We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cumulus Hakaniemi to your Saves list
Cumulus Hakaniemi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed in two of the "superior" rooms on the 9th floor, facing the Hakaniemi market, and were very pleased with the location. Even on hot, humid days the air felt cool and fresh with the windows open. Beautiful views of the market square and the water, boats and small islands beyond. Good access to trams, buses and metro which are located just outside the hotel. If one chooses to walk, the city centre is only 15 minutes away. Clean, eco-friendly hotel with helpful, knowledgeable staff. Included buffet breakfast is served on 2nd floor of hotel and provides a good selection of scrambled and boiled eggs, tiny sausages, mini meatballs, cold cuts, cheeses, breads and butter/margarine, yogurt, berries, fresh lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, porridge, tiny pastries, coffee, tea, juice and milk. Beds are clean and comfortable. Large flat-screen TV's. Good-sized, well-functioning showers. Small lobby shop for water, juice, wine, snacks and souvenirs, as well as lobby computer, bathrobe, slippers, hair dryer, minibar and room safe are provided. All in all a good, well-run hotel with some very good restaurants nearby, e.g., Juttutupa and Café Piritta, both with terraces and both within a short walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumulus-Hakaniemi, General Manager at Cumulus Hakaniemi, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Sonja,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. I will pass your kind words to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you soon again in Cumulus Hakaniemi Helsinki.


Best Regards,
Nina Karlstedt
Hotel Manager
Cumulus Hakaniemi Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    123
    62
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
68
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was a decent hotel. The room was on the small side, but as I really only used it to sleep or catch up on email it was adequate. The location is pretty good, the airport bus stops in the square outside, and it was an easy walk into the centre of town, and to the conference hall around the corner. Breakfast was just OK, but the wifi worked well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrajong, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Good, modern hotel about 1 km walking distance from main railway station. Good size room with comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast included in price.
Trams, buses and metro just outside the hotel.
Reception staff helpful and pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It is a ‘standard’ type of hotel I would say, so it is ok for business and city trip. The location is pretty good, walk to main square takes about 15 minutes, which we did comfortably (I was on a business trip, but wife and baby came for a few days sightseeing). There is bus/tram/metro stops right in front of the hotel which puts you in touch with most parts of the city if you don’t fancy walking, although it is not that big a city to have to worry to much.
We have in the past had breakfasts at this type of hotel, and they are a bit basic, but it depends on what you want, so we opted to go to local cafes and markets (as I don’t go on holiday to sit in the hotel). The staff where very helpful, particularly as it was our first time abroad with our baby. The wifi seemed to work quite well, which is always useful.
From my understanding, Helsinki can be quite expensive, so although I would not regards this as cheap, I think comparatively you get what you pay for.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PeterC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

In a central location, easily reached by bus from the airport and a short (15 minute) stroll from the city centre. Room was clean and modern. Just a shower (no bath) in en suite, and breakfast is OK. Would certainly stay again. It is a nice hotel, clean, efficiently run but no frills.

Room Tip: Rear of building (where I was) is apparently quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zotsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is rather well located not so far away from centrum of Helsinki. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are fine, but you should ask for a room not facing the street as the tram is rather noisy.
The breakfast was not so good. No variation of fruit, only orange and apples, and the warm buffet was only small sausage, meatballs and tasteless stirred eggs. But for a short stay, 1-2 nights, is is ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

A lovely stay here in 2012 October. Small but stylish rooms, clean and comfortable. Got onto WiFi eventually. Breakfast fine but limited reception area. Easy from airport and bus stops right outside. Not far to walk to local attractions, though it has to be said that Helsinki is pretty grey in winter.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#39 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
#48 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arthur Hotel
#38 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Property: Cumulus Hakaniemi
Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing