We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel on Suomenlinna !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Suomenlinna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Suomenlinna
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice hostel on Suomenlinna !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at in all my travels and you can't find a more unique location in Helsinki with a hostel. Suomenlinna is a really interesting gem in Helsinki and being able to stay there over night is brilliant.

The hostel has clean rooms and bathrooms which is really kind of rare for hostels to have both.
The price is really good for Helsinki which is quite an expensive city over all.
You get to take a ferry to you your hostel from the city centre which in itself is a neat experience.

I recommend purchasing a 24 hr (or more) transportation pass which also covers the ferry trip fares, this way you can go back and forth to the city as much as you want in a day. The 24 hr pass is 8 euros which if you use it all over the city for trams, buses and the ferry is a good deal. you can buy the passes at the visitor centre next to the harbour where you catch the Suomemlinna ferry.

I will definitely stay at Hostel Suomenlinna any time I'm in Helsinki

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soulprojector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hostel used to be a school and has lots of character. It was clean and quiet with convenient showers and toilets. Towels are included. There was an interesting mix of people staying and staff was friendly and helpful. It is a good location to enjoy the island and catch the ferry. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hostel is located on the island. Be certain to check the ferries before you go, they vary dependant on the time of year! Nevertheless, the hostel is easy to find, close to a small shop and good value.

Room Tip: Check the ferry timetable before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckingham01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

When looking on-line for a nights accommodation, I was initially a bit put off Hostel Suomenlinna due to its location on an island off Helsinki. With fairly short notice and prices in the central city getting pretty high for the one night I had in Helsinki, I decided to book it based on some pretty positive reviews. I'm pleased that I did. I jumped off the ferry from Tallinn and walked about 10 minutes to the Market Square, and the ferry for Suomenlinna left 10 minutes later - enough time to buy a ticket (2.20 euros) at the machine outside the kiosk. A 15-minute ferry ride and we disembarked on the island, and it's only some 80 metres or so to the hostel - an old school bordering on a hundred years old. On booking I had been emailed an access code for the door which got me in (luckily there was enough power on my phone to retrieve the email!), a key to my room had been left to collect inside. The hostel itself is pretty basic, but if you just need it to sleep and rustle up a snack it is perfectly fine. There is a small supermarket 50 metres away, the same distance to the brewery/pub, while it's about the same distance again to Restaurant Klubi 20. This proximity to the ferry and eateries is really handy. I spent several hours exploring the island's fortifications which are really fascinating in scope and scale. The hostel is clean and linen provided. Breakfast is available if pre-ordered (7.50 euros). It's so handy to Helsinki and with such frequent ferries that being located on an island is no drawback at all if you are happy with hostel style accommodation, and the island is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naultinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hostel itself is just an average type but you will definitely love the location of this hostel. It is in Suomenlinna Island, a historic island in Helsinki. Clean and sound environment, so nice views around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Clearly everything around this hostel is quite amazing! You have a full island with great landscape, great buildings, a submarine on land, the sea and Helsinki on the horizon. If you want a quiet place with historic background, Suomenlinna Islands is the perfect choice. As for the hostel, is not waht you would expect from such a great place. The hostel is both a travellers resting point, but also a young kids vacations camp, which can be a bit boring, having kids being kids (nothing against it, of course!), when you want to rest. It's a good place if you want to just stop and go, but with poor added value other than the island where it is located. Nevertheless, is the only hostel on the island, so is the only choice if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank António M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harz
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hostel is located on an island in front of Helsinki. The ferry takes about 17min to get there and runs 24hrs a day. The hostel is a renovated historic building in a former fortress. Therefore the walls are thick and the windows just medium sized. You have a good equiped kitchen in the upper floor and a common room with free internet access / wlan in the lower floor. The rooms are basic equipped but in a good condition. The showers are very clean, the stuff takes this serious. The breakefast is not included but worth trying it! There is a store nearby that is open until 10pm.

At night all the tourist has left the island and only the inhabitants stay. therefore you can see this special place in a very different light. This is the special magic about the hostel. Try it and you will love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Vironniemi
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
#8 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Vironniemi
Eurohostel
Eurohostel
#2 of 26 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suomenlinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suomenlinna

Property: Hostel Suomenlinna
Address: Suomenlinna C 9, Helsinki 00190, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Suomenlinna 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Suomenlinna has 39 beds and 8 rooms in two floors, a customer kitchen and a cozy lounge area. We offer free wifi all around the house, a guest computer, TV and complimentary coffee & tea for all our guests. Our rooms and facilities are clean and homey, they are suitable for back packers, couples, friends and families as well. You can choose a private room or a bunk bed in a dorm. All beds are clean and comfortable. You can find board games and books in our lounge area. Our guest kitchen is equipped with a stove, fridge, microwave, water boiler and a coffee machine. For our little guests we have a chest of toys, a high chair and equipment for outdoor games. A baby bed is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Suomenlinna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing