We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chocolate heaven”
Review of Karl Fazer Cafe

Karl Fazer Cafe
Ranked #1 of 20 Dessert in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A chocolate heaven”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were staying in the Glo hotel, just opposite this famous cafe and decided to visit there on our last evening. We both ordered the famous hot chocolate, my husband had extra whipped cream in his. We also ordered two sandwiches , which was expensive but we couldnt decide which to have. Only a little earlier in the day we had had afternoon tea with cakes so could not justify eating the very tempting cakes, or equally delicious looking ice cream. Afterwards we looked round the chocolates on display but had indulged ourselves enough so did not buy any. They would make excellent gifts for oneself or for friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babarandceleste_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    602
    198
    36
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and staff very friendly. Highly recommend”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I love this place. If you are in Helsinki you Must have a stop here. Food is great. Staff super friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mfloracosta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

what a lovely place to be... and such amazing variety!
I love the concept of the old toffees and candies that they used to make which have almost become tradition also love the bread.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NayantaraBagla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The place is for sure a must for a visit whenever in Helsinki. It is divided into two part: a cafeteria and a confectionery shop. In one you will get great coffee, cakes and sweets; the other offers a wide range of Fazer sweets, a famous brand of chocolate from Finland that you can bring home as gifts for family and friends.

The cafe side tends to get very crowded, especially on the weekends and lunchtime, but if you have time I suggest you wait a bit for a free table. The prices are somewhat higher than in other cafes in Helsinki, but the overall experience and atmosphere is worth the extra buck.

The place uses the concept of self-service; you just need to follow the line and pick up the things you want. Staff is very friendly and attentive, everybody speaks English, so if you don't understand something they will be able to help.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nakemiiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Jadida, Morocco
Level Contributor
411 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“It's so wonderful and posh!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

How could I have come to Helsinki again and not come here? I had coffee, a wonderful cake and a glass of mineral water on the terrace in front of the cafe.

Later I bought some chocolates and pigged out on them back at the hotel.

Not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 549JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karl Fazer Cafe also viewed

Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 
Helsinki, Uusimaa
Helsinki, Uusimaa
 

Been to Karl Fazer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing