We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small luxury hotel in Helsinki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Small luxury hotel in Helsinki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in August. The hotel is ideally located near Helsinki's East Harbor and the Esplanade. Our room was spacious, elegant, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast, served in one of their restaurants, was of high quality. Front desk staff members were accommodating and helpful. The hotel maintains high standards and we recommend it with enthusiasm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear atwc,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel.
At Hotel Haven, we aim to make you feel at home, that’s why we call our hotel “Your Home, Your Place.” Reading your review makes us glad that you have enjoyed your visit and stay with us. As you mentioned, our location is a great value as we are located near to many of the touristic attractions and in the center of Helsinki.
We hope to welcome you again to Helsinki and Hotel Haven.
Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    269
    51
    8
    9
See reviews for
112
388
73
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Haven is the best hotel in central Helsinki.
The service is two level higher than in Hotel Kamp.
Hotel Haven is real five stars! Nothing to add more.
Only one wish: I believe that such level of hospitality will be forever.

Room Tip: Try to book this hotel as soon as you know the dates of your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreyKuznetsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AndreyKuznetsov,
Thank you for writing your review. We are glad to know you have enjoyed the quality of our services and we hope we remain up to the expectations.
We also agree totally on your tip left to future visitors to book ahead. As we are a small boutique hotel of 77 rooms we tend to be busy often and booking ahead is a good idea. Also, if booking ahead you are able to get our seasonal offers or our advance purchase offers.
We look forward to warmly welcome you to again to Hotel Haven and Helsinki.
Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room is sunny and a nice size, the bathroom was large enough for two people. As I am a bath tub person it was very nice to have a deep tub. The lightening in the room was very good. The location is very central and a very close to the harbour, where there is a farmers market of all kinds of vegetables, fruits, fish and hand made items. It was so much fun to wander around. There is a beautiful cafe not even a block from the hotel from where you can sip a coffee or champagne. Bands play on a stage all summer long.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the harbour is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Maria R,
Thank you for writing your lovely review of your stay at Hotel Haven.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the room size and the bath tub, most of our rooms are equipped with deep bath tubs that are an excellent way of comfort after a long day . Our location is very central and close to the lovely market filled with many traditional Finnish fruits and berries specially during the summer season. If I think correctly you are referring to the glass housed café down the street from us called Café Kappeli , a traditional and well known spot and indeed facing it lots of bands and live music is offered to the public by the city. It’s a great place to spend a summer day.
We surely agree with your room tip but also we do have spacious beautiful rooms on the other side of the hotel.
We hope to see you again at Hotel Haven and in Helsinki.
Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I wish all hotels were like this... Stylish, quirky, comfortable, thoughtful, well located. From the gorgeous decor (wonderful dog themed cushions in the lobby) to the sumptuous furnishings and the great breakfast room this was just a lovely place to stay. It was also very quiet. Breakfast was a small but delicious selection. The space was a great covered atrium with lovely indoor plants, and colourful cushions to brighten. My room was large with beautiful touches and style. The bathroom also luxurious with luscious elemis toiletries, always much appreciated. I was only there from about 6pm to 10am but would love to go back. The staff on the front desk were very helpful booking a restaurant for us and giving good directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pros:
-Great Location = 1 block from market square and park.
-Exceptional Customer Service = from the moment we booked via email the hotel blew my mind with their professionalism. We used the tripadvisor free upgrade and they even accommodated with our request for a view of the harbor. Also, they immediately came to show us how the TV worked when we couldn’t figure it out. This boutique hotel definitely knows how to cater to Americans and to business people. We would 100% stay here again!
-Hotel bar = very cool with the largest collection of whiskeys in the city.
-Free Breakfast at Havis = AMAZING! Don’t miss the breakfast, it was outstanding. Lots of selection and champagne!
-Room =VERY clean and beautifully decorated. I loved the lighting. Also, they give real glassware to use. Always a plus!
-Bikes = They have two bikes to use for free. We biked all the way down the harbor and to the senate square. The bikes also have a small basket in front.
-Bathroom = the bathroom TV was a fun perk to watch while brushing my teeth.

Cons:
-Shower: beautiful to look at but when the shower was put to use the water would collect on the side and then collect on the floor. We had to use towels to soak up the water. This could be part of the European design since there is a drain on the floor however we would clean it up so that our socks wouldn’t get wet when going to use the bathroom later on. I did appreciate the cute pink ducky they had as a decoration! Too cute!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmr05006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Believe everything you've read! Hotel Haven might actually be one of the best hotels, ever. I've traveled A LOT and my room felt palatial when I walked in. The staff is super nice and if you go, get a massage! The masseuse is HOT!! I mean the guy looks like a gladiator. The prices are reasonable and Wi-fi is free and everywhere. The hotel is chic and stylish and best of all...central to everything. You'll be surprised how nice this place is even after reading this review!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bk_indigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear bk_indigo,

Thank you for writing your review regarding your stay with us.
It is lovely to read your review and we are very glad to know that you had a positive experience with us. Our Spa services are available upon pre-reservation. The free wi-fi is indeed available all over the hotel and in our 3 restaurants located in the same building.
We look forward to welcome you to Hotel Haven again.

Best regards,

Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. We booked a lux room and was very satisfied.only rooms on the top floors get a view of the harbor.staff are extremely helpful. Room was modern and clean with top notch toiletries. Pm turn down service replaced all towels and toiletries used. Room bath is poorly designed as shower water flows onto the floor making exiting the tub, shower combo unsafe especially for older guests.room safe is so low down in the closet that you must get on your knees to see the safe numbers , a very poor location. Hotel does not have a sauna or steam room which in this climate I find strange as well as lacking. Breakfast was great and past review criticism has been noted and corrected. Compliments to management. We would highly recommend staying here. Suggest take the short ferry ride to Tallinn Estonia for a day excursion.based on the good and not so good comments we would give the hotel a four star rating. To us 5 stars is where no negative comments can be noted.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank romanchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing