We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very good characteristic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Grosseto, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“very good characteristic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

It is placed next to the railway station, so it's easy to reach from the airport too. The rooms are not so large but very pretty, especially the bathroom. Nice the ground floor where the reception, the bar (with some spanish feature) and the restaurant (good breakfast) are all together in a unique space. It give it a young-looking aspect. There is silent during the night, even if you have the room in front of the road. Only problem: there is no elevator but the stairways are short. Good service. Ideal for a starting point to visit Helsinki.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    60
    53
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
42
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel as it is very near to the shopping mall, the station and places of interest. We arrived in Helsinki by overnight ferry, so were very pleased to be able to check in early. The reception area is at the back of a cafe which feels a bit odd, however, we had a warm welcome and were found a room immediately. The room was up some quite awkward stairs so were very pleased to have help with our luggage. The room was interesting, it had no windows, a large double bed and plenty of space. The shower room was beautifully fitted out. All very clean and coffee and tea making facilities out on the comfortable landing, Altogether an enjoyable experience. I cannot comment on the breakfast as we left very early to catch a train.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueanchor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I spent two nights at the Hotel Carlton. It is very centrally located in Helsinki right by the train station. I had a single room. The single bed was very low and the mattress wasn't the most comfortable but it was alright. The tv was not working but the hotel sent up someone to fix it. The room was small but for one person. The hotel is directly across the street from a night club so it got to be a bit loud during the night. Also, the room got fairly hot during the summer so I had to keep the windows open which just let in the sound from the club. The staff was very friendly. I would stay here again.

Please be aware that there is no elevator.

It is located on top of a Mexican restaurant and cafe so there is food easily available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Kaisaniemenkatu street. Ask for a room close to the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Overall opinion is very good. Room and bathroom facilities satisfactory free wifi works very well, restaurant and café good quality, staff and service to a very high standard who really make you feel welcome. On the door step to Helsinki centre for all city centre activities and team links. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank davidheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have just spent two nights in this hotel. Friendly reception, great location. Advertising states all rooms are different. Well,mine was just like any hotel room. No extras and no surprises. Their website states 'selection of toiletries in each room'. The usual hair and body shampoo hardly is a selection. There were not even tissues as in most hotels. Bathroom in the double room tiny, shower curtain too short so water all over. It is a good place though. Breakfast fine and surroundings in the morning rather quiet. I would stay again but their advertising promises more of the rooms. Maybe mine was bog standard as I paid mostly with my airline points. I am also used to sleeping in cool rooms but there was no proper air conditioning. The windows did open but as the street is busy, only one of the nights was quiet enough to keep it open. Overall however, I had a good experience. Very handy having the restaurant downstairs and location brilliant. The room was not cleaned on the first morning. Oversight of the norm?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoominReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was in the hotel for 4 nights. The location is great! walking distance from almost every sight in Helsinki.
Few steps from Train\Bus station.
Breakfast was good, Clean room. WIFI didn't work well in the room so they changed my room and it worked well!
Small single room but was enough.

Room Tip: 4 days in Helsinki is too much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orenb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived at about 1 am after a flight delay from Frankfurt. Eric who was on the night shift was very attentive and helpful getting us settled in for what remained of the night. The room was very clean, spacious and with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was good with a nice variety items, and they allowed us to check out late. My only complaint is that the wifi/internet was pretty slow, but that was not a significant enough issue to detract from an otherwise positive experience!

Room Tip: We were given the choice between a room facing the street with a window, or a quieter room in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug4712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S, Marketing Coordinator at BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you, Travelbug4712, for taking your time to review us. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a positive experience!

As we do promise a free high-speed Wi-Fi service to all our guests, we want to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by an exceptional connection slowdown. If you plan to visit Helsinki again, we hope to get the chance to serve you even better.

Friendly regards,

Laura Salokangas
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
Cumulus Kaisaniemi
#41 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Hotel Seurahuone Helsinki
#33 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Arthur Hotel
#40 of 64 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Kampinmalmi
Hotelli Finn
Hotelli Finn
#21 of 64 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
Address: Kaisaniemenkatu 3, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton has an excellent location in the very heart of Helsinki. Superb shopping and sightseeing possibilities, museums, wonderful restaurants, urban nightlife and a casino are all within a short walking distance. On-site you will find our lively coffee shop and our cozy restaurant, Iguana. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton is the perfect choice for you to spend your nights in comfort and security! Our friendly staff is always happy to help you with any request you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing