We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reinvented traditional cuisine”
Review of Kaarna

Kaarna
Ranked #155 of 1,523 Restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampinmalmi
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reinvented traditional cuisine”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had dinner here many times, every meal is good, nice. They offer a finnish food, and the atmosphere is lovely.
Quite expensive, but not so much for Helsinki,
The waiters are friendly, even if you have to wait a little to eat.
I recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    98
    46
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Finnish food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had dinner here with friends. The service was good, waitress quite pleasant. The food was great, lovely salted salmon and vendace on rye bread and pickled gherkin on the side. The interior is very nice and we sat by the window overlooking the busy main street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankieinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Liked by Greek Friend”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visited here with a friend from Greece. It was plan to order some Finnish style dishes and we certainly managed to do so. Food was good, location is very convenient and atmosphere good, maybe because it was a bit quiet night.

Only small problem with the service was that the main course was prepared at the same time with the starters by mistake. Waitress asked would we like to have it straight away together with the starters and that was fine for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bceylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This restaurant was booked by our Finnish friend who had eaten there before. It is conveniently located not far the railway station. I found the service to be polite, friendly and perfectly adequate. The organic wine was nice as was the food. We didn’t feel rushed at all and i have to disagree with some of the other comments written about small portions but maybe it depends on what you choose and yes i would eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigger1Mischief2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not sth special”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

it was not something special. the service was friendly, but the proportion of starters was poor. the dirty tablecloth gave a bad impression.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katerina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaarna also viewed

 

Been to Kaarna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing