We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel fabian is a wonderful boutique hotel very close to the heart of old helsinki. The rooms are modern clean and very comfortable. The staff is extremely helpful. The only meal served is a buffet breakfast but this is OK because there are several excellent restaurants nearby. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    253
    28
    2
    1
See reviews for
147
497
80
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Been here while on a business trip, when I needed a change to the usual boring business hotels. Even if it is a bit far to walk to and from the train station (in the winter) it's really worth it for the cosy comfortable atmosphere. Breakfast really good, room in great shape.
Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirela_Cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from the train station (if you don't want to take the tram), not the most conveniently located but it's worth the walk, even when you're dragging your luggage.

Having said that, it is very near to the Market Square where you can get on to the ferry to Suomenlinna in winter. There is also a S-market and Alko store within 2 minutes walk.

We love the modern decor and beautiful design in the reception area the minute we walked in the hotel. We had the 'comfort room' which has a sofa in front of our bed for watching TV. The room is very comfortable, very well designed with functional and pretty fittings.

We also enjoyed the breakfast which has a good selection of yoghurt, smoked salmon, cheeses, hams, jams, porridge and breads. What I found very thoughtful was that they provide paper to-go cups for your coffee/tea which you can just grab and enjoy your hot beverage on the go.

I would definitely stay here again if we visit Helsinki again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooi Ping C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fabian is the home away from home in Helsinki. You’ll find a more detailed analysis in my earlier review – it’s still valid.

This time it was too wintery for an outside run, so I tested the gym at their sister hotel Haven around the corner. This gym is one tiny room where they’ve, nonetheless, managed to pack all the essential equipment. Bottles of cool water and gym towels turn it agreable enough to use.

One important addition: I noticed seeing familiar faces at Fabian. They either hire happy people or their staff becomes happy working at Fabian and stay (not always the case in hospitality!). Whicheverway – they make their customers happy. I will be seeing you guys again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in Fabian hotel for one night in room Lux because we were with child. There was 1 king size bed (comfortable bed and perfect bed linen) and sofa suitable for child. There is nice small kitchen with coffee maker. The floor in bathroom was made of ceramic tile and was not heated. We travelled by car and we found paid underground parking near the hotel. The hotel situated near the city center and you can access all the shops on foot.
The dining room is very small therefore get up earlier to enjoy quiet breakfast. The breakfast usually european: cheese, ham, yoghurts. In general we liked to stay there and return back to Fabian for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good location but on a quiet part of a street. Even in winter the walk to the main shopping area or the train station is not bad at all. The waterfront is right there as well. Hotel staff very friendly. Spacious room, esp for Europe. Afforable, modern, clean, and the shower gets five stars. Grocery store across the street. Will definitely be coming back.

I think the fitness center was in a sister hotel around the corner but did not try it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepmemoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We live in Espoo, 20km from Helsinki, and decided to spend a weekend in the city.

Fabian is quite nice, feels cozy, like home.
It s quiet, peaceful, the rooms are well furnished and not as basic as other hotels in Helsinki with the same price standard.

The room is spacious, as spacious as a executive room in a Radisson, for example.
The service was excellent, people working there were really pleasant.

The breakfast choice was good, but the quality of the food was basic. Not bad at all, basic.

I highly recommend this place over same price or 20e cheapers hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdkfr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing