We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel..”
Review of GLO Hotel Sello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
GLO Hotel Sello
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Espoo
Certificate of Excellence
Mikkeli, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Business hotel..”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I spent 1 week in this hotel. Rooms had nice color scheme. Breakfast was excellent with many different things to have. Gym was charged extra if you want to go there. In the evening you can go to Sello shopping centre 100m from hotel or to Sello Cinema. All hotel areas were really clean and sound insulation in rooms were great. Really good sleep there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnttiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    194
    55
    9
    1
See reviews for
46
76
32
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed twice in this hotel, once in September 2012 and again in January 2013, for periods of 1.5 weeks and 5 nights respectively. Coming from Asia and arriving at the hotel in the early morning, I was really thankful that I was able to check in on a Sunday morning, which was quick and efficient.

Service at the front desk was polite and friendly, and they were helpful in offering information about taking the train from the nearby station (behind the hotel) to the city centre of Helsinki, which is just 10-15 minutes away. They are also always willing to help when taxis are needed. Oh, the hotel is also not too far from the Helsinki Vantaa airport, either ways it takes only about half an hour.

I enjoyed the breakfast, even though the selection was not too wide but there are yogurts, cereals, breads, cheeses, as well as eggs, potatoes and the likes. It was sufficient for me. The breakfast place also doubles as a restaurant during other times, but it is closed on Sundays. Food is not too bad there from what I recalled.

Room-wise, it was comfortable and fairly clean. There was a ledge for one luggage but somehow on my second trip, the ledge in the room I had was too small to fit my luggage case, but it doesn't matter too much. Generally, it is quite quiet in the room at night if you draw the curtains shut even if you happen to have a room that faces the main road, but as the floor is not fully carpeted, sometimes it can be a bit noisy when someone in the nearby rooms or probably upstairs, walks around her room in high heels.

Love the bedroom slippers provided as they were thick and nice to wear, and the bed wasn't too hard/soft for me. There was also free wifi! Only gripe I had was that there wasn't a screen or shower curtain or anything for the bathtub so each time when you take a shower, the floor gets wet. Interestingly, I noticed that the floor seemed to dry pretty fast.

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the Sello Mall, which contains many shops, some cafes, and two supermarkets. There was even a cinema and a gym, the latter which hotel guests can make use of at a fee of 10 euros per entry, which was the reason why I didn't visit; there was no gym within the hotel itself. Shops are generally open till about 9pm on weekdays (can't remember about Saturday), and on Sundays, from 12 noon until about 6pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verena_amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Check-in took almost 30 minutes because of only one person behind the desk on a busy Friday evening. The room was nice and well equipped. The restaurant downstaires was also understaffed so the service was slow and unfriendly. Breakfast was good but also there the personnel didn't realize that they should serve the customers. We arrived 15 min early at breakfast due to tight schedule and got a very unfriendly welcome although the breakfast table was almost ready.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor and it was quiet and ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was in this hotel during my last holidays in finland for the new year's eve. The price level is very good if we consider that it is in Finland, the staff is very polite and the rooms well equipped. Then it is also in front of a very big shopping center, and for this reason the hotel is crowded of russians! By the way my stay in this hotel was very good also for my family, maybe the only defect is that the room has some dust on the parquet. For the rest everything was ok, expecially the free parking!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlo29180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed only one night during a business trip in this hotel, however I was really surprised. This is much better than the typical scandinavian chain hotels, like "Scandic"..., price was really good and for me it was the best place I ever stayed our Helsinki. Nice, clean room, free internet, great fresh breakfast.
Close to station and shoping mall just around the corner.

I will definitely tkae this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Schwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband had to come here for business trip so my daughter & I decided to tag along. We stayed in Hotel GLO Sello as recommendes by his Finns colleagues & the location was great. When my husband went to work, my daughter & I walked to the shopping mall connected & did shopping & had our meals there. Rooms are clean & cosy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie_YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

At last a good hotel experience. Tasteful rooms, large bathrooms, clean and comfortable beds and with good breakfast.
The area around it is rather ugly but I was here on business so had mo time for sight seeing.
I'd recommend it to any business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ares65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espoo
Hellsten Espoo
#6 of 12 in Espoo
193 reviews
Hotel Korpilampi
#3 of 12 in Espoo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
GLO Hotel Art
#18 of 64 in Helsinki
1,542 reviews
Scandic Espoo
#7 of 12 in Espoo
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Sello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Sello

Property: GLO Hotel Sello
Address: Leppaevaarankatu 1, Espoo 02600, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Espoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Espoo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Espoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — GLO Hotel Sello 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In atmospheric GLO Hotel Espoo Sello you enjoy your stay, whether you are in business trip or just travelling with your family. Shopping center Sello has over 170 shops. If you want to visit Helsinki citycentre as a daytrip or spend an evening, train takes you to Helsinki from right next to the hotel. Rooms of the hotel has been decorated with a true design-spirit and some of the rooms have also a tiny kitchen. GLO Hotel Sello offers incredible and memorable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLO Hotel Sello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sello Hotel Espoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing