We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Boutique hotel in a gorgoeus City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect Boutique hotel in a gorgoeus City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great, Boutique hotel. You feel a warmth when you enter. It's homely, cosy and warm. Decor is fab. Small bar, lounge area. Rooms are huge and comfortable. All the luxuries you would expect with a hotel of this class. Breakfast is lovely served in an intimate restaurant. Hotel has a couple of restaurants, looked great although didnt try. Perfect location too. Try the Italian Sasso opp the square for dinner or lunch, also Cafe Strindberg for an authentic Finnish meal and finally a great Asian restaurant called 'Yume'. Will def be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    263
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
107
371
73
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The foyer to the hotel gives an intimate experience and reinforces the idea that you are in a boutique hotel. A very stylish lounge and bar are off the foyer. The hotel is close to all the tourist action. And our room has water glimpses.
The room is stylish and a bit quirky. The bathroom is also stylish.
Good restaurants attached to the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gforgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great location, lovely buffet breakfast and so handy for the Saturday market .. Would definitely return to explore Helsinki further. I liked the design and discreetness of the hotel.
Staff very helpful and slept like a log !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Janet L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us.

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are surely proud of our center location near all the attractions. Many lovely restaurants are located nearby, Helsinki has a lot to offer and the Market place is a traditional start especially during the summer period where you can find the lovely berries and delicacies from Finland. The complimentary breakfast buffet is a touch we love our guests to indulge in making their experience with us more enjoyable.
We look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Haven.

Kind regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Not as good as looks on Trip Advisor!
To watch anything on TV cost a fortune.
Breakfast was in edible.
Not impressed by this hotel at all.
The harbour view rooms don't have a real harbour view.

All in all very very expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaven, Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear lindyManchester,
Thank you for your review of Hotel Haven on Tripadvisor.
I am sad to hear we did not live up to your expectations and I would just like to clarify a few points you mentioned in your review.
At Hotel Haven we offer 35 national and international TV-channels free of charge, including five 24h movie channels from Viasat Cable.
Besides these free channels, Pay TV is available with children's movies starting from 2€ and other programs / movies from 7€.
The breakfast is mostly organic and 90% of all our product come from small local producers who only provide the highest quality products.
Our Lux rooms from the 6th, 7th and 8th floor feature a nice view of the central harbour of Helsinki. In the early morning at the Market Square, one may notice the fishermen bringing in fresh fish to be sold to locals and visitors.
I hope you will visit Hotel Haven again and give us a chance to prove our excellence we always strive to.

Janne Ant-Wuorinen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent location next to the harbour. I was a late booker so had limited choice of rooms (had to overlook the street). But, the room was a great size and was very comfortable with a very large bathroom. Had some drinks in the bar which had a nice ambience and was not as expensive as I would have expected. Only downside was the rather limited buffet breakfast and the lack of space. I wonder how they would cope if all guests wanted to eat within the same hour!
Overall a very good little hotel that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatFanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved this Hotel. Larger rooms along Harbour front are worth the extra. Quiet rooms lovely beds and stylish decor.

Service at breakfast was slow and a little confused, breakfast area cramped too.

Front desk staff seem to know their guests and could not be more helpful. Gym small but complete.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
249 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed a total of three nights at the Haven. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Loved the location close to the water and the Esplanade. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. The breakfast buffet looked ok but we did not have it included. Warning: there is nowhere else to go for breakfast on a Sunday morning, which I found out. However, we found the service in the restaurant to be slow and we did not care for the choices at dinner. But that not withstanding, we would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear activenretired,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Haven.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the rooms were up to the expectations. We would like to apologize about the misunderstanding regarding the breakfast. All room rates include complimentary breakfast. We apologize if there was a communication error and you were not aware of that. Our buffet breakfast is served daily to all our guests at restaurant Havis, one of our three restaurants. Sunday mornings are rather quiet in Helsinki but there are some excellent locations to head for a coffee if you would like, for example down the street from us at the Market square area.
We hope to see you again in the future in Helsinki and at Hotel Haven.
Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#7 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing