We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Big Blue" from the Yoga Shala”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aegiali
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"The Big Blue" from the Yoga Shala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

For this year's summer holiday, I had been extraordinarily lucky in being allowed to bring my almost 6 y.o. daughter along for a yoga retreat. This way we could combine yoga with playing and sightseeing. I really abhor "all inclusive" family holidays, which makes it quite difficult to find a suitable holiday retreat when travelling alone with my daughter. But Amorgos Aegialis were more than accommodating. We quickly found playmates - a dutch family with children of the same approximate age - introductions made by the smiling hotel girls. Plenty of playground in the pool, the hotel area, and the beach, which is in walking distance from the hotel (but the walk can get quite hot). I quite like that the pool has seawater instead of chlorine water. The hotel spa offers very professional massage, I had a neck and back treatment. They also paint fingernails at the spa, both for ladies and little girls The spa has an indoor pool (free admission), if it gets too hot outside.

The hotel food is perhaps not Michelin, but it is authentic greek. À la carte is however much better than what is ordered for a group. The pool area has serving at small tables right by the pool. Very convenient, even if perhaps a little too much pizza - french fries on the menu. They do also have a nice selection of salads, for a healthier choice. Babysitting is readily available at the hotel, which we used a few evenings, when dining with the yoga group was much too late for children.

We were travelling with a yoga school from Denmark, with prebooked sightseeing activities. These were not all child friendly, so we went about to arrange some on our own. The hotel helped us book a donkey ride, which I had quite frankly not expected much from. As my daughter somehow sat on the animal like she had learnt it from her infancy, we had a breathtakingly beautiful and very rocky full hour of trecking in the steep mountains, always looking down on the quite uniquely blue sea. This was a great way to see local life, a small church, and visit small farmers on the road. Booking on our own meant we could get to repeat this wonderful experience :).

The hotel's 2 yoga shalas were airy and very comfortable for exercise in the early mornings and late afternoons, despite the hot weather. One was definitely situated awkwardly, allowing much too much noise from hotel guests passing by. We were however quickly moved the the other one, which offered the complete serenity required for yoga.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missElderflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Susanne,

We are so glad to read Aegialis Hotel & SPA fit your expectations for family holidays. Indeed we understand perfectly the need of each one including little girls and little boys.
It's a real pleasure to see you enjoyed all our facilities and particularly the pool, the hotel SPA, both our restaurants and of course our yoga shalas.
Your retreat had a great program but for sure your daughter couldn't follow all of it... the donkey ride is a really nice activity both for adults and kids!!! All the kids we know that did it remembers it for many years. Donkeys are still part of the Amorgian life and it's nice to see visitors living the experience.
I am happy we achieved to offer you a memorable stay and thank you for taking the time to share your kind words on TripAdvisor.
I look forward to your next stay with us.
With my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    93
    38
    26
    27
See reviews for
109
257
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

3 days of luxury on our island hopping holiday was spent at the Aegialis. Yes it's expensive per night and you might never use the Spa facilities but it's worth it for the views, the service and the swimming pool. Great pizza place by the pool, cold water and slush cocktails deliveres to your bed by the pool and lovely rose wine from the bar! Great pool and bar staff, Flavia from Ukraine, a bit ditsy but very friendly and smiley and Kalli who recommended where to go on Kouffannissia. Don't forget to go into the port area as there are some lovely bars and tavernas. Loved every minute of it, but didn't look forward to the credit card bill.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a series, it's superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience of Aegialis Hotel & SPA on Tripadvisor.
It is a real pleasure to read you enjoyed your "3 days of luxury" on Amorgos and all our facilities.
We do our utmost to please our guests and read such a review is the best reward.
I'll share your kind words with the whole team and we all look forward to welcome you back.
All our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a very beautiful and pleasant hotel. The spa is wonderful and the rooms are comfortable, the works are very kind. I just did not like the out side swing pool with salt on the water. The meals serverd by the pool are also very poor and not fresh and totally unhealthy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irene0708, Guest Relations Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Erica,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Aegialis Hotel & SPA on TripAdvisor.
I am really glad to see you had such a good time at the hotel enjoying your room, the staff and of course Lalon Idor SPA.
I'm sorry though you didn't like the sea-water pool and its pizzeria. Nick's pizza is indeed a snack bar - pizzeria but it also offers salads and traditional Greek appetizers which are all fresh as well as our pizzas (homemade dough, local vegetables...). Perhaps our restaurant Ambrosia Gallery could have been closer to your expectations as it is a gastronomy restaurant certified by "AEGEAN CUISINE".
Once again thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We would be very happy to welcome you back to Amorgos in a near future,

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my first time in Greece and it couldn't been better. Thank you so much for such an excellent service. Will definitely come back with my family again. It feels like being at home because all the staff and the owners take care of you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irene0708, Guest Relations Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Diana,

What an enthusiasm! It is such a pleasure to see we participated in making your first experience of Greece so wonderful... In fact that is the best reward!
Thank you for your warm words towards our services and staff; and of course we'd be delighted to welcome you back for another experience in Amorgos!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I just returned from a yoga retreat and we were blessed to stay at the Aegilais Hotel & Spa. The staff at the hotel as well as the spa were the most gracious, polite and attentive I have ever come accross. The view from my room was just the icing on the cake. A cup of coffee and a sunrise was all you needed to start the day on the beautiful island!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cartersmomkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irene0708, Guest Relations Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
It was a wonderful yoga retreat indeed and we very much enjoyed welcoming all of you...
I'm glad to read you had such a nice time by staying at Aegialis Hotel & SPA and hope you'll keep good memories of it for a long time.
In behalf of all Aegialis Hotel & SPA staff, I thank you for your words so kind and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Looking forward welcoming you back during your next stay in Amorgos,

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel and restaurant staff makes this place very good. Views are fantastic and if you are looking to relax in peace this is your place. I had several meals at the restaurant and found that quality of fresh vegetables and seafood was very good. They have a great selection of great and affordable local wines. Hotel transfers are always there and on time regardless of the time of the day or night.

Room Tip: The only noise were kids playing in the pool, but you could escape that by moving into the spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtschindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
On behalf of all Aegialis Hotel & Spa staff, I would like to thank you for your beautiful comment.
We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us in Amorgos and mostly to see you particularly appreciated our restaurant "Ambrosia Gallery".
Indeed, our restaurants aim to encourage the guests of Aegialis Hotel & Spa to discover the traditional Amorgian Cuisine using local and organic products coming from our garden or from other fields of the island.
For the last three years, Ambrosia Restaurant is even certified by "AEGEAN CUISINE", an organization that recognizes the firms that demonstrate the rich culinary tradition of the Aegean and offer local products at a quality level.
Next time it would be our pleasure to take you to our garden so you can bring back home some fresh vegetables!
We look forward welcoming you back,

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This family-run hotel overlooks Aegiali and the bay. In our opinion it is the only place to stay on an island that is not to be skipped. The hotel is terraced up the side of a hill so that you have a glorious view from multiple locations on the property including a rooftop hot tub and salt water pool. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our visit both enjoyable and personal. They take pride in their "home" and seek to share their enjoyment with guests. The spa was a particularly nice touch and was always open for free use and a wide range of services. The food was great and the poolside pizza is not to be missed. By the time we left, we felt like we were a part of their wonderful family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words on Tripadvisor.
It is a true pleasure to read you had a memorable stay at Aegialis Hotel & Spa and that we personally contributed to it!
I'm glad to see you enjoyed all the services of the hotel, from Ambrosia Restaurant to Lalon Idor Spa. We do our utmost to please our guests and I am glad to read that we have achieved our aim and even more by making you feel like home. It is one of the best compliment we could receive.
We look forward welcoming you back very soon.
With all our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegiali
0.8 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#10 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#7 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lakki Village
Lakki Village
#5 of 8 in Aegiali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegialis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegialis Hotel & Spa

Property: Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Address: Aegiali 84008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Aegiali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aegiali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aegialis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegialis Hotel & Spa just received the Certificate of Excellence 2014! Located on the hillside of the Aegiali golf, with spectacular views of the Aegean sea, it offers to its guests more than just a stay to remember. With the personal attention of the Giannakopoulos family, the friendly personnel, and versatile services, you will definitely enjoy the Amorgian hospitality.The complex of Aegialis hotel and spa is spread in 20.000 Sqm with six buildings placed in such a way to offer the best possible view to the sea from each point. All three types of rooms and suites, fifty five in total, are available all year around in order to satisfy all expectations of its guests.The "Ambrosia Gallery Restaurant" is an addition to the Aegialis hotel and spa experience with a vast variety of Greek & International dishes. The "Wet Cafe" bar an oasis of refreshes and great fun by the Olympic size swimming pool. The Aegialis hotel & spa takes the stay at a higher level, adding to its guests experience a new complex dedicated to health and beauty, the "Lalon Idor". Located at a uniquely energetic spot, the guests feel the tranquility of the environment growing within them from the first minute. Designed to revitalize the mind and rejuvenate the body, equipped with state of the art equipment and highly specialized personnel, the "Lalon Idor" offers a great variety of services on the field of aesthetics, body treatments and hair dressing. On the 600sqm space of the spa facilities one can also use an indoor swimming pool with sea water, a steam room, a sauna, and a fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aegialis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegialis Hotel Amorgos
Aegialis Hotel & Spa Amorgos/Aegiali, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing