ironing board, complimentary coffee/tea and water, a minibar, a huge flat screen TV, a hair dryer ecc. ecc. The bathroom as well: "compact" and comfortable. During our stay we experienced top privacy and slept very well in a large and comfortable bed. We found the breakfast to be rich with a good selection of cereals, cheese/ham/salmon, jams, fruit salad and tasty selection of excellent brown breads. As a sidenote: breakfast has no table service: you pick the food and the beverages at the buffet by yourself (this is a local habit in all cafés of the town, BTW). The hotel location is very good to walk around the city and discover the hot spots of the town. Partially on our own and partially with the help of the staff hade 3 excellent dinner experiences within 20 min walk from the hotel: a wild Lappish taste at Saaga's restaurant (located on Bulevardi 34, it features Lappish cuisine in a very particular interior decor and table settings), had good seafood at Seahorse's restaurant (simple decor but very good food, located on Kapteeninkatu 11) and again seafood at Havis' restaurant (a bit more formal, located on Eteläranta 16, toward the port). Three very different restaurants, three excellent experiences for service, quality and friendliness. All in all excellent stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing