We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Nice Harbor View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Location and Nice Harbor View”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in early June. The front desk staff was very friendly, helpful, and spoke English.

We stayed in a “Style” room which had a very nice view of the harbor. In exchange for the view, our “Style” room was a little small and did not have a couch. Overall, the room was very nice (although the carpet had a lot of stains and could use a good cleaning).

The bathroom was very spacious, clean, and well-equipped. It even had a small flat screen TV monitor. Nice amenities were provided. The shower had good water pressure and never ran out of hot water. The towels were nice and large and of good quality.

Our room was very quiet with the exception of occasional people talking in the hallway. The bed and pillows were very comfortable (slept good). Free WIFI was available in the room and worked very well. Complimentary slippers were provided. Also complimentary bottled water was provided.

The breakfast buffet had a limited selection, but was very good. It included both hot and cold items (scrambled eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, yogurt with delicious fresh berries, cereal, fruit, and more).

The hotel is in an ideal location near some of the main tourist sites like the Esplanade and the Market Square. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Style Room 709 has a nice view of the harbor but sacrifices space for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    275
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
113
399
75
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is a very clean hotel with comfortable beds. The location is fantastic - right near the market square and at the port. The only downside would be there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room but otherwise a very convenient and lovely hotel. I would recommend staying again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sues12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed at Haven few times, and in my opinion it's the best hotel Helsinki has to offer.
And I have stayed almost every hotel in the city centre.
It's a small, luxurious place. The service,
rooms, breakfast, restaurants and the bar
are all top notch !
The location is very peaceful, yet it's in the middle of the city.
This is not the cheapest choice in Helsinki. But it's the best !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMKOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn Loring
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Eric (sp), but tall, blond, guy, on the front desk was over the top helpful. The hotel was perfect. Room modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Would visit Helsinki again and for sure stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Haven in May 2013 for two nights. This is a lovely hotel with personable service and great rooms - love the sea view! Location is perfect, directly by the sea and few minutes walk from Esplanade and the market place on the sea front. Very nice breakfast too, sadly this time we did not have a chance to have lunch or dinner at Havis, but based on previous experience the food is great! The staff really makes this hotel stand out with such lovely service!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor and above facing the sea have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not that much to add to many great reviews here. Very nice, cosy hotel with a very beautiful scandinavian design rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Location? Hmm... Helsinki city center is so small that any location will do.
Why, then, four points instead of five, will you ask. One away for poor wi-fi. The internet connection breaks often, and you had to insert login and the password for the wi-fi again, again... and again... and again... I had to do it some ten times in one night. Why don't you guys make wi-fi public and non-protected? There's as much internet as fish in the capitol of Finland so you wouldn't loose any profits.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the bay - ask for one at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanchez73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasifi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sanchez73,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Haven. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Regarding your reference to our location, indeed Helsinki is a small city and enjoyable to visit, but we do take great pride that we are located in the heart of the city next to the beautiful harbor as also many tourist attractions.

Unfortunately, we did not receive information regarding your WI-FI connectivity issues during your stay, but i can guarantee that our network is a very stable and offers a very good high speed connection free of charge, we also have two networks available one which is easier to connect to depending on the device you are using and uses only a simple WPA encryption. We will be glad to provide you with more details on your next visit.

We hope to welcome you soon again at Hotel Haven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Haven for 2 nights and was really impressed! Our room had a wall of windows and was very spacious with hip decor and a super-cool bathroom. Welcome sparkling wine was waiting for us in the sitting area...pretty awesome! We had dinner in the bar the first night, which was yummy, cozy, and easy. Breakfast was included in our package and was great, with a wide variety of yummy things to choose from in the buffet. The location is perfect--near the Esplanade Park and it was very easy to walk to many places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,257 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
278 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
370 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing