We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome Bed, Breaky and Shower” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Bed, Breaky and Shower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Other than attractions, The Fabian was probably one of the top highlights of our European Honeymoon. Just an amazingly casual, modern and relaxing place to lay your head. We found Helsinki to be a little boring, and were thankful that we had booked such a nice accommodation to enjoy our days. The breakfast was fantastic and the value was tremendous. Wouldn't even consider going anywhere else should we ever return. Close enough to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiGoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    236
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
141
460
79
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Everything which has to be said about this hotel has already been said.

Great location. Beautiful, newly decorated rooms. Great amenities and fittings in the rooms (heated floor in the bathroom!). Warm, friendly and welcoming staff. Free wi-fi with excellent signal and speed. Great breakfast. Not sure what more you can ask for ...

A couple of things to note though -- as a small boutique hotel, it has no sauna or gym. But you have access to a gym in Hotel Fabian's sister hotel (Hotel Haven - itself a Small Luxury Hotel) which is about 100 metres down the road.

Room Tip: I had a Style+ room. The best Style+ room I think is on either the 4th floor or the 5th floor (depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank craig_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I've stayed at Fabian twice and both visits have been very nice. Everything about this hotel - friendly staff, central location, large and stylish rooms - just works!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyCale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserstuhl, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Fabian is related to the great hotel Haven due to location, style and owners. It however offers better price/performance ratio and is very convenient small design hotel located at walking distance to the Espalanade.

It does not have a restaurant but there are plenty of them near by. Breakfast is modern and very good usually included in the price.

I will return there next time I am up there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tunkete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We only stayed 1 night at Hotel Fabian and we wish we had longer. The reception was very nice and the staff were very helpful and charming. We paid extra for a larger room on the th floor, but it was the biggest room I've ever stayed in! we had a massive hallway and an area with sofa, coffee table and armchairs, as well as a large separate closet. The bathroom was quite small but decorated nicely and luxurious with underfloor heating, and facecloths/toiletries. The bed was very comfy and the room had full aircon, lots of adjustable lights and overall was very comfortable and felt luxurious. there was a large flatscreen TV and a decent selection of channels. The breakfast room was very nice with a decent spread of the the usual cheeses, breads, fruit, yoghurt, juice etc. and the witty table mats with Finnish translations for 'do you have Elk?' etc. were a nice touch! Its about 20 minutes to walk to the main station and only 10 minutes or so from the old market square. Everything in Helsinki is very close by and this is an ideal spot for exploring this exciting city. If we go to Helsinki again I would choose this hotel first.

Room Tip: we chose the slightly higher price comfort room which was very good value for Helsinki
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Helsinki and booked this hotel a couple of months in advance asking for a room with a nice view. Our room was on the top floor, looking into a courtyard, so not panoramic but I appreciated the top floor. It was small, with very nice, modern decor and everything we could need. It had a small balcony with 2 chairs and solid curtains which were appreciated since there is very little darkness in Helsinki in July. Comfortable, modern shower. Very comfortable bed and desk. Perfectly clean. The buffet breakfast that was included in the price of the room exceeded our expectations. It was well laid out, with great variety of breads, pastries, cheeses, cold cuts, salmon, boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, hot oatmeal... so continental in the best sense of the word. Great coffee, and superb, very attentive staff that constantly tidied up and added to the trays. There is a very cosy dining room and a little solarium beside it, plus a courtyard. Well done. You could easily pay EUR30 per couple for this somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiana2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We spent about a week in Helsinki meeting relatives. One of them had found this hotel for us and it was absolutely perfect. It is a newly converted apartment building, built around a central courtyard and about 5 stories. Everything is essentially brand new. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the courtyard and quiet as a tomb. The beds were wonderful and we actually had a mini suite with a micro wave etc. The hotel has a great location for a tourist, about four blocks from the ferry terminal for trips to St. Petersburg or Estonia and from the wonderful indoor and outdoor markets. Breakfast was included and wonderful. It included all kinds of cold cuts, fish, cheese, yogurt, fruit, hot and cold cereals, tomatoes and cucumbers, wonderfuls breads and strong coffee with hot milk. The internet worked very well. The staff made us feel at home.

Room Tip: rooms on the courtyard are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ak-Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Hotel Haven
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing