We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fabian
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$196
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Helka(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
$109
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$167
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic Paasi(Helsinki)
$209
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anna Hotel(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,277)
Filter reviews
1,277 results
Traveler rating
943
297
33
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
297
33
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelquiet streetstyle roomsmall hotelporridgeboiled eggscomfort roomsister hotelthe breakfast areawonderful staycomfortable bedgood sizelovely hotelminute walksalmonmarket squarebreakfast was delicious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,277 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I actually chose this hotel over its slightly more opulent and pricey sister hotel, Haven, because it offers a more intimate atmosphere with more or less the same level of space and comfort. The rooms are tastefully designed and simply decorated (which fits the way things are done in Finland) but really well executed.

The room I had was spacious, the bathroom excellent (huge mirrors and a roomy shower with loads of hot water). The wi-fi was trouble-free and the staff unassuming, friendly and efficient. Because the hotel is quite small, it has no restaurant, but you are very close to the downtown eating and shopping so that doesn't matter. The breakfast is simple, unfussy and good quality.

As you would expect, the room was warm... Much better than the ubiquitous air-con cool that usually meets you in business hotels, regardless of the weather outside! There's a mini-bar, with maxi-prices... So be aware that drinking anything alcoholic in Helsinki is expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here on business for a night. The room was spacious, with inspired decor and most importantly, a delicious bed. The shower was out of this world with plenty of power and almost worked as a sauna. I enjoyed it 3 times in less than 24 hours!

The small size of the hotel makes it a personal experience. The front desk staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I really enjoyed how the breakfast is set up like a fancy family room where you can grab a cup of coffee to go right off the kettle yourself.
This will stay as my first choice in Finland.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Snorri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

the hotel is well situated and is very clean and modern in a boutique kind of decor, the bed is really comfortable and the staff are first class and nothing is too much trouble.... but a few things really didnt quite work for me, room 505 i could only get out of one side of the bed as there were a pair of painted step ladders with a huge lamp on top of them that prevented you getting out ? the air conditioning temperature could not be changed or turned off in the room ? you cannot open the windows for a breath of fresh air on a nice day as they need a special key to open them, no kettle tea bags, coffee etc in the room,? the breakfast only begins at 7.00 am so if you are at a meeting at 8.00 am which is when most finns start their business day its a real struggle to take breakfast and travel to the company you are visiting and get there for 8.00 am ? breakfast selection is quite limited compared to other cheaper helsinki hotels i have stayed in and considering the room was 157 euros per night, all in all not particularly good value considering the above comments, i will probably stay elsewhere on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bumshanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelFabian, Manager at Hotel Fabian, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Bumshanky,
Thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Fabian. I am sad to hear we did not quite meet your expectations. The step ladder is actually our bedside table and it is by no means supposed to block your way out of bed. I am sorry if you felt this was the case in your room.
It is true that the air conditioning can not totally be switched off, as there will always be some air coming through. This is to keep the air fresh at all times. The room temperature, however, can be controlled from the panel next to the door.
A kettle and tea set is included in all of our Style and Lux Rooms. Should you have requested one from the reception, we would have delivered one to your room also.
What comes to our breakfast, we have concentrated on healthy, high quality options rather than large amounts. I am sorry if you felt that breakfast times were not good for you. Most of our guests have been happy with breakfast starting at 7am and in case we hear that someone does not have time to have breakfast, we are always happy to prepare an early breakfast for them.
Despite your negative experiences this time, I do hope that next time you are in Helsinki, you would still consider staying with us.
Best Regards,
Elli Suutarinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Helsinki
11
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very grown-up hotel with beautiful furniture and decoration. I slept well and enjoyed the quiet surroundings near the old market hall and the city centre. The breakfast buffet was tasty . I'll definitely stay there another time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed there for one night during a trip to Finland. Had stayed on three other hotels in Helsinki and would say that this hotel is a runner up to a first place, even though it is not my top pick in Helsinki.

The room could have been bigger but it was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was two single beds that were joined together which is a big minus for me. Even though we were on the top floor towards the street, there wasn't much to look at, but it seemed to be a quiet area and thus not much noise from the street.

The staff was friendly in general and very helpful to us, both when helping us with directions to the nearest gas station and when helping us with recommending a place to dine. For the latter, they even called ahead and made sure that there would be a table for us when we arrived.

We appreciated the variation in the breakfast buffet, and the feel of "sitting in someones kitchen", but the seating area is very small and located next to the reception which can be well visited by people checking out in the morning.

All-in-all a good experience and good option when looking to find a place to stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Specto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews