We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel, great service, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and occupied two connecting rooms (in fact, one of the rooms was a junior suite, the other one a standard room). Rooms have a pleasant design, so does the entire hotel. The hotel is a member of the SLH (small luxury hotels), so it is a boutique hotel. Staff is extremely helpful, smiling, attentive. Breakfast was good, not many choices but good food quality, especially for coffee, salmon and breads. Breakfast is served in the Havis restaurant, which is actually rated as the best fish restaurant in Helsinki and the food was exquisite (we had lunch here). Another of the hotel s restaurants is called Sundmans Krog, it serves Finnish dishes, also had lunch here and the food was superb. GW Sundmans is the third of the restaurants of this hotel but it was unfortunately closed for the entire month of July. The hotel is very centrally situated (near the harbour, the market and the Lutheran Cathedral), but yet it is on a quiet street. We left very early, around 4.30 a.m., as we had an early flight and the hotel offered to serve us breakfast before check-out. Althought we denied their offer, I found it very considerate of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obsessedbytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear obsessedbytravelling,

We are so glad to read this beautiful review about our establishment. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and to know we have succeeded to offer a great hotel with an exquisite service and a good location.

Our restaurant Havis breakfast is actually focusing on quality more than quantity, the ingredients used are imported from small farms and are organic, fresh and high quality. As you mentioned, Havis is a well known fish restaurant with fresh fish daily.

Unfortunately, our colleagues at G.W.Sundmans decided to head on holiday and the restaurant will close for the month of July but that surely did not leave you without options as our location is very close to many well known nearby restaurants in the city like restaurant Salutorget or restaurant Fishmarket.

We understand that our guests leaving early heading toward long journeys require from us going an extra step, as our breakfast opens from 7 we take the occasion to offer a small free of charge this early breakfast upon request to our guests, it usually include freshly baked croissant, juice, coffee and fresh fruits. We surely know that a cup of fresh coffee or tea is a must for the morning!

We look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Haven and thank you for taking the time to write.

Best regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    258
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
105
364
73
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife, two teenage daughters (ages 17 and 14) and I stayed for two nights at the Hotel Haven. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay and a very good value; I'd return without hesitation should my family and I find ourselves again visiting Helsinki. I'd be just as quick to book the hotel if a business trip took me to the same.

We booked online through the hotel's website no problem in two "Style" rooms. The website images are pretty accurate depictions of the rooms and the entire hotel for that matter. That is, they're clean and comfortable with modern Scandinavian decor. My only complaint is that our rooms were a little difficult to move around in - not something I expected for an upgraded room.

The location of the hotel is outstanding. My family and I like to walk everywhere we possibly can and Hotel Haven is ideally situated for urban hikers like us; even in a very walkable city like Helsinki. Haven is just steps from the harbor / open market, the Esplanade, the train station, the shopping areas, the main museums and several of Helsinki's top rated restaurants. The hotel for a fee rents iPads with Walk-Helsinki apps pre-installed. They looked great but we didn't partake...being the map-walkers we are.

The staff at Hotel Haven is both professional and sincerely friendly. Every interaction from check-in to discussing with we tourists what to do on Midsummer Festival (when EVERYTHING closes in town) was nice. All the staff seem to double as both clerks and concierges - so someone was always available to help when needed.

Our family ate breakfast at the hotel (included in room rate) and the buffet was fresh, if not slightly limited in scope. We aren't a family that requires a "grand" buffet to start the day so Haven's selection of breads, meats, fish, fruits and other breakfast staples was more than adequate.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant as well (Havis) on Midsummer Festival since most of Helsinki was closed for the holiday. Like breakfast, the menu was limited both in terms of food and the wine as well. The quality was good but there are many better choices in Helsinki for quality dining than Havis.

There is a very comfortable bar off of the lobby in the hotel. It closes at 10 or 11 but when my wife and I wanted to sit with a glass of wine after the bar had closed, one of the desk attendants without hesitation open the bar and served us our wine...something of a VERY nice and personal touch. Knowing that would never happen in our home country USA made us appreciate the gesture even more.

Finally, the hotel maintains an enormous bowl of Fazer candy at the main desk; which might contribute to such positive memories of talking with the staff as well as giving us reason to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuonaNotteRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel Haven is one of the nicest places we've stayed in Europe, with staff that deserve five stars. Our all-too-short stay was delightful from start to finish. The reception staff welcomed us, managing to arrange a room for us several hours before check-in time. We also had a very early departure, and the reception staff had an extensive breakfast tray prepared for us at 5 am. We followed their restaurant recommendations for some of the best meals we had in Helsinki. We'll be sure to stay here on our next visit to Helsinki.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
430 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Like a previous reviewer , I've stayed in many of the Hotels in central Helsinki , but think this may just be my new favourite.


This was indeed my first stay ,although only for one night. However I've eaten here before [ in the wonderful Sundmans ] and also had a drink in the Hotel Bar on previous visits.

That night though was most excellent. Firstly check-in was friendly and efficient. Secondly my room was modern and well-fitted out - I did sleep well. Never had the chance to try the gym.

Helsinki I do enjoy - a really wonderful city - and the Haven has a prime spot just behind the South Harbour. If you want to actually see where it is look up the Port of Finland Webcam on Google and you'll see the South Harbour.

So I'll be coming back here on return - hopefully for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear dvdstv,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Hotel Haven.

We are so pleased to hear that your experience was fabulous and that you consider us as your new favorite destination in Helsinki.

Our restaurant G.W.Sundmans as you mentioned is well renowned as has been nominated recently as a rising star by the Michelin guide.

We hope to welcome you again hopefully for a longer stay at your home in Helsinki and we also recommend to our future guests to check the Google Maps 3D to find our location as it offers an amazing experience covering all of Helsinki and with excellent details of our central location.

Kind regards,
Jad Lian
Guest Relations Manager
Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights At the end of June.
Very nice hotel, fairly new [just 4 years] And modern Scandinavian design.
The hotel describes itself as a 5 star, but it is not an official measurement, since it does not exist in Helsinki, In my opinion, equivalent to 4 stars only.
The hotel, very clean, very neat. And services are definitely good.
Breakfast in the hotel adjacent restaurant , most modest. (For ordering an omelet they require an additional charge).
Most central location and very convenient

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in early June. The front desk staff was very friendly, helpful, and spoke English.

We stayed in a “Style” room which had a very nice view of the harbor. In exchange for the view, our “Style” room was a little small and did not have a couch. Overall, the room was very nice (although the carpet had a lot of stains and could use a good cleaning).

The bathroom was very spacious, clean, and well-equipped. It even had a small flat screen TV monitor. Nice amenities were provided. The shower had good water pressure and never ran out of hot water. The towels were nice and large and of good quality.

Our room was very quiet with the exception of occasional people talking in the hallway. The bed and pillows were very comfortable (slept good). Free WIFI was available in the room and worked very well. Complimentary slippers were provided. Also complimentary bottled water was provided.

The breakfast buffet had a limited selection, but was very good. It included both hot and cold items (scrambled eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, yogurt with delicious fresh berries, cereal, fruit, and more).

The hotel is in an ideal location near some of the main tourist sites like the Esplanade and the Market Square. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Style Room 709 has a nice view of the harbor but sacrifices space for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is a very clean hotel with comfortable beds. The location is fantastic - right near the market square and at the port. The only downside would be there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room but otherwise a very convenient and lovely hotel. I would recommend staying again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sues12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing