We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Interesting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Church

Rock Church
Lutherinkatu 3, Helsinki, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
+358-9-49-46-98
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$73*
and up
Private Guided Helsinki City Tour
Ranked #2 of 264 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as "Church in the Rock," this modern church is carved from rock and has a stunning copper dome.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stopped here on a brief tour of Helsinki. Very interest the way they dug out the rock & created a beautiful church. While we were they there was a piano concert. Wonderful view of the inside from the balcony. Unlike one of the reviews we didn't find it noisy or over run with rude tourists ( we were tourists and were very quiet)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmbsold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,137
    1,445
    518
    70
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Review of church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

It was different and unique, and therefore memorable. The acoustic were good, however with so many tourist present the serenity of the ambience was difficult to appreciate. To appreciate go at a later time in the day

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NJA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A great place to visit, a unique building with an awesome copper clad roof. An easy short excursion while in Helsinki.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I attended this church while I was in Helsinki, and thought most of the people were very friendly. Plus the architecture was unique and the acoustics of the building made the music sound fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Church or tourist attraction?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

It was not difficult to find, just follow the crowds or spot the tour buses. This wonderful church was just full of very noisy tourists many of whom I suspect were from cruise ships doing the tourist trail of Helsinki. Sadly many of the visitors, while I was there, seemed to be treating this magnificent church a bit like a theme park attraction rather than a church. A musician was playing but sadly it was almost impossible to hear the music due to the noise, as for a place of peaceful contemplation, don't even try. Even the staff had to use a microphone to ask for silence, not heard that since a visit to the Sistine Chapel many years ago.
Do visit but try to find a quiet time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank highgreave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Church also viewed

 

Been to Rock Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing