We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unusual like no other” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock Church

Rock Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.84*
and up
Private Guided Helsinki City Tour
Ranked #2 of 277 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also known as "Church in the Rock," this modern church is carved from rock and has a stunning copper dome.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very unusual like no other”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This church is uniquely build in a rock outcropping. Lighting, seating, the entire ambience is very relaxing. Meditative music was playing. Other tourists were respectful of the setting. And, the staff were unobtrusive but available for questions. If you want to slow your tourist pace a bit this is one place to do just that.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stillwater_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,706
    1,847
    650
    90
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprising interiors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

At first, I wasn't too impress with the outer structure. Of course, having to walk up the slope after a long day made it worst. However, once I was inside I found it very interesting! The interior architecture impressed me the most and what's inside is totally different from outside. Not to forget, the big shiny organ!. The place is small and tend to be really crowded. I didn't stay too long. Only spent 15 mins here but felt that it is worth going.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2008_The_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a must see! underground church.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

It took me a while to actually find the entrance, but the place is great, very serene and understated (quite Finnish I would say!). I reallly liked it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MatiusMVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worth a quick stop if you have the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was another one of those key Helsinki sights that i had missed on previous visits. I’m not a huge church fan so didn’t stay longer than 10 min, though the architecture is amazing and this place should be visited it you have a spare few mins. Quite close to tennis palace and Kampi

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting Structure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a operating church that has been built into the rock of the hill. Rock taken out has been hewn and placed as walls wher required. The roof of the structure is buit fromstrands of wire

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lino737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Church also viewed

 

Been to Rock Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing