We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel also for families”
Review of Cumulus Hakaniemi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumulus Hakaniemi
Ranked #35 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Hotel Cumulus Hakaniemi has a very good location in Hakaniemi, Helsinki. It is only 20 meters from the hotel to Hakaniemi subway (metro) station and by subway (metro) you get to the city centre of Helsinki (central railway station and Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art) in only 2 minutes (1.5 kilometers).

It is less than 100 meters from the hotel to Hakaniemi marketplace and Hakaniemi markethall (food, souvenirs, Finnish products etc. in two storeys). It is only 100 meters also to Rosso Restaurant, which is very good for families.

Rooms are quite new and big, especially family rooms. There are even rooms with 3 extra beds. Room temperature can be manually adjusted to 20-24 degrees Celsius.

There is a pillow menu in this hotel: a medium pillow on the bed, a soft pillow in the closet and a firm pillow in the reception. If you want to get a peaceful room, ask a room with windows to the courtyard.

There is also a gym, a Finnish sauna (separated for women and men, heated in the evening) and kids' playing room in this hotel. All these facilities are free for hotel guests. The garage (for 17 cars) is very expensive.

There is a very typical, standard Finnish breakfast in this hotel. The view from the the breakfast room to Hakaniemi marketplace is very nice.

There are two very nice parks for children near this hotel. Ilola Park near Helsinki City Theatre (350 meters from the hotel) is the better one.

Café Piritta (Eläintarhantie 12, Tokoinranta, 400 meters from the hotel) is a very nice cafeteria. You get also lunches and there is a nice terrace there, too.

It is only 2 kilometers from the hotel to Linnanmäki Amusement Park and Sea Life Helsinki Aquarium.

Room Tip: If you want to get a peaceful room, ask a room with windows towards courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JariJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

The location is good. The room was truly accessible for wheelchair and large. The breakfast was fine but not luxurious. Altogether, the hotel was very nice. The only minus is the lack of a restaurant or proper lobby to meet friends while our stay.

Room Tip: Mention about your needs in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urhonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

well i stayed there for 5 nights between October 11-15th, staff were so friendly and nice, the breakfast was very good! i stayed at room 704 and it was so comfortable, large and the beds were so gooodd! if you will open the window you will hear noise,very loud, once it shuts, it's all quiet! so it's good! basically you deserve free internet cable connection, and our's wasn't working so we got the wifi for free,bottom line, the hotel was very clean and tidy, staff were amazing, i can recommend it with all my heart!!! if you want to be close to the center (7 min's walk) and have a good hotel with no so much money, it's the right place.
p.s if you need something from the reception, don't call, they barely answer, just go down and they will help you with good kind :)

Room Tip: ask for a room in a higher floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelagentTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I agree with all of the positive reviews on this hotel. There is free access to the internet so if you don't want to pay for Wifi, use this. I used their computer many times while I was there with no one around. I would equate this hotel with the Hampton Inn but with a better breakfast buffet and larger rooms. Yes, lots of shops around and I walked to the center of town in 15 mins.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pghs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Please check my other review on this hotel for the pros of this nice place....

What really made me agree in my last visit is that they started July 2011 to charge for Wifi - especially that a daily fee of 2,5 EUR is soooo rediculous in Finland where 2 EUR has a purchasung power of 0,5 EUR in middle-Europe. In other words: why do they charge such stupidly low fee for a service which is free in McDonalds and Starbucks around the world and also many pubs and restaurants offer now free Wifi?

As cable connection is for free my assumption that this is Finnish way to protest on the iphone sucess? "we want to get some money from iphone users"? Actually it also hits the Nokia smartphone users... rolling eyes...

Please Cumulus Hakaniemi Managment, let's forget about theses fees - you can start charging Sauna for 35 EUR (as it's in Spain) or Breakfast für 30 (as it is in Germany) - but leave the Wifi free and skip the 2,5 EUR - do you really needs these 2,5 EUR with rates above 150 EUR?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I find Cumulus hotel good enough to stay at, especially when being on a business trip. One of the huge advantages of the hotel is that it is near the center of Helsinki. You can walk to the central railway station in only 10-15 min. And if you do not feel like going for a walk or the weather conditions do not allow you can take the subway to the center. The entrance of Hakaniemi metro station is literally in front of Cumulus hotel's doors and the ride takes only 2 min! There is also a bus and tram stop in front of the hotel where a lot of lines go.
In front of the hotel there is a small square and there are a lot of restaurants, cafes and famouse fast food chains around. There are also a couple of supermarkets and all kinds of other stores near by. There is a Sokos department store a hundred meters away from the hotel.
What I really enjoy is that there is a small lake or a bay connected to the sea right behind the corner with a small park around it.
The hotel itself is a quiet place. My room was looking to an inner court and some administrative buildings - so there was nothing to see except for some offices. The rooms are quite spacious and equipped with all you need. There is also cable internet and wifi. The room had a fancy interior - a lot of colours that created the impression of cleaness but though I have some remarks.
The other common premises like the sauna and restaurant were OK but in my opinion not big enough.
The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast but not a various one. What I missed was the lox but anyway you will not be left starving.
Cumulus's staff was very helpful and friendly. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1_mergie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The bus connection from the Vantaa Airport is very good. For only 4 € the bus stops in front of the hotel.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, although there was a little problem with the computer at the reception so the check-in took about 20 min. But as a reward I got a coffee for free and a better room than I actually booked.
The few from the room is not very attractive, however it is the cleanest hotel room I've ever been to.
The breakfast is absolutely delicious! From cereals to bread, yogurt, vegetables and a lot more there is something for everyone.

I really can recommend this hotel! Go and stay with Cumulus Hakaniemi :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetraH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#42 of 64 in Helsinki
323 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 64 in Helsinki
1,328 reviews
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#7 of 64 in Helsinki
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
#47 of 64 in Helsinki
158 reviews
Anna Hotel
#31 of 64 in Helsinki
357 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#43 of 64 in Helsinki
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumulus Hakaniemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumulus Hakaniemi

Address: Siltasaarenkatu 14, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range: $102 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cumulus Hakaniemi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cumulus Hakaniemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumulus Hakaniemi Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing