We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel in Aegialis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aegiali
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Aegialis is perched above the beautiful Aegialis bay, with spectacular views, an exceptional, top-notch staff and 5 star amenities including the wonderful on-site restaurant, Ambrosia, and a spa with gym and yoga studio. The hotel property itself is lovely, and is quite sprawling. From afar, and in the night especially, it actually looks like its own hilltop village unto itself (which some may see as a pro or con depending on your personal travel style and tastes). There is a beautiful and large pool with plenty of sunbeds, and the main floor near reception has plenty of seating indoors and outdoors for relaxing. The yoga pavilion is superb--the most serene and scenic place one could imagine doing yoga. And the yoga itself was fantastic. When I was there, Sol's daughter was teaching (Ophelia) and I had an incredible 3 days of intense practice in a beautiful space and met some great people. The spa itself has many amenities including steamroom and saunas which guests can use free of charge.

The room I stayed in was not particularly large, but was comfortable, and was cleaned daily. The decor is fine-nothing to write home about, but sufficiently pleasant. The only drawback to my room was that because of the beautiful landscaping on my vernanda, I was unable to keep the doors open at night due to the many friendly insects that wanted to make their way inside. Other than that my stay was very comfortable.

The location of the hotel makes for beautiful views, but as other travelers have commented, having a car is quite helpful as it far from town. There are stairs that lead you down a quicker path to the main Aegialis beach, but you still have about a 10-15 minute walk depending on your stride and capability to the main beach, and then a couple minutes more to town. There is a closer, smaller beach (the name is escaping me) to the hotel, which is closer, but is a steep descent down to the water via stairs/path. But once you are there, there is a funky little beach bar/cafe, and I found the water to be much cleaner than in Aegialis (which was surprisingly a little bit littered for Greek standards).

Unless you are a hiker, or looking to just enjoy the hotel and the immediate beaches, a car makes the stay at the hotel more enjoyable because you are free to explore the island on your own schedule. I was not bold enough to venture into town at night by foot on the dark roads by myself. The staff at the hotel are truly top notch and will advise and make arrangements as needed. They could not have been more professional or helpful. They made car arrangements for me with FM Rent a Car and secured a terrific automatic car (not always easy in EU).

The hotel is relatively close to the lovely villages of Tholaria (which is a vigorous uphill walk on the paved road) as well as Langada, which has some good tavernas and even some nightlife from what I heard. Both villages have beautiful scenic views. The main port of Aegialis has several good tavernas and bars itself and the staff at the hotel are very helpful in making recommendations. The on-site restaurant is not to be overlooked--the food here was outstanding. And the breakfast buffet quite good and very generous in terms of your options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank yniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

You say terrific hotel, I answer terrific comment!!!
Thank you so much of all your compliments and detailed experience.
I am really glad to read you enjoyed each facility we propose as well as the Yoga classes. Indeed the Yoga Shala is ideally situated to conduct classes facing the picturesque bay and to offer an incredible environment to reach healthy body and mind. Ophelia is a very good teacher and very attentive - I'll share your words with her of course.
I am also happy to see you've been visiting the island, the different villages (each one of them really has its own personality) and of course the beaches (Levrosos is the one with the "funky" restaurant).
To finish I would like to particularly thank you for pointing out the qualiy of our Restaurant Ambrosia and the professionalism of our staff.
We do our utmost to please our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.
We hope to welcome you back soon to wonderful Amorgos,
With all our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Aegialis Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 676 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Amorgos was our favourite island in the Cyclades, and that had a lot to do with our stay at beautiful Aegialis Hotel with its magical setting- away from tourist crowds, lovely rooms, and traditional hospitality. We had sweeping views of Aegialis Bay and mountains from our beautiful airy room, and from every public area of the hotel. We could easily have spent all day relaxing around the enormous swimming pool, but we managed to peel off the sunbeds to check out the nearby hiking trails and little coves and beaches just down the hill from the hotel.
After a full active day of hiking and scootering around exploring the rugged landscape and unspoiled swimming coves, it was just divine to come back to the luxury of our big comfortable bed or flop into sumptuous lounge chairs on the dining terrace. The buffet breakfast was generous and had healthy options which we appreciated, as well as delicious cooked dishes.
We loved the more creative, modern dishes on the menu at the hotel's restaurant - refreshing change from the tasty but standard Greek fare found in everywhere in Greece.
My partner bought me a spa package as birthday present- we had treatments together- sublime- with more views from the hotel's huge spa area. We where spoiled- felt like royalty.
Its was my second visit to this island and hotel- I went on my own - a single girl the the first time, and was so blown away that I promised myself I would go back with a partner someday. It was even better than I remembered.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view but ask for room with private balcony rather than terrace- some rooms have t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Spartarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

What an wonderful and touching comment!
I am really proud to read your flattering words regarding all department of the hotel. Reading your compliments about Ambrosia Restaurant, the SPA Treatments, the room arrangement and the outdoor swimming pool is a real pleasure.
But I am glad you managed to peel off the sunbeds to visit Amorgos as we love it and wish our guest to discover its magic.
Amorgos is a very particular place, still well preserved and I 'm happy to see you appreciate its natural beauty and atmosphere.
I was very touched by your story "with" Aegialis Hotel & SPA and hope to see you again to create more souvenirs and beautiful stories...
Once again thank you for your beautiful comment,
With all our kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Couldn't have asked for anything better--beautiful rooms, spectacular views of the harbor, great food, and, best of all, very personable and friendly staff. Our hiking guide, Stavros, was excellent, and then he was there to hand out towels at the pool. We also thoroughly enjoyed the Greek music in the evening.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HikingB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Reading such comment is the only valuable reward!!
Thank you so much for your wonderful words.
It was very nice to welcome all of you and to see you discovering the natural beauty of Amorgos!
On behalf of the whole team I thank you again and hope to welcome you back in Amorgos for more hiking and Greek Night.
With all our kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Aegialis Hotel & Spa has it all. The hotel is situated on an unique location with the most fantastic sea view. The huge swimmingpool with comfortable sunbeds and many shaded places it the perfect area to relax. The view from the breakfast/ restaurant terrace is really stunning. The breakfast buffet is rich and delicious. The restaurant is serving quality food for good prices. The spa is beautiful and great for recharging your batteries. All the personel in hotel is very friendly and service minded you really feel welcome! The rooms are comfortable with great seaview. The island itself is amazing with so many lovely spots. It is easy to explore with a rental car.

Room Tip: End of August - beginning of September is a perfect time to visit. Not to busy on the island and lov...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AeginaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment.
I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated all our facilities.
It is delightful to us to read such good words regarding our high standard of services.
I would specially like to thank you for mentioning your satisfaction regarding our rooms, Ambrosia Restaurant and our staff.
Amorgos is indeed an incredible island and if you enjoyed it in September, I suggest next time you visit to come in spring when it is so colorful with flowers and a lot traditional celebrations.
We look forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The rooms are large and very comfortable, the saltwater pool is fabulous, there's a spa, and also a huge, very comfy sitting area with overstuffed chairs and a small library of books you can borrow. There's an excellent on-site restaurant. The only downside to this place is that it's perched way up on a hill on the other side of the bay from town - so it's a long walk to get to Aegali's sandy beach, or to do souvenir shopping in town. Plan on having a rental car or scooter if you want to stay here. The hotel can arrange transport to and from town for you, but it's just easier to have your own vehicle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aredhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Guest Relations Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment.
I'm really glad to read you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated all our facilities.
It is delightful to us to read such good words regarding our high standard of services.
Buses stopping working end of September we indeed usually recommend to rent a car or a scooter to access more easily the port (10-15mn walk) but also to discover the island.
Once again I thank you for reviewing us and recommending TripAdvisor surfers to come over to Aegialis Hotel & Spa.
We look forward to welcome you back to Amorgos.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We just loved everything about this hotel. Our comfortable, clean room with views to die for. Our bed was the most comfortable bed we'd slept on whilst on our travels. The breakfast was a very nice buffet style and dinners we had at the restaurant there were delicious...very reasonably priced too. The pool area was gorgeous and we were looked after well by all staff at the hotel. Such a great place to wind down and totally relax. Amorgos is a beautiful island and we would love to return one day and stay at this hotel. Thank you to Irene and staff for there warmth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livvy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Guest Relations Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words.
It is a true pleasure to read you had a memorable moment with us!
I am very pleased to see you enjoyed all facilities and services we offer and would specially like to thank you for mentioning your satisfaction regarding our rooms, Ambrosia Restaurant and our staff.
Amorgos is indeed a beautiful island and I suggest next time you visit to come in spring when it is so colourfull with flowers and a lot of celebrations.
We look forward welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have just spent a week here on a yoga retreat. The hotel is fabulous and the setting is stunning. Irene and her amazing team are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The staff in the Spa are also fabulous and the treatments leave you feeling thoroughly pampered! I will be returning next year for another week of bliss thankyou x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiew287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Guest Relations Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for this splendid feedback.
As I was saying to Claire it was a great pleasure to welcome all of you...
We do our utmost to please our guests and read such a review is the best reward.
I'll share your kind words with the whole team and we all look forward to welcome you next year.
All our best regards from beautiful Amorgos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegiali
0.8 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
301 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
96 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#5 of 12 in Amorgos
54 reviews
8.4 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#11 of 12 in Amorgos
9 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lakki Village
Lakki Village
#5 of 8 in Aegiali
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegialis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegialis Hotel & Spa

Address: Aegiali 84008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Aegiali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aegiali
Price Range: $125 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aegialis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegialis Hotel & Spa just received the Certificate of Excellence 2014! Located on the hillside of the Aegiali golf, with spectacular views of the Aegean sea, it offers to its guests more than just a stay to remember. With the personal attention of the Giannakopoulos family, the friendly personnel, and versatile services, you will definitely enjoy the Amorgian hospitality.The complex of Aegialis hotel and spa is spread in 20.000 Sqm with six buildings placed in such a way to offer the best possible view to the sea from each point. All three types of rooms and suites, fifty five in total, are available all year around in order to satisfy all expectations of its guests.The "Ambrosia Gallery Restaurant" is an addition to the Aegialis hotel and spa experience with a vast variety of Greek & International dishes. The "Wet Cafe" bar an oasis of refreshes and great fun by the Olympic size swimming pool. The Aegialis hotel & spa takes the stay at a higher level, adding to its guests experience a new complex dedicated to health and beauty, the "Lalon Idor". Located at a uniquely energetic spot, the guests feel the tranquility of the environment growing within them from the first minute. Designed to revitalize the mind and rejuvenate the body, equipped with state of the art equipment and highly specialized personnel, the "Lalon Idor" offers a great variety of services on the field of aesthetics, body treatments and hair dressing. On the 600sqm space of the spa facilities one can also use an indoor swimming pool with sea water, a steam room, a sauna, and a fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aegialis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegialis Hotel Amorgos
Aegialis Hotel & Spa Amorgos/Aegiali, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing