We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best contemporary hotel in Helsinki that does not belong to a big hotel chain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Haven
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
216 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best contemporary hotel in Helsinki that does not belong to a big hotel chain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Excellent design hotel located in the heart of Helsinki. Paid 169 EUR including breakfast buffet and taxes for one night in a comfort room. Fantastic lounge/bar area and the wonderful and healthy breakfast is served just across a small courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear “Joachim P”,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the design of our hotel. The concept behind it was to create a warm welcoming atmosphere with a touch of luxury offering the conveniences requested by business and leisure travellers. Welcome back to Helsinki!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    258
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
105
364
73
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Haven for (sadly only) 1 night on business. What a wonderful experience. From the check-in to the dining experience, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is very centrally located, a 10 minute walk away from the main shopping area.The rooms are very nicely appointed with a nice deep bath (so important with the cold temperatures outside) with it's own TV screen, fluffy bath robes, nice toiletries, little touches of art and a very comfortable bed. Food at the hotel restaurant I would describe as traditional Finnish with a very modern twist. Highly enjoyable. Breakfast was also good with a wide variety of foods on offer. The hotel has free wifi throughout and nice large desks in the rooms that serve every business travellers needs. My only disappointment is that I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard may be a littler quieter, although my street facing room was pretty quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Haven, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear “Mondfrau”,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We hope that you will be back in Helsinki soon and have a longer stay. Especially this year since Helsinki is the World Design Capital 2012 and there is plenty to explore. Welcome back to Hotel Haven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed at the hotel as part of business trip to Helsinki.
The Reception Team were welcoming, friendly and courteous, the Room 503, was immaculate, relaxing bed and warm and relaxing despite temperatures of -19 outside.
There was a little noise from within the hotel building through the night but no real problem.
The hotel appears to be in a good location for the waterfront, park and restaurants.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights. We had chosen the Hotel Fabian but were contacted a few weeks before our visit and offered rooms at the Hotel Haven as the Fabian was unavailable one of the nights we had booked. Usually you would be a bit put out, but the company, (which owns both Hotels) was apologetic, polite and respectful. They offered us similar rooms (one upgraded to allow us to have adjoining rooms) for the same rates we had booked to Fabian. We were very happy and would have otherwise missed the opportunity to stay at such a luxurious hotel, where service and quality were excellent. The breakfast room was small but the food was lovely and made a great start to the day, great coffee and pastries. We had a standard room adjoining a deluxe room. The deluxe room was incredibly spacious and well appointed with every convenience you would need. Unbelievable beds, so comfortable. The bathrooms were very modern and stylish. Location was great, just out of the city and a block from the harbour. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Overall a great experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were family of 4, (2C were 13 & 7) stayed 3 nights over the new year in 30-1Jan2012.

Before we were to revisit Helsinki 6 nights later, we walked around the Esplanade Park area scouting for hotels... Hotel Kamp Sheraton was shortlisted. Kamp's offer for us were 2 connecting rooms, w/o breakfasts at E189

Good thing we walked across the street a little more and stumbled across this charming Hotel Haven. It was simply the best hotel ever!

Duty manager offered us a Lux room to accommodate 4 of us, with a free rollaway at E220/night. Including 4 buffet breakfasts. How good was that! And while i was busy with the duty manager, the family were playing chess next to a fireplace in the bar. We were sold!

Come arrival,
We arrived with 6 pieces of luggage. And when they opened the Lux room door, the kids screamed Wow! In addition, "There's a TV in the toilet, dad!". At 10pm, that was the most reassuring comment ever!

During the stay,
+ free wifi
+ B&O tv with comfy chairs/sofa
+ dining table for 4
+ huge bathroom
+ extremely clean & tidy
+ huge room, the suitcases did not get in the way...
+ comfy rollaway
+ Nespresso coffee machine
+ free bedside mineral water
+ free buffet breakfast included
+ excellent front desk/concierge

- king bed were 2 singles joined together, hence the "gap" in the middle
- living room was part carpet, part tiles (rough on the edges)
- 3rd floor Lux had no view, except main road.
- dinner service was a bit slow

Overall,
the convenience of the location, ie. Helsinki Cathedral, Senate Sq, Market Sq, Old Market hall, Suomenlinna ferry point, Uspenski Cathedral, is second to none

We had a fantastic holiday. Simply the best in Helsinki!

Room Tip: smaller rooms had bay facing options
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SporeWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Haven is very good in every way. A good location – slightly away from other business-speciific chain hotels and a snowball’s throw from the restaurants and bars of the Esplanade area. Public transport (tram stop and ferries) is very close. Check in was very efficient - was offered a complimentary room upgrade on arrival. All staff were very friendly and efficient. The ‘Style’ room was very nicely decorated and fixtures and fittings of very high standard. Bed very comfortable, linen top quality. The glass (sliding) bathroom door annoyed me – maybe a good space saver but it needs to be soundproof. Free wifi signal throughout the hotel was strong and there was a special set up for mac / IPhone. The Lobby bar was effortlessly cool and a good place to still by the fire and pretend to play chess. Breakfast in the Havis Restaurant was good, a very plentiful continental affair with scrambled eggs and bacon too (excellent sea buckthorn jam as well!). A great hotel.

Room Tip: Not all 'sea-view' rooms actually have a view of the sea - request it if you really want it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank small_world_team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Beautiful and stylish decor, peaceful atmosphere, attention to detail, defenately a luxury break with very good location and helpful staff. After three visits to this hotel (once with my husband, once with a friend and once alone) I am happy to say that Hotel Haven feels just as great every time. This is the best hotel in Helsinki (and have tried quite a few of the other ones).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJ_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Hotel Lilla Roberts
#4 of 64 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel F6
#1 of 64 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haven

Property: Hotel Haven
Address: Unioninkatu 17, Helsinki 00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haven, Finland’s first member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World chain, is designed to provide homely warmth, exclusive comfort and high-quality services for the discerning guest. The hotel with 77 individual and well-appointed rooms and premium restaurant and conference services is conveniently situated in the attractive setting of Helsinki’s Market Square.In the elegant yet cosy foyer, guests can relax by the fireplace and browse leisurely through the daily papers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing