We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and nicely decorated rooms!”
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed there for one night during a trip to Finland. Had stayed on three other hotels in Helsinki and would say that this hotel is a runner up to a first place, even though it is not my top pick in Helsinki.

The room could have been bigger but it was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was two single beds that were joined together which is a big minus for me. Even though we were on the top floor towards the street, there wasn't much to look at, but it seemed to be a quiet area and thus not much noise from the street.

The staff was friendly in general and very helpful to us, both when helping us with directions to the nearest gas station and when helping us with recommending a place to dine. For the latter, they even called ahead and made sure that there would be a table for us when we arrived.

We appreciated the variation in the breakfast buffet, and the feel of "sitting in someones kitchen", but the seating area is very small and located next to the reception which can be well visited by people checking out in the morning.

All-in-all a good experience and good option when looking to find a place to stay in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Specto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Really good location as you can reach the city centre, the harbour and a lot of bars & restaurants within walking distance. Transfer from the airport is quite quick with 30 minutes and the taxi fair is only about 40 EUR. The hotel is like a boutique hotel and really charming! It really feels like home...

Room Tip: Rooms to the courtyard are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The staff at the Fabian Hotel could not have been more friendly and accommodating! I did have several technical problems with the electronics in my room but each time the front desk people came promptly to reset and repair the issues. They staff worked hard to make me comfortable — as I was traveling and fighting a cold. The room was quiet and comfortable. The location perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicomliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was the best of my 2 month trip! It is small and cozy. My room had a hollywood meets safari feel, in the best possible way. The room was a good size. The hotel was in a good location, a quick walk (<5 min) to the Esplanade, Harbor and the marketplace, with shops and restaurants right nearby, but it was just far enough away to be quiet. There seemed to be a police or military office across the street which only served to make me feel safer. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good and had many options, and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katyhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fabian when attending to a wedding in Helsinki. First time away from the kids in 5 years, this was the perfect get-away for us! The room was luxurious and spacious and calm as I had reqested, the bathroom warm and clean and the breakfast was very nice in a homely environment. I believe there were some problems with the TV-channels, but since we didn't go there to watch TV, it didn't bother us and we didn't even remember to mention it in the reception. We will definitely visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: We asked for a calm, quiet and romantic "parents-get-away" room, which we got! It overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the last night of our 2 week trip around Europe and we couldn't have been happier with hotel Fabian. After staying in all sorts of hostels, apartments and hotels for 2 weeks, I was so relieved to walk into our room and see that it really was as clean and cozy as the pictures let on. The bed was plush with lots of pillows, the bathroom was relatively luxurious, and the style of the room was impeccable - not to mention, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We only had one night out in Helsinki, but found that the location was close to many of the bars and restaurants we wanted to try. The hotel breakfast was excellent, as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

He hotel ima very nice, cozy with very nice rooms, and very confortable. The breakfast is great and the personnel very nice. Very good option. The only problem is that the rooms are quite cold but if you ask for extra heater at the reception, they would send you one.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imanollogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
551 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
603 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#4 of 66 in Helsinki
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#8 of 66 in Helsinki
1,117 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 66 in Helsinki
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: $137 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing