We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's got to remember what it is!”
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

An absolutely wonderful hotel if only it could remember what group it belongs to..."lLittle Luxury Hotels." It tries to bring in semi-large groups which then fills the hotel and makes it uncomfortable for other patrons when they all decided to come to breakfast, leave or return to the hotel together.

That is the only reason I take one star away from what is otherwise a wonderful hotel, fabulous rooms quite spacious, well designed, excellent security - which takes a bit if getting used to. A very private garage round the back with again excellent security although just a little bit tight, anything past a BMW 5 or a Volvo XC60 might not be a good idea.

The staff are a gem, and well deserve 5 stars themselves, they were always genuinely sincere in the their looking after us, their local knowledge was excellent and what they didn't know they knew where to look immediately. Nothing was forgotten or lost in the shuffle while other things were going on, they brought things to you personally and very promptly indeed. Quite an interesting collection of staff, several from Spain but there were never ever any misunderstandings and they could hold a conversation which again showed their sincerity in not just thinking it was a job, they wanted to have conversation with the patrons to make sure we did indeed enjoy our stay. In all we stayed 5 days and I cannot really say there was any let down anywhere even with different staff and especially when I was ill and had to call in the doctor, and that is a long enough period to see any flaws. BUT I wish they would reduce those groups staying.

The buffet is fabulous, a wide selection of foods to choose from, it is a bit cramped if you hit it at the wrong time, but that can happen in any hotel small or large! But once you can sit down, especially outside where those lovely wicker seats and soft cushions and the quick and attentive staff are it all makes up for it! Don't forget to order the cappuccino and not the standard coffee, which is OK!, in those deep deep mugs!

There are two restaurants in the building one which is hardly ever used at the very back, I think only one night I ever saw some customers in there but the fish restaurant The Havis, we ate in twice and it certainly was not too bad but it is NOT up there by any means with the other very famous ones in Helsinki. Keep it for that mid evening arrival when you don't want to go out or just feel like it has been a loooooong day!

Room wise if you want the view then you definitely need to be on the higher floors otherwise even if it is a double luxury or similar on a lower floor you see nothing!

Price wise it is certainly up there but you won't have to explain yourself for what you paid but don't expect it to be cheap. When ordering a room you can go through the Little Luxury Hotel Group but the people on the ore end obviously cannot quickly deal with any particular requests and that extra 24 hours waiting could mean you lose the room in the peak season. We found that by calling the hotel directly we in fact got a better deal, the only advantage with the hotel group is you add points to possibly another hotel stay elsewhere.

Location wise it is perfect, it is not like you fall into the crowds immediately you walk out the hotel which is especially so with THE hotel in Helsinki, Hotel K. It is only minutes walk from some of the best restaurants, the cathedral on the hill, the harbour and ferry and and a pleasant stroll 10 or 15 min walk across to the station with the shops in between.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Hachiouji-brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

A modern small luxury hotel in the centre of helsinki.We were there for three nights.We had a large room with food table,an excellent bathroom,very good furnitures,very kind reception.One problem was the cheapest breakfast buffet and when we ask about fried eggs they wanted to pay them.The room was not so tidy and they did not clean as well for a five star hotel.Everything else was excellent

Room Tip: All the rooms are the best.I think that this is not a problem!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were only guests one night. Hotel was sold out and despite reserving months ago, we did not get a harbor view, which would have been nice. Room was large and nicely appointed. No outlets and poor lighting in bathroom. Agree with other reviewers that breakfast buffet is poorly designed (cereals, condiments, and yogurts are in dark corner that can only be accessed by one person at a time. Omelets, cooked eggs, or anything from the kitchen incurs a surcharge.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Haven very much, but a few things keep this property was reaching 5 stars. During our trip to Finland, Stockholm and Denmark, hence three separate hotels, we were able to experience some distinctions amongst them. For Hotel Haven, the staff is excellent. Very friendly and accommodating.

One minor annoyance was that I had contacted the hotel one week prior to arriving and reserved a Luxury room upgrade. We notified the hotel that we would like a top floor sea view room, which was available at the time of my telephone conversation with them, and I was assured it would be available for me despite a late arrival. Unfortunately it was not, so somewhat disappointing to have a Lux room with a view that basically looked at the top of the restaurant. The staff did move us the following day, and in fairness, they did refund the upgrade extra fee for that first nights stay, so that was appreciated.

The room was quite nice but the carpet was tired and had some stains. Also, in my opinion, a 5 star hotel should offer a real King bed, not two twins pushed together with that uncomfortable seam running right down the middle. I know that is common throughout Europe, but the two other hotels I stayed at (and many others in Europe as I travel a LOT) on this trip had very comfortable true king beds, so it certainly is doable.

I thought the breakfast was very good, and despite reading some other reviews about the selection, I felt it was more than adequate and tasty. The other two hotels we stayed in at the other countries had far superior breakfast, though, and for whatever reason, it makes the overall impression of the stay that much better. I do believe, however, that extra charges should not be added for a few fried eggs or an omelet. Again, comparing to other the places we stayed at during our trip, all was included in the room rate. Since the issue comes up in several other reviews, perhaps the hotels should rethink it's policy on this. Not a huge deal, but we always appreciate (and give 5 stars) to hotels that go over and above expectations.

Location was fabulous - really can't see how it could be better. The lobby was very nice, and the restaurant setting was very nice as well. We had dinner in the fish restaurant one night which was very good as well. And again, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family - just fell a tad bit short of a 5 star rating from us.

Room Tip: Lux rooms with ocean view are nice if you can get on a high floor (7 or 8).
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel Haven has a very central location for a tourist – you may walk to almost all of the attractions in Helsinki and you have the harbor with the marketplace just in front of the hotel. We had a room with a view of the harbor which is nice as there is a lot of traffic of boats coming and going. The room had a closet with hangers and shelves to store your clothes and there was absolutely no noise from the street – the windows must be soundproof – the only back draw was that the windows couldn’t open – but air-condition was silent and effective.
The bathroom is large and stylish – but the tub combined as a shower was like a compromise between both. This meant that it took a little effort to take a shower standing in a narrow tub with high sides.
Breakfast was in the ground floor – food was very plentiful with fresh local fruits and whatnot – little birds flying around you, that was nice but they picked in your plate while you left for more food – interesting but maybe not very hygienic.
All in all a very good hotel worth the price – we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a long weekend here (26-29 July 2013) and enjoyed some spectacular weather. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable (we'd opted for the cheapest). The reception staff were charming and very helpful. The bar was good, with a great barman, although it wasn't cheap (nowhere is cheap to drink in Helsinki).
Only criticism was the buffet breakfast, two out of the three mornings we seemed to hit it at peak time, around 9-9.30, when it was a bit chaotic and a number of dishes had run out. It took quite a while to get a table.
I would certainly go back to this hotel, despite an average breakfast experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia_hine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited for weekend get-a-way to Haven Helsinki. Location is good, you can walk every main sites at Helsinki. Esplanad-park is just behind the corner. Rooms very pretty large (we visited Lux-room), clean and tradional styled. Bed was H(e)avenly comfort.
Stuff was very friendly, bar and restaurants are at high level. But if there is something negative it will be discovered from breakfast table. Breakfast is served in too little position and there is too many customers vs. stuff. Breakfast itself was good, but if they want to serve coffee to tables - they can't come ask after 30min waiting...
Five star hotel, breakfast 4-.

Room Tip: Ask seaview (Lux-rooms), because they are also quieter...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,410 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,175 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
459 reviews
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $210 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing