We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Haven”
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed one night in Hotel Haven, and liked it very much. The location is perfect, just footsteps from all the attractions. Hotel itself very new, very stylish. They still don't have sauna and spa, which are going to open in August this year. We didn't experience any traffic noise, and honestly speaking, I wonder, where the trafic noise should come from. Yes, the hotel is on the street, but you're in Helsinki, not in New York. There is not so much traffic in general. The only point of criticism was breakfast. Included was buffet breakfast which was some sausage, cheese, bread, cooked eggs and kaffee. Not a big variaty at all. That was the first time for me in Scandinavia, that I haven't seen any fish at all for breakfast. You could order some fisch, or fried eggs, but for extra charge. Anyway, I think breakfast was not good enough for new and stylish five-star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2009

New design hotel one street from the harbour,a busy street, traffic start about 5 a.m..no double glass or soundproofing. As in other hotels way up north airco heats room instead of cooling.Expensive and unremarkable restaurants, nice people , very friendly.No spa or sauna.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

I have accomondated some of my business quests to Hotel Haven, they just love it.
Best location in town, top lobby area, very nice rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teijo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I have stayed both at Hotel Glo and Hotel Haven. The latter, which opened its doors in Feb of this year, is clearly inspired by Glo: big rooms, comfy beds, a big bathroom/area, flt TV screens, wooden floors, all very "design". Modern luxury as others would put it.

What I liked at Hotel Haven: the nice and clean (brand new) carpet beyond the entrance of the room, beautiful bathrooms (sober and elegant, with very nice lights). The furniture itself is very nice - of italian inspiration I would say.

If you can (pricewise), don't miss Hotel Haven.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank demanding_and_fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed at Haven for one night during Easter weekend in April 2009. We had chosen a "Lux"-room and were really happy with our choice. Our room was spacious with a beautiful view over harbor and market square, a rare treat in Helsinki. Room was also very comfortable with nice amenities.

Haven is located in the same block with three excellent restaurants, fancy G.W. Sundmans, excellent Havis (good seafood) and rustic Sundmans Krog where we had an excellent dinner. Hotel breakfast is served at Havis, unusually for Finland only cold items are included, warm items are charged separately. Haven's lobby bar is very comfortable with good service and a great rum selection.

Haven is an excellent addition to Helsinki's hotel scene, I can truly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Stayed in the hotel for two nights. Liked the spacious accomodation as well as the tiny, still great launge bar where you can enjoy good wine and have a conversation at one of the few cosy corners. The breakfast could have been better though.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Haven on our way back from Lapland.
The hotel is new and everything is special: the loby ,the bar ,the rooms,the bathrooms.
They still have some problems to resolve with their heating-air conditioning system but I think that they will finaly do it.
There are a few problems with the service in the restaurant and at the bar ,when they are fully booked they "lose" their head ,they are still not used to this situation and is easy to see that the personal is not trained enough.
But ,again,they are very nice and theit intentions are good so I hope they will succeed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelleweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,412 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
459 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $210 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing