We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money (in Helsinki)”
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumulus Hakaniemi
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value for money (in Helsinki)”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Recently renovated hotel close to the city center. And the metro, tram and bus stops couldn't be closer. All kinds of shops, department stores, restaurants, pubs, clubs, etc. in the vicinity. 10 minutes walk to the theatre we went to see a play at.

Clean and spacious room. We were facing the inner yard: no view but also no noise from the busy street and market place. If you prefer the view, it's a sea view over the market place.

Proper breakfast with enough choices. The breakfast room was rather crowded as the hotel was full but we were able to find a table, and everything at the counters was refilled constantly.

Saunas (separate for men and women) were nice and good, included in the price.

Service at the reception was a bit slow when we arrived. But the receptionist who served us an hour after we had checked out was nice and friendly when we asked to go back to the room to get something we had forgotten.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    162
    85
    16
    6
See reviews for
53
92
42
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

for the price you pay for a room in pricey Helsinki, Cumulus Hakaniemi is pretty hard to beat in terms of value and convenience!

located a few steps away from Hakaniemi subway station, and several bus lines, you're no more than a hop and jump away from the city's main sights. if you wish to walk to Senate Square, it's only a mere 15 mins downhill, and 20 mins uphill. some fastfood options nearby if you're feeling hungry at night, or a huge supermarket just a few steps away as well.

free internet terminal (just 1 only unfortunately) at the lobby area.

decent breakfast spread, though it was pretty crowded at 9am on a saturday, and quite hard to get a seat, so if you're there on a weekend, might be wise to have an earlier breakfast!

rooms are cookie-cutter standard but functional. very clean.

the heated bathroom floors were a huge plus!!! kept the bathroom warm and for the first time on that trip after having stayed in many different hotels around northern europe, i didn't remember shivering and teeth chattering when i came out of the shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolosSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for one night and was overall satisfied. Reception was fine, checking in & out worked smooth and breakfast was good. The hotel has everything you need but you have to go down to the lobby to get a ironboard and iron.

Was staying up late and working in my room, missed a fridge with drinks and some snacks. But this is available in vending machines in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nossirevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at C.H. on the 15th of February.
Positive features: great location about 15 min. walking from the very City center (2 min by metro) though it is very quiet. Clean room and shower. Tidy restaurant in the 1st floor with panoramic windows. Very good breakfast, attentive service.
Standard room description at Booking.com matches Ok, however be ready that there no bathrobe/slippers in the room, no minibar, and sauna works only in the evenings until 10:00 local time, so if you arrive late and leave next day at normal time - you miss it. Free cable Internet connection was useless for me as i had only tablet with WiFi that is a paid service.
All in all - a clean hotel with good service, but do not expect too much of a standard room - it is basic.

Room Tip: Check higher room categories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kargo-HASPb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrdgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stsyed for a few nights and proved to be good value. Clean and well kept with helpful staff although, at time of booking additional few nights for my wife, insisted they would not match the trivago price which wad considerably less than booking direct. Breakfast was ok but probably lacked some of the variety we were used to, that said you do get value for the price. Will use again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeMaccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visit this hotel twice a year on business trips. I cannot think of anything to complain.
Good location, easy to get to by Metro, tram and bus, quiet so you get a good sleep.
Breakfast OK and lots of newspapers to read at breakfast. I have only haf breakfast here.. Service polite and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during last summer (2012). Hotel is in a nice neighborhood, a little bit outside of downtown (20 minutes walking distance), with a lovely lake just 100 yards from the entrance. There is a subway station just across the street and the airport bus also stops just in front the hotel.
Room was clean and well decorated but a little bit smaller than we are used to (nothing that a small furniture position change would not solve). The main entrance is a little bit strange, doesn't seems to fit with a 3,5 stars hotel (they even sell hot-dogs in the reception desk), not a problem if you plan to use the hotel to sleep and to take your breakfast.

Speaking of breakfast it was only ok, not the best that we had during our trip but also not the worst. Main problem was that the hotel was completely booked and breakfast room was a little bit too small for such and audience....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e1000lewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#41 of 65 in Helsinki
305 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 65 in Helsinki
1,246 reviews
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
#47 of 65 in Helsinki
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 65 in Helsinki
602 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#43 of 65 in Helsinki
985 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#20 of 65 in Helsinki
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Property: Cumulus Hakaniemi
Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing