We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest in Finland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Tapiola Garden
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Espoo
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the nicest in Finland”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed for one night at the second floor, windows to the pool. Very nice view! The room was nice and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The location is good as the beautiful Tapiola is in walking distance. Breakfast (included) was very good. I must say this is the best Sokos hotel I have stayed so far.

Room Tip: Windows to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AstaSoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    121
    66
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
37
12
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is the type of hotel business travelers stay in when they are footing the bill themselves. Extremely simple, extremely clean, at an excellent price. But there are no frills: bring your own shampoo and bathrobe.

A few small caveats: this hotel cannot be reached directly via mass transit from Helsinki Airport. You'd have to take a bus to downtown Helsinki and then a separate bus to Tapiola, which would take at least 90 minutes. Our taxi from the airport cost EUR 58.

And the pool, which photographs beautifully, is actually no bigger than a city bus. It is open only from 1600-1830, as is the sauna.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KayDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Like so many modern hotels this one has a serious problem with its noisy aircondition system, only more so. Actually, for most of the night the room was dead quiet but at exactly 6 am the aircondion powers up. The resulting noise level is horrendous and surpassing anything I've eperienced at any hotel, making it impossible to get more sleep (upon complaining to the reception I was told that this is standard routine every morning). So if you believe, like me, that the primary purpose of a hotel is to secure its guests a good night's sleep forget about Tapiola Garden

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriumphDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Quality hotel and safe area to turist.
I stayed here one night and hotel is very good. Restarurant is good and location too. Hotel is also silent and there is no outside noise. Overall level is 4/5 star.
Best in this hotel is my mind that that this hotels location is very safe area to turist in Finland Capital area. You can walk one mile/kilometer to any direction in this hotel and there is no any robber or crimals. Area is very nice and there are big parks and lakes. All people in this area are very wealthy and there is big Tapiola shopping mall very near on hotel , about distance 100 meter. You can walk also to ocean area shore 1km-2km to Westend, where live Finland's richest business people. There are nice shore routes througt to Westend. This Westend area is very popular on Nokia cell phone corporation living area. There lives Nokia CEO and top management.
There is also good traveling services like taxi, bus station about 100meter if you want to go visit Nokia or Kone headquartes what are located about 1km on this Sokos hotel. You can even walk to those companies, because there are really good walking and biking street only to people.There is also nice Emma museo, where is paintings, cloks and other intesting to vistor, distance about 1km.
So this hotel quality is like new Toyota Camry car or Nokia's cell phone. Hotel is then a quality Sokos hotel, what is Finnish quality and made in Finland

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank PekkaMSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

A nice modern hotel, with clean and comfortable rooms. I had a view over the lake (man made) and a balcony from my room, which was really nice. They had plenty of TV channels, including BBC world, which I always appreciate.

I ate both lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant, both of which were excellent. The service in the evening was a little slow though.

The swimming pool is tiny and cold, really just a plunge pool for the sauna. As long as this is what you are expecting, it is fine though.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelallthetime55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Room was a good size and bathroom was very modern and clean. Hotel is a bit outside of Helsinki city center, but you can easily hop on a bus to Helsinki which run often. The only downside was that there were lots of flies in the breakfast room! So many that we were unable to eat anything as it was so disgusting. Apart from that the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delsey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelos, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We chose the Sokos Tapiola Garden for its location, but we would recommend this hotel to anyone who had business in Helsinki, but wanted to be out of the city in the truly "garden" city of Espoo. Helsinki (Kamppi shopping mall) is a 15-minute 4-Euro bus ride away.

We got a Yellow Line airport collective taxi (Euros 25) to the hotel and checked in at 1:00 a.m. and were greeted warmly by Reception. Our room overlooked the artificial lake and outdoor pools in Tapiola, with views of modern architecture and birch woods. This side gets the evening sun, the other side of the hotel gets the morning sun but faces the entrance, and the entrance, not noisy, faces the park-like landscape of Tapiola.
The room and hotel had obviously recently renovated and everything was fresh-smelling.
We had a coffee maker, iron and ironing board with good quality products. As it was June, and the area was very peaceful, we slept with the balcony door open. There seemed to be always a pleasant sea breeze.

Breakfast was more than adequate. The coffee was excellent and the orange juice tasted fresh squeezed. My favourite aspect of breakfast were the forest berries. There was a variety of cereals, yoghurt, breads, cheeses and meats, and vegetables and fruits. The scrambled eggs weren't great but that was not a concern.

We didn't use the sauna, but it and the dipping pool looked wonderful.
There is a computer in the lobby, which is useful for quick messages.

The staff all seemed to speak good English, and all of them were very friendly and helpful, including the cleaning staff.

Tapiola is almost a destination resort for boat enthusiasts, architects and artists. The nearby Wee Gee with the EMMA art gallery is amazing. "The" best in Finland. We loved the Risto Suomi paintings there. Tapiola has also good shopping.
There are lovely seaside walks in the neighbourhood of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Farsante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espoo
GLO Hotel Sello
#2 of 12 in Espoo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#14 of 63 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Tapiola Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Tapiola Garden

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Tapiola Garden
Address: Tapionaukio 3, Espoo 02100, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Espoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Espoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Tapiola Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Tapiola Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing