We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Central location, close to market square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
gosier
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Central location, close to market square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We were not given an upgraded room as the hotel was fully booked. Nevertheless, room was large enough with large bathroom. In room Wi-Fi free, bikes use was free. Breakfast was served in the restaurant Havis. staff helpful and professionnal

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    249
    47
    8
    8
See reviews for
103
348
70
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel Haven is in an excellent city centre location. Rooms are modern and comfortable with well-equipped bathrooms. Friendly staff and a great selection of Scotch whiskies in the bar. A good hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

After arriving very early morning after a long overnight flight, we were greeted by the fabulous friendly staff that we experienced two years ago and were once again informed that our room was ready immediately. We found it hard to leave our 2 night stay at this beautiful hotel which is so homely, comfortable and so cosy. The breakfast was superb, with fresh thinly sliced salmon being my favourite dish as well as the usual very healthy Finnish cuisine. We loved the use of free bike hire and thoroughly enjoyed riding around this beautiful city. The fine dining restaurant was closed unfortunately but that did not worry us as there were so many fabulous restaurants nearby.
The beds are so comfortable and I enjoyed watching the morning news on the TV in the bathroom as I was getting ready for the next day. We had the basic comfort room but there was nothing basic about it...it was magnificent! Thank you again for another lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear penml,

What a pleasure to welcome you back and read your review.
We are indeed so pleased to know that you stayed with us again. It is one of our main concept is to offer a personalized service and make our guests simply feel at home with a touch of luxury and friendliness.
Finnish cuisine as you mentioned is becoming more and more renowned as a healthy culinary experience and salmon is one of Finland’s best delicacies indeed.
Our central location as you mentioned, allows you to visit everything Helsinki has to offer.
We look forward to welcome you again with the smile and friendliness in your Finnish home away from home.

Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest relations manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We are very glad we stayed in this location in our overnight stay in Helsinki. We were perfectly situated to experience the harbor front which included the indoor and outdoor market. We checked out the new Finnair ferris wheel and the cathedral which led us to shopping and eventually some live outdoor music in the boulevard just down the street from the Hotel. The Hotel itself is in a quiet location despite being close to the water. The room was very modern which included fancy bathroom fixtures and two televisions (one in the bathroom and one in the main room). We were confused about how to work the lights at first however the hotel reception happily informed us we needed to use our card to activate the room facilities. Reception also arranged a taxi to the airport which was a very comfortable van with a table in it we could all sit at. If I was in Helsinki again I would certainly go here and would hope other hotels might take note of some of the positive aspects of the hotel design and customer service. It was a great place to make an overnight connection on route from Toronto to Dubrovnik. If I had more time I would have loved to check out some of the boat tours they offer and maybe take the kids to the zoo which is also a boat ride away. We contacted the hotel directly to book our stay based on the good TripAdvisor rating and they were a pleasure to deal with.

Room Tip: If you require additional space for children their "cots" are essentially single beds that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelRMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at Hotel Glo. The room at Glo is better but the breakfast is great here. Great location but rooms on the small side. Also, the hotel does not have a sauna which is really surprising for Finland. I would say Hotel Kamp is the best in Helsinki followed by Glo then Haven. I have also stayed at the Hilton which was very average.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seat29a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As I was travelling alone, I got unfortunately the tiniest room in the hotel, but, it had everything I needed for one night in Helsinki. The design was pretty, it was quiet and most importantly, the bed was very good. I like this hotel not only because of its design and location, but also due to its welcoming bar beside the lobby. It has the old school or old english feeling to it, which is nice after all hip bars around. Breakfast is served in another building, but it is just across the inner court, and is definitively worth trying. Staff always happy to help and I can warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebellsloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were looking for a decent hotel in a central location for good value for money. This hotel fitted perfectly it was a good base location to explore Helsinki for us at a reasonable cost. Staff were polite, friendly and spoke fluent English. Their local knowledge was good and they were able to point us in the direction of some really good places to eat and offer some valuable advice to avoid some of the more expensive places (Helsinki can be very expensive). The room was slightly small and basic (WiFi costs extra) but about right for the price. Overall an excellent stay - We loved Helsinki.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jad L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Tim L,

Thank you for writing your review of Hotel Haven.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our establishment a lovely stay to explore Helsinki.

Indeed, our hotel has a great location and is in the center of the city near all the best attractions.

Me and my colleagues are all multilingual and fluent in many languages and try our best to make your experience enjoyable.

I would like to clarify, our hotel has always provided complimentary free of charge Wireless Internet covering all the hotel so i hope this was not a confusion. Hotel Haven had always high speed free WiFi since our opening.

We hope to welcome you again to Hotel Haven.

Kind regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#8 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing