We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk from train station”
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from the train station (if you don't want to take the tram), not the most conveniently located but it's worth the walk, even when you're dragging your luggage.

Having said that, it is very near to the Market Square where you can get on to the ferry to Suomenlinna in winter. There is also a S-market and Alko store within 2 minutes walk.

We love the modern decor and beautiful design in the reception area the minute we walked in the hotel. We had the 'comfort room' which has a sofa in front of our bed for watching TV. The room is very comfortable, very well designed with functional and pretty fittings.

We also enjoyed the breakfast which has a good selection of yoghurt, smoked salmon, cheeses, hams, jams, porridge and breads. What I found very thoughtful was that they provide paper to-go cups for your coffee/tea which you can just grab and enjoy your hot beverage on the go.

I would definitely stay here again if we visit Helsinki again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooi Ping C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Fabian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fabian is the home away from home in Helsinki. You’ll find a more detailed analysis in my earlier review – it’s still valid.

This time it was too wintery for an outside run, so I tested the gym at their sister hotel Haven around the corner. This gym is one tiny room where they’ve, nonetheless, managed to pack all the essential equipment. Bottles of cool water and gym towels turn it agreable enough to use.

One important addition: I noticed seeing familiar faces at Fabian. They either hire happy people or their staff becomes happy working at Fabian and stay (not always the case in hospitality!). Whicheverway – they make their customers happy. I will be seeing you guys again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in Fabian hotel for one night in room Lux because we were with child. There was 1 king size bed (comfortable bed and perfect bed linen) and sofa suitable for child. There is nice small kitchen with coffee maker. The floor in bathroom was made of ceramic tile and was not heated. We travelled by car and we found paid underground parking near the hotel. The hotel situated near the city center and you can access all the shops on foot.
The dining room is very small therefore get up earlier to enjoy quiet breakfast. The breakfast usually european: cheese, ham, yoghurts. In general we liked to stay there and return back to Fabian for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good location but on a quiet part of a street. Even in winter the walk to the main shopping area or the train station is not bad at all. The waterfront is right there as well. Hotel staff very friendly. Spacious room, esp for Europe. Afforable, modern, clean, and the shower gets five stars. Grocery store across the street. Will definitely be coming back.

I think the fitness center was in a sister hotel around the corner but did not try it out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keepmemoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We live in Espoo, 20km from Helsinki, and decided to spend a weekend in the city.

Fabian is quite nice, feels cozy, like home.
It s quiet, peaceful, the rooms are well furnished and not as basic as other hotels in Helsinki with the same price standard.

The room is spacious, as spacious as a executive room in a Radisson, for example.
The service was excellent, people working there were really pleasant.

The breakfast choice was good, but the quality of the food was basic. Not bad at all, basic.

I highly recommend this place over same price or 20e cheapers hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrdkfr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel has a great location super close to the Esplanade and the waterfront. Staff was nice and friendly, and I really enjoyed the ambience in the rooms. My room was quite spacy and had a homey-feeling with non-standard solutions and a great interior design. The breakfast buffet is good and simple continental - no hot dishes, but I'm really not much of an egg-bacon fan anyways. Nice bread, cold cuts, youghurts, fruit, smoothie etc. Loved the to go cups for the coffee!
There's a cozy lobby bar and a nice courtyard for those summer evenings.

Room Tip: 202 was quite big and nice
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discokasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. Importantly the room was comfortable which meant restful nights. The breakfast was really good and on the healthy side. Will definitely be staying at the Fabian again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ustaad71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
520 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
459 reviews
Hotel Haven
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,410 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: $164 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing