We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quick stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cumulus Hakaniemi
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quick stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I chose this hotel on arrival at the airport....
I was looking for a cool location, cheap and comfortable room. This met that criteria.
The room was basic, cheerful and small.
The convenience of the location was a winner with transport easily accessible from the front door. However I found Helsinki to be fantastic to walk around - everywhere was within a half hour leisurely stroll. I think I was just lucky with amazing blue skies.
All in all a lovely one night typical hotel room stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebitofluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    126
    62
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
69
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for five days at this hotel. The hotel is situated near the city centre and the airport bus stops right outside the hotel.
The room was basic, good shower and a good hairdryer. Very clean. The staff was ok but none of them could assist with the sauna - there were some lockers in the sauna room for you to put your clothes in while in the sauna, however all lockers were locked even though no one was using the sauna and the staff had no idea where the keys could be.
The breakfast was ok, nothing really fancy. The wi-fi was included in the room price and was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gudrunjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Buses including the airport bus, and trams stopped right in front of the hotel, which made it very convenient even to explore downtown area if you were not inclined to walk. An open air market was held right across the hotel.
But the rooms were pretty small, as were the bathrooms. Not even a refrigerator in the room, but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms had all the necessary supplies. Breakfast was OK and most of the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. The rates were definitely high considering the size of the rooms, and the basic amenities. The main advantage was the convenient location.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front have plenty of light, though a little noisy at night sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee4447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There is good connections outside the hotel w/ metro, tramp or bus. Very nice market area and market hall. Hotel itself is very new, rooms are specious. Even that there was lot of people during my stay, hotel was very quiet. Only breakfast room was a bit too small to all of those people. Breakfast was good even that hotel didn't serve bacon. Hotel is eco-friendly, even water pressure in the shower has reduced - but you will not notice that. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I don't see any reason why not recommend this hotel. Well... only if you look something luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the Cumulus Helsinki to wind down from a 14 day one-way motorhome trip covering Stockholm - Lapland - Helsinki with Touring Cars Helsinki. The location of the hotel is perfect for city explorations. After returning the camper I got dropped off at the hotel to regroup with others.

The staff was very helpful and allowed us to check out late i.e around 3 pm so that we could catch the Finnair shuttle bus to the airport without having to carry our backpacks around.

The room was very spacious and had the expected conveniences to our disposal. We enjoyed the sauna and came back from our City exploration for just that. It helped getting the tormented bones and muscles supple again before going out for any evening explorations. The ceiling has cumulus clouds wallpapered on which may have given the hotel its name. The bathroom is spacious and the shower wet area excellent. You need to activate the lift with your room key cards which is a nice security feature. Breakfast is solid and there is a very nice variety of food items provided. The coffee is of very good quality which I oversampled from.

The staff was very helpful and our stay was most delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutSchuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Bright blue and white rooms.
Frankly, our family did not find this four starred hotel any different from the run of mill three starred ones in most of Europe. The family room allotted to us three was very small and did not even have a mini fridge or tea or coffee making arrangement. It had a TV with a small range of channels. The beds were comfortable though and so were the pillows. The bath and toilet was proportionately small but again bright like the décor of the room. Our allotted room 415 had the dull view of a wall and windows of an adjacent building. The sky was partially visible. We had been told that family rooms have no view and for 30 Euros per night more, we could get a larger room.
The room came with breakfast that was on offer from 7:30 to 10:30 am. The spread was varied and reasonably good – no eggs made to order though. The young ladies attending to the guests in the breakfast hall were efficient – replacing trays that were getting empty. Fresh fruits were available – mainly apples and peaches. The juices were not too dilute and artificial tasting as it happens in many hotels. Overall, the breakfast on offer was good enough to start the day off well for most.
The location of the hotel was very close to the city centre and tram, bus stops. But Helsinki is so small that most hotels are either adjacent to or in its heart. One facility that had influenced me in selecting this hotel was the availability of the bus to the Vantaa airport (615) just across the road. The fare we paid was 4.50 Euros and the time taken was about 25 minutes.
The ladies at the reception desk were efficient and friendly; not common in many chain hotels. They were ready to offer advice on any tourism and transport related queries.
In short, our experience in this hotel of the Cumulus chain was nothing to write home about. Indeed, we wondered how and why it had been graded with four stars. There must be something we missed; so many others were regularly checking in and out.

Room Tip: Be willing to pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBMukherji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed two nights here and have nothing to complain about. The room was clean, quiet and big enough. Even though my window was facing a busy street and market square, I didn't find the noise from the outside disturbing. The staff was helpful and the breakfast adequate. Also, the hotel is only a five minute metro ride away from the main railway station. The price for the room was very reasonable. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#39 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
#48 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arthur Hotel
#38 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Vironniemi
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
Hellsten Helsinki Senate
#32 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Property: Cumulus Hakaniemi
Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing