We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is not really 5 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
athens
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“it is not really 5 star hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at Haven hotel. I returned back very unhappy. It was a bad experience for me.. A big disappointment.
1**when i arrived by taxi, nobody helped me with baggages. After chec in, they gave me the room card and i went alone to the room. They did not show me how works the shower , t.v. etc.
2 ** the bathroom was full of water, whenever you use the shower in the tube. I asked .the duty manager to come and see that, and she told me that allways happens ! IT IS A BIG PROBLEM! And sure, not for 5 star hotel ! I had a lux room, more expensive than the others, it had nice harbor view, it was at 6 floor, but the tables were damaged and the office chair and an other seat, blue, were very dirty and you could not seat ! The duty manager asked me if i want to change the dirty chair !
The manager was on easter holiday, so i never met him.
3 ** THE BIGEST PROBLEM was with black out curtins. They are shorter, they are not as long as have to be, so every morning i waked up at 5.30 ! ! !It is crazy ! I cannot sleep if it is not dark in bedroom , like the most people in the world ! A 5 STAR hotel, must has the right curtins for right black out !! ! !
The breakfast it was opened at 7.30, so i was waiting 2 hours. It was nice, you had many choices and the people there were kind. But you have to pay EXTRA if you want omelette!
The housekeeper came at 10.00 at the morning, she was very kind and she tried to fix it up, with black out,but the room again had iside light .So, i could not sleep.A man from reseption, told me to give me another room, BYT NOT LUX, with NO VIEW, and SMALLER !!! Of course, i said no ! The right thing is to offer me an upgrate and they told me the oposite !After this, they told me to help me to change hotel. But i wanted 5 star hotel and harbor view. There is only 1 more 5 star in helsinki and no harbor view, so i did not change.
I had sent 4 mails before go to haven hotel and they told me that blackout and everything willbe fine, but it was not !
4 *** tv in bathroom it was broken !When i told them, they told me that they fix it up, and the next day, i asked again and they told me that was broken !
5 ***After 2 days, i asked again to change room and at the evening, they show me one, lux room, at 8 floor, bigger than mine at 6 floor, but the view wasnot so nice.
6 *** the hotel is in a nice point and you can go for shopping , eating etc, very easy. It has also a nice bar, inside and i had a glass of wine but it is very very expensive !
7 **Some ladies at reception, are not kind and i felt very bad and very sad.One told me that has not curtins at her house and she put me black bags at the windows but i was awfull !
8 ***One housekeeping, with DIRTY HANDS gave me the clean towels !
9 ***No clock in the room , nowhere !
10 ***During chec out, i told them that i was very sorry, i had spend a lot of money and 5 days and i was without sleep because of their short black out curtins and they didnot care !
All in all, i had a bad experience in hotel haven . It is not a really 5 star hotel ! I went to relaxe, but i returned very very tired and of course , very sad with this behavor ! Big disapointment !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avgerini g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    286
    53
    10
    10
See reviews for
115
415
77
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A lovely welcoming hotel in a great location for seeing the city. Staff were friendly and room gorgeous (with Elemis products in bathroom - mmm!). A cosy lounge / bar area with a lovely fire and a world class selection of whiskies!
Breakfast was fresh and tasty - coffee served in Finnish mugs I wanted to take home!
A stone's throw from the harbour and tram stops - as well as the city's best shopping.
For either business, with friends or for a romantic break - I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela_paterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel Haven's ready thought structure works. They literally think on behalf of you and reminds of deadlines closing with a friendly call. All changes was easy to made and connections with two restaurants with meeting facilities worked well. Easily connected from the Helsinki harbour - ships from Tallinn and Stockholm just outside. Also parking not too complicated and yet in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Practicenjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We took the overnight ferry (M/S Silja Serenade (Tallink Silja)) from "Värtahamnen" terminal Stockholm to Helsinki. Arrived in the morning at "Olympia Terminal" in Helsinki; with two small hand luggage,walked towards the city centre (@ the terminal main entrance turned right and spotted the view of the city) by following the crowd; walked passed the car park by the harbor (on our right) ; crossed the main road at the end of the car park (saw a yellow/ orange bricks building) at the marked pedestrian crossing; turned into a side street (paved with cobblestones like) and walked uphill; took the immediate right and we saw the sign of the main entrance of the hotel.

Total journey took us 15-20 minutes and was lovely on a sunny day. The hotel was located at a side street but it was close the naked statue surrounded by seals by the habor & market place which could be easily located on the map. You could email the hotel for direction, we did. There were trams, and taxis outside the terminal so with heavy luggage you could use the taxis service.

On arrival we were greeted by Erkki who was professional and helpful and checked us in and helped us to plan our sightseeing trip in the city. We were impressed when he told us that we could buy the "Helsinki Card" from the hotel and also booked & reserved seats for us for our guided bus tour + gave us the city maps & directions. The other female receptionists were also helpful, friendly and speak good English.

The tour bus (was yellow/ orange) departed from the Esplanade park (behind the glass restaurant (approx. 5 minute walk from hotel). The tour lasted approx. 2 hour which we really enjoyed. Would recommend it! If you need more info. just ask at check-in, they are only too happy to help.

We had a twin room and bathroom- was spacious, with tasteful decors and comfortable with lovely furnishing and did enjoy a great night sleep. Love to have been able to open the windows but the air condition was great so it was fine. There were coffee and tea making facilities as well as good wifi.

Breakfast was served in a cosy cafe within the hotel ground which was relaxing with great and friendly service. There were great selections of hot and cold items plus champagne! Loved the traditional Finnish pie Karjalan piirakka" ("Karelian pie") & one of the lovely female staff wrote the name down for me.

The hotel was within walking distance to various tourist attractions: Senate Square, (white building), Uspenski Cathedral, bridge of love, market square.. ; shops and cafes, BigMac..; department stores: "Stockmann" (like Selfridges, John Lewis), “Helsingfors” (central train station where we would catch our train, 35 Allergro to St Petersburg). Close to the hotel, was a little store (like 7 eleven) with yellow signage, at the corner facing the naked statue where we bought bottle water and chocolates.

We visited the Viking Line terminal, “Katajanokka” (for our day trip from Helsinki to Tallinn for the following day) by Tram NO. 4 (got on at the corner stop down Unioninkatu Street with Senate Sq. on our right). We did ask the driver for our stop.
Hotel was helpful, sent us a link for Tram timetable http://www.hsl.fi/ via email few weeks before our trip.
With only a day bag and nice sunny weather, on our return journey, we walked back to the hotel (about 15 - 20 minute walk by the West harbor) which was lovely. We spotted loads of people walking along the harbor on the night we got back from Tallinn to Helsinki and we did the same.

Will definitely recommend this hotel!
Many thanks to the travelers who helped us to pick this hotel.

Room Tip: A quiet room & high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipsytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After traveling a couple of days per year to Helsinki I have finally found my home away from home. Hotel Haven is located a few steps from Esplanaden central Helsinki, with a lot of good restaurants and nice sights within walking distance. If you only have a couple of days in Helsinki and you would like to make good use of these then Hotel Haven is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel Haven is nicely located, near the centre but at the same time a bit away from the noisiest parts of the city. Rooms are beautiful and stylish as the rest of the hotel. There is an attractive bar in the lobby where you can relax by the fireplace and have a nice glass of wine.

However, what made the experience for us was the uttermost perfect service. Our requests were handled with a very friendly and service-minded attitude by the front desk personnel.

We found the absolutely best hotel in Helsinki and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aukusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is very well situated in Helsinki. The whole city centre is within walkingdistance. Rooms are cosy and with touch of luxury (beds are exellent!) and bathroom is spa-style. Finally there was a bathtub long enough for me! All and all great rooms.
Staff is exellent and all our needs were taken care of wery well. Lobbybar is also very comfortable and with exellent service ( top selcetion of whiskeys!)
Breakfast is also top of the line. A tip for breakfast: don´t stay in the first room, go up the stairs and right you´ll find more rooms with a wiew to sea and marketplace.
We highly recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaJuVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
1,310 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#3 of 64 in Helsinki
411 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
342 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#15 of 64 in Helsinki
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing