We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
636
140
67
31
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
636
140
67
31
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga retreat sea water amorgos island indoor pool the owner ambrosia restaurant cooking class breathtaking views hair salon restaurant staff amazing place the hotel offers main restaurant goat overlooking the bay greek islands hotel is situated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 908 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2019

The location is great - although somewhat remote - with fabulous reviews.

Our room was fairly comfortable and roomy, but the balcony was tiny - a real squeeze to use it. The other rooms that our party had were tiny though!

Food is good, but very limited for vegans (one of our group was). Restaurant staff are great and very friendly.

Yoga studios are good and very clean - mats that are provided are good.

Pool is nice and a decent size and a good amount of sun loungers.

Some of the issues:

Reception check in was slow, despite pre-filling out the details before arrival. We weren't shown around. We were told our luggage would be brought to our room, but despite calling and waiting ended up getting is ourselves.

Not enough towels in the room - rang 3 times to get mote.

Building work was carried out in our room on the balcony - no one told us this would be happening and dust was left all over the balcony. Our things were moved around and a table moved from the room.

Our room was quite close to the restaurant and so was quite noisy on a couple of nights.

Check out was slow and the receptionist showed me the total of the final bill on a calculator but couldn't print it out! I refused to pay based on this and eventually was provided with the drinks slips and a print out.

Spa treatments are very expensive as are the trips the hotel puts on.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aegialis, Operations Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Jo,

thank for taking the time to write a nice review for Aegialis Hotel and Spa.

We are really glad you enjoyed the view, the room, the pool, the food and the cleanliness at Aegialis Hotel & Spa.

However we are sorry to read that some issues did not meet your expectations.

We hope we will have the pleasure to offer you an even more memorable stay sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Eleni Voutsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

Such a beautiful and stunning location. Just constantly surrounded by beauty - it's magical. The staff is so friendly and accommodating - they knew us by name and were eager at all times to help in any way. The food and service were excellent. Had a wonderful time and have told many friends they need to go. It was amazing.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

I had a wonderful yoga retreat at Aegialis Hotel & Spa. I had a very nice and spacious room; the room was very clean and quiet, with beautiful view on the sea, and every morning I would wake up hearing the waves... simply wornderful, with breathtaking views and sunsets. It is the ideal place to come to relax and disconnect. Staff at Aegialis are really nice and welcoming and the food is delicious! I also enjoyed the time spent at the Spa, with the great advices of Katerina and the great and relaxing massages from Christos. it is definitively a place I want to go back to. Amorgos is a very special Island.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CloSH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

We recently hosted a yoga retreat at Aegialis Hotel in Amorgos, Greece. The breathtaking mountain and sunset views are amazing from every room inside the hotel. We had daily yoga inside of the Ananda Shala, which was clean and set up for us by a friendly staff member he included all yoga props, mats and asked if we need anything special for any of the classes. This was super helpful and very kind of him. Also, Miriam the yoga instructor on the property was very helpful for our stay and she toured us around the grounds which allowed me to feel comfortable prior to the retreat start date.

We all loved the food which was family style, fresh fish and meats also a lot of vegetarian options. The kitchen and dining staff made us all feel like apart of the Aegialis family. Very kind and attentive towards each of us for every meal. We aren't used to this in the USA :)

Lastly, we enjoyed our room which was cleaned every morning before we returned from breakfast. The view from our terrace was so relaxing and the furniture including the hotel interior design was minimal and artistic. I would return in a heartbeat, this was one of my best travel experiences ever! I would give this hotel a 5 star rating for food, cleanliness, friendly staff and location. The Amorgos island feels very remote away from the noisiness of Santorini /Athens...you feel like you're in paradise!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nkisoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

I had woderful yoga holiday in Amorgos.
It is very clean, the staff is friendly and the room had everything I needed. The food was very fresh, of good quality and had pleanty of choice. Magnificent views!
Katerina gave me a wonderful facial and was very helpful with other things too. I definitely recommend this place, ideal for those who need a complete break from everyday stress.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katrin80053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews