We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vigla Hotel(Tholaria)
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Minoa(Katapola)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Aeolos Hotel(Koufonissi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koufonisia Hotel(Koufonissi)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
480
115
48
26
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
115
48
26
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatsea waterpool areathe ownerbeautiful islandcooking classbreathtaking viewsrestaurant staffrooms are comfortablehair salonexclusive roompizza restauranthotel offersamazing hotelslice of paradisehotel is situatedfully equipped gym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 698 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were delighted to be back at this outstanding hotel. The wonderful warm welcome when you arrive after a long journey and they way they make you feel really special is great. It is a beautiful hotel in a superb location and it seems to get better and better - even in these hard economic times. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully furnished; beautiful original pieces of art work can be seen throughout the hotel. The breakfast must be about the best you will find in any hotel in Greece and of course the view while you are eating it cannot be beaten. The swimming pool is quiet and very attractive with good service from the pool bar. The pool water is filtered sea water which I think is much better for swimming than fresh water. The grounds are very well kept and attractive. We also very much enjoyed the Greek music and dancing night whilst eating traditional Greek cuisine, prepared from fresh organic ingredients in the hotel's own Ambrosia restaurant.

We have not used the spa but it gets good reports from other guests we have talked to. A group of yoga enthusiasts were receiving tuition there during our stay and a large group of young dancers arrived as we were leaving. It is clear that the hotel and spa are becoming a centre for the arts and culture in the islands.

It's hard to say what is the best feature of this hotel as it is all so great but we really appreciate the service and the way the family make us feel like old friends. This year's stay was one of the best and we can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

I am extremely thankful to you for this wonderful feedback but also to read you enjoyed your stay with us once again!
Indeed we genuinely love to pamper our guests; we provide all our services from the heart and I am glad to hear that you have felt so.
We were very happy to welcome you back, as it proves we managed to share our passion for Amorgos with you. We wish our guests to feel the magic of the island, its traditions, its culture, its gastronomy and I can see you do.
It is true that we lately become a center for the arts & culture as we also organize every year an International Convention on Tourism and Culture, Yperia. We believe Amorgos to be a perfect spot for inspiration, maybe you could join one of the group next time.
We look forward to welcome you back and enjoy some more musical and dancing Greek nights.
With our kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have been enjoying hospitality at Aegialis hotel for almost a week now and we couldn't be more pleased with the attending and most friendly staff, the excellent food served at Amvrosia Gallery Restaurant, the spa facilities and of course the ''Namaste'' room for our yoga sessions. It's the perfect spot for a yogic holiday, I highly recommend it for this type of vacation and I can't wait to come back again this summer with another yoga group.
Most thankful for this magnificent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voula Ayama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Voula,
What a magnificent experience for us two! We are very happy the retreat went so well and can't wait for the next one in september.
When we created and designed the "Namaste" room facing the Aegean Sea, we wanted it to be a source of inspiration and relaxation.. I guess it is a success! The ''Namaste'' room was just waiting for you.
We are very thankful for your nice words but also for pointing out the hospitality and professionalism of the staff, the excellent food served at Ambrosia Gallery Restaurant, and the quality of the spa facilities.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in september,
With all our kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were charged a full days price after getting in at 4am even though we called ahead to make sure this wouldn't happen. The food was terrible and overpriced as well. They are not accommodating and will charge you for a 2 minute ride to town which is a hard uphill walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sitraeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment following your stay with us as every guest impression is valuable.
I have review in detail your booking with my colleagues trying to better understand the incident.
As in any other hotel in any country to check in immediately when you arrive late at night your reservation has to be made from the previous date. Your booking was for a 2 night stay and so including your arrival night. If you meant a 2 night stay without the arrival night your check-in would have been done after 14.00 as mentioned in our policy.
I'm truly sorry for this misunderstanding and wish we could have talk about it directly during your stay.
Regarding our restaurant, as you can read on some other reviews, most of our products are organic and from local production. Ambrosia Restaurant is certified by "Aegean Cuisine", an organization that recognizes the firms that demonstrate the rich culinary tradition of the Aegean and offer local products at a quality level as well as by the initiative "Greek Breakfast".
You also mention the fact that the ride to the port (10min by feet walking down and along the sea - 15min up) is charged. As it is a private transfer and not a shuttle service we can not indeed make it free for each guest.
Once again I regret we didn't have the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised while you were here, therefore I hope you'll keep a good souvenir of your stay in Amorgos.
We wish to have the chance to prove differently in a future stay.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

After more than year I decided to go back to Amorgos and especially Aegialis Hotel & Spa since I had such a great time there in winter.
June is absolutely perfect to visit the island, quiet, great weather (swimming every day), beautiful sunsets and a very warm welcome from all the locals.
As so many other comments point it out, Aegialis Hotel & Spa is a real 4 stars hotel! High quality of services, an incredible staff always there for you, a luxurious Spa with professional treatments and for a very reasonable price, but also a very good restaurant.
From AMBROSIA RESTAURANT you'll first be amazed by the view on all the bay of Aegiali and the port. But then when you start tasting the food....! It's just perfect: Traditional Aegean Cuisine with local and organic products, typical dishes from Amorgos and what a wonderful cheese "myzithra" ... It just makes you want to try the whole menu!!
So once again, Aegialis Hotel & Spa surprised me, and I'm looking forward to come back there as soon as possible (and to enjoy again they delicious restaurant).
Sad to leave, but happy to think there'll be a next time again...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Maud,
It was such a nice surprise to welcome you back and in summer this time!
Thank you again for your beautiful comment on TripAdvisor and also for pointing out our restaurant Ambrosia.
We wish our guests to discover Amorgos beauty but also its gastronomy. It is then extremely satisfying to see you enjoyed the traditional local food and products. Indeed as you wrote we do our best to provide the best quality of food by using organic vegetables from our garden, local meat, homemade bred, cheese, oil, marmelades, cakes or even psimeni raki. Next time, if you can come back in september or november you could join us to pick the grapes or olives...
We really look forward to welcome you back,
With our kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Aegialis in October. Beginning with our late night arrival - we were warmly greeted at 2 am! - through each mouth-watering breakfast and our festive last dinner, we were treated like royalty. The staff was so wonderful, helping us learn about this gorgeous island.
The spa is world class, with all services you would expect - and stunning views. Both the spa and hotel are immaculate and beautifully furnished.
Amorgos has all the charm and character of the Greek Islands. Cute towns and beaches - one view better than the last. The Monastery is a must visit.
Evenings looking out over the water from the balcony of the hotel are a lifetime memory.
I hope to return to enjoy Aegialis again, to soak in the beauty and most of all to see Irini and her wonderful family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljb_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Manager at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Leslie,

Thank you so much for your comment and what a comment!!!!
I'm truly very happy to read we manage to satisfy you so well and you felt so well received by the whole team.
It is also extremely satisfying to see people enjoying the island as much as we do and to share our passion for our little paradise. October is indeed a wonderful time to visit, and last october was absolutely perfect; ideal to enjoy the calm, the beauty and the traditions of Amorgos.
We hope to welcome back soon,
With all the greetings from Mrs Irene and my best regards from Amorgos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews