We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal - and open on Sunday & Monday”
Review of Ravintola Kuu

Ravintola Kuu
Ranked #6 of 1,485 Restaurants in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Taka-Töölö
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great meal - and open on Sunday & Monday”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were surprised how many restaurants were closed on Sunday and Monday, so were happy to find Kuu a nice walk from our hotel. Though there was construction going on right outside, we decided to sit on the terrace. I had an excellent pike perch terrine and goat cheese salad and my husband had the arctic char. With our 3 glasses of wine, it became an expensive meal, but so was every other dinner in Helsinki.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    183
    34
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely and delicious”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Loved this restaurant with upscale, modern takes on Finnish dishes. The goat cheese salad and reindeer were both quite delicious. The service was friendly and helpful in explaining things to us, non-Finnish-speaking tourists, but almost everyone else at the restaurant seemed to be locals. Was also just 1 block away from a tram stop. I would definitely go back if I am lucky to visit Helsinki again.

Helpful?
Thank sommer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dined in Kuu with friends and a very good meal. We run in well before hour booked time due to rain and the staff was helpful and arranged us table straight away. Food was delicious and well prepared. Serving was done in high standard and tough they seemed to be short of staff and the restaurant was fully booked they performed well. They offered extra dish to our vegetarian friend who didn't take the full menu and offered one of our dessert free due to delays! Which we thought were not that bad. Will definitely recommend this restaurant and if in the are will pop in again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good restaurant.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Nice urban restaurant in Töölö/Helsinki! I can highly recommend the fish soup which is a classic. Nice terrace. Good selection of wines.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting food and professional service”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We ate here before a Finland v Canada ice hockey match, and the restaurant was surprisingly well patronised even as early as 6pm. The very professional waiter explained the menu, which included a special five-course "1966" option for €56, featuring the kind of food that would have been popular in Helsinki in the mid-1960s. I opted for a white asparagus starter (it was in season) and grilled Baltic herring with creamy mash. Both were excellent, and we went with the waiter's recommendations for different wine by the glass to accompany each course. Be aware though that all wine in Finland is relatively expensive, even in off-licences controlled by the State Alko monopoly. Disappointingly, the Finns lost the match!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fmcd-dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravintola Kuu also viewed

 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Ravintola Kuu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing