We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fabian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fabian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The Fabian is located about 3 blocks from the busiest area of downtown Helsinki. It's a quiet neighborhood, but near enough to the action.
We had an upscale elegantly furnished room on the ground floor with our own entrance off a courtyard. The room was a good size with a sleeping area separated by a partition. Each area had it's own large flat-screen TV. The beds were extremely comfortable and we each had our own comforter.
The large bathroom had a over-sized shower and was finished in marble. We also had a small kitchenette with a microwave, small sink, and undercounter refrigerator. (Pots and dishware as well).
Breakfast was a cold buffet, but there was good variety - yogurts, smoked salmon, and fresh fruits and breads.
The room was extremely quiet - no sounds from adjoining rooms or plumbing noises.
The desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful as were all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigShotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    224
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
134
425
78
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This intimate hotel near the downtown area of Helsinki is really a find. I stayed 4 nights, and could not have been happier with everything in my large room, as well as the great breakfast and staff. I paid less than $150/night and could not believe what a steal it was! Definitely a "boutique" hotel, but lacks the pretension most similar places have throughout the States and Europe. Bathroom was large, modern, clean, and functional (no tub). Staff were friendly and helpful. Slightly out of the center of the city, but only really a few blocks out of the way - the quiet you get makes up for the few extra blocks. There is a beautiful park right next to hotel, which was great for a morning jog. Friends of mine living in Helsinki, after picking my up from the Fabian, decided to book their relatives for 2 weeks for an upcoming visit. Only 3 blocks to one of the ferry/hydrofoil terminals where the Linda Line docks (Tallinn). Hands down one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in in Europe!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sg4878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Fabian for 3 nights at the beginning of May ... It is our new Favourite City Hotel ... everything is perfect nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the location is excellent. It is on a quiet street just a few blocks from the main square. The hotel is a small boutique hotel with a wonderful cozy but high end feel. There is a fabulous restaurant just between the hotel and the square ..... there are 2 floors and the lower level is charming and the food fabulous. We heard that it is owned by one of the brothers that owns the hotel, the front desk will be able to point you in the right direction. We were leaving very early the morning we checked out and the staff had packed sandwiches and fruit for us .... Take the ferry to Tallin for the day and also the bus to Porvoo well worth the trip. The Sea Horse is a traditional Finnish restaurant and looks like it did in the 50s great food reasonable prices schnitzel was amazing reservations a must ..... it is walking distance from the hotel .. also The Three Crowns - traditional Finnish menu. The Tourist office is only about 10 minutes from the hotel by the square - they can book the ferry for you ..... all and all a fabulous short getaway - the hotel is truly lovely - you won't be disappointed .... The Stockmann Department Store has a wonderful food hall - great for a take out sandwiches and pastries. Breakfast at the hotel is wonderful... Have Fun !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hooligan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I wish I could go back and re-rate all of the hotels I've ever revieved, This hotel has set a new benchmark! Everythin about this hotel was sublime. The rooms were georgeous and new, the decore modern and well designed, the bathroom and the bed was huge and I could go on and on. The location is great a short walk from the main street/shopping area and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sburtoffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed here for one night in April during a business trip and was not disappointed. From a business perspective you get everything you need: good internet connection, comfortable bed, great pillows, huge room. The other advantage (because I'm a total girly girl) was the assortment of soaps, shampoos, conditioner, lotions. (It's the little things, right?) I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend, and can't wait to return to Helsinki just so I can stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS_GRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Fabian hotel has beautifully furnished rooms with super comfortable beds! The hotel is quite close to the center, but in a quiet street. Breakfast was very good too. I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend, it's just perfect. The price is not cheap but is not too high either, for what you get. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite, they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBorsando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed here for 2 days on a business trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke impeccable English. The hotel breakfast was very good, and the room was clean and quiet. Internet was fast. General atmosphere of hotel is warm, relaxed and welcoming. It was very good value for money, and would recommend for either business or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_h_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel Haven
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fabian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fabian Hotel

Property: Fabian Hotel
Address: Fabianinkatu 7, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fabian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 58-room hotel at Fabianinkatu 7 right in the heart of the city expands the range of services available for travellers who prefer to plan their trips themselves. A special feature of the new hotel will be eight extended stay rooms for those who wish to spend a longer time in Helsinki. The architecture of the building plays a key role in the design of the interiors creating a unique identity for the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fabian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing