We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Missing (hand held) bidet (shower)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Missing (hand held) bidet (shower)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Fine hotel, but for maintaining a good hygiene level a bidet or a hand-held bidet shower would be needed. The bath tub is too awkward for that. I asked the desk staff, and found out that all the rooms miss a bidet shower.

And another thing. The restaurant is closed on Sundays, as are very many restaurants in Finland, because the pay is double on Sundays. But there ARE good hotels that keep their restaurants open also on Sundays...

When the weather is cold, I wonder whether you shoul put on your coat when going across the yard to the restaurant to have your breakfast...

All in all, a very recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madamesolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    258
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
105
364
73
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Haven for 3 nights and found a pleasant atmosphere as soon as we entered. Staff at the Reception desk was helpful and attentive. Our room was very comfortable, well furnished and noise free.The hotel has a very pleasant bar but they are extremely slow in serving if you ask for something to eat from the kitchen. The hotel location is very good, walking distance from the Esplanade, Design District and restaurants. Helsinki was surprisingly vivid and not isolated as we imagined. We were particularly interested in visiting Alvar Aalto´s buildings and spent a great time doing so. But we had and inconvenience that couldn´t be solved at the hotel: we were given our password to use the wi-fi and it worked for just a few hours. We complained at the Front Desk and asked for the location of the Business Center in order to use the hotel´s computers. Surprisingly, one of the girls pointed a laptop sitting in a small table right next to the counter and said that that was all they could offer. Unbelievable ! In order for us to read our emails we had to carry our iPad with us all day and search for a public wi-fi signal called Angry Birds. The problem was never solved but, overall, I recommend staying at the Haven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndealmenara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have just returned from a business trip to Finland. While in Helsinki I stayed 4 days at the Hotel Haven. Although, I was generally satisfied with the room, the front desk personnel and the location of the hotel, I was very disappointed with the manner that management dealt with an incident while I was there. On my first full day at the hotel, a Sunday, the weather was rainy and I decided in the afternoon to stay in the hotel room and do some work. At that time my coat was hung in the coat closet with my wallet in the inside zipped pocket. I had at that time about 150 euros and an some canadian dollars in the wallet. At two o'clock my room at still not been cleaned, but I heard the cleaning personnel in the hallway. In order not to interfere with their work I decided to go down to the lobby for an hour and let them clean the room. When I returned an hour latter, I resumed my work until 6:00 pm when I decided to go for supper. I then opened the closet to retrieve my coat, opened the inside zipper pocket to check my wallet and to my surprise realized that all the money had been taken. The rest was intact. I reported the incident to the front desk and they stated that the manager would be in on Monday and that she or he would contact me. Management never contacted me. Instead they left an envelope in my room stating that they had talked with the cleaning personnel and that they had said that they had not taken the money. Being a lawyer and having travelled extensively in the last 30 years, I did not expect them to admit to having taken the money and accept the full responsibility of having left the money in my waller in what I considered a respectful hotel. I would have expected though, that management would have been more professional in the way they dealt with this incident. I would have expected them at least to speak with me to get my version of what happen. They did not. The rest of my stay at that hotel was very unpleasant. Every time I left the room, I was uneasy. I had other valuable object which unfortunately could not fit in the small save and which I would hide in my suitcase. A little more consideration from management would have been certainly appreciated, but I guess its to much to ask at Hotel Haven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank veromari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaven, Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear "veromari",

I am sad to hear about your disappointment with our hotel management.
We, at Hotel Haven, take this kind of matters very seriously and I personally investigated the matter about the missing money.
You informed our front desk about the missing money on Sunday afternoon and I immediately was informed about the situation. We decided to investigate the matter properly on Monday morning when Housekeeping staff and management was available for hearing.
We have an advanced RFID lock system that records all entries to our hotel rooms. Your floor housekeeper was the only one, except of you, who had entered the room during your stay.
Together with our Housekeeping manager we interviewed the housekeeper who informed us that she was the one cleaning your room but had not touched any coat or money. This member of staff has been working with us for a long time and has always been reliable.
After this I tried to reach you to discuss the matter but with no success. Therefore we decided to send you a letter explaining what we had done. I left a note in the letter asking you to contact me directly, in case you wanted to further discuss the matter. You never contacted me or any of our management about this matter and as you did not mention it anymore while dealing with our duty managers we interpreted the case was closed.

Should you wish to discuss this case in person with me, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Hotel Haven.

Kind regards,

Janne Ant-Wuorinen
Hotel Manager, Hotel Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in August 2012, and it was one of the most enjoyable stays I've had in a hotel. At check-in it was noted that we were staying for a week, and we were allocated a lovely room with a magnificent view of the harbour. The staff were truly exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They even stored our luggage when we went to St Petersburg for a weekend, and they advised us on restaurants, ordered opera tickets for us and arranged a day trip to Tallin.

My one observation was that the breakfast choices were limited when staying for a week, but that was a very minor point.

I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stylish, convenient and comfortable stay in Helsinki.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyCastleDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a beautifully appointed property centrally situated in downtown Helsinki beside the harbour.

Service was impeccable with all staff speaking excellent English. When we enquired about the logistics of a day trip to Tallin everything was clearly explained to us and bookings then made for us.

Our only criticism would be regarding access to the hotel reception which involves steps no matter what way you go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourmetsnob
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Despite having bed bugs we had to pay for a second night with no ac and the engineer was off. The outside temperature was 55 but we could not open the windows..
They offered the sauna to kill the bedbugs and a free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gourmetsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelHaven, Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Gourmetsnob,

I am sad to hear about your very unfortunate incident with bedbugs at Hotel Haven.

Bedbugs are a difficult problem worldwide as they can travel in peoples clothes or suitcases. Therefore it is very important for hotels to take the right precautions and have professional pest infect companies as partners.

Hotel Haven have partnered with Rentokil Finland who performs regular inspections at our property and this incident was the first time we have encountered bedbugs.

You informed our front desk about the problem and our staff then immediately took further actions. After your departure we sealed the room, as we have been trained, and contacted Rentokil Finland who then came to the hotel to assess the problem and proceed with treatment.

Rentokil Finland uses Entotherm heat treatment which is a chemical-free method of pest control which can eliminate pest insects such as bed bugs, through the targeted application of heat. It's a quick and effective treatment that reaches all areas of an infestation without causing structural damage.

After this treatment the room was checked three times by Rentokil during two weeks time with results showing no insect being found in the room.

To secure our hotel being completely free from bedbugs we also performed a complete inspection on each hotel room at Hotel Haven and did not encounter any other infestations.

After your departure we refunded your accommodations costs and you returned to stay with us a week later. This stay with a dinner we also offered complimentary and even took your luggage to a sauna to be sure that no more possible bedbugs would be alive.

I truly wish that you understand how sorry we are to see this happened and have taken all possible means to eliminate these kind of incidents.

I hope one day you will return to Helsinki and stay with us at Hotel Haven again.

Kind regards,

Janne Ant-Wuorinen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed in Haven last week. Beautiful hotel, nicely appointed, clean and very well located in downtown Helsinki. For around 169 EUR/night including breakfast for 2, it is not the cheapest hotel in Helsinki, but if you're used to travel high-end, there are not many options in Helsinki and this hotel fits the bill nicely and will not disappoint. They have a spa, but we did not visit.

It's very good value, especially if you get an advance purchase rate, and will definitely return next time we're in Helsinki.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaanpeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing