We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vigla Hotel(Tholaria)
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$100
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Minoa(Katapola)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aeolos Hotel(Koufonissi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koufonisia Hotel(Koufonissi)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
480
115
48
26
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
115
48
26
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatsea waterpool areathe ownerbeautiful islandcooking classbreathtaking viewsrestaurant staffrooms are comfortablehair salonexclusive roompizza restauranthotel offersamazing hotelslice of paradisehotel is situatedfully equipped gym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 698 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Aegialis Hotel as part of a month long trip during which we stayed at nine separate hotels in Greece and Turkey. This hotel, unfortunately, is the only one which I feel I must rate at three stars for the quality of our stay, primarily because the experience provided there was very inconsistent.

As other reviewers have stated, the view is outstanding from this hotel, whether it be for viewing the sea below, the spectacular sunsets or the surrounding countryside. We enjoyed having a private balcony from which to view these scenes.

We loved the spa and the attendants there. I enjoyed a treatment which was expertly provided.
The driver who picked us up and returned us to the ferry was careful and experienced. Our luggage was delivered to/ picked up from our rooms promptly and with care. The gardens around the hotel are lovely and well cared for.

Now for the "buts". The breakfast was only satisfactory. Evening meals were provided with our stay. The starters were satisfactory too, but the main meal was often unsatisfactory. (I couldnt quite put my finger on what the problem was. Were there too few staff to handle the number of guests? Was the chef given too small a budget from which to prepare the meals?) Front desk service was competent but very reserved. Some parts of our bathroom needed some serious scrubbing.

Overall, we just didn't feel completely comfortable in this hotel. The staff seem to making an effort to extend hospitality, but for some reason, it doesn't come together in the way the owner is hoping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveling_liz_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience on your stay at Aegialis Hotel & Spa.
I am sorry to read you were not satisfied. Our aim and passion is to indulge each and every guest.

I'm though very surprise about your comment regarding the restaurant. Most of the products are local and from our organic garden. It would be quite helpful if you could specify for instance about the breakfast. While providing fresh orange juice, a great variety of fruits and close attention from the waiters staff, all sweet and pies are handmade from scratch every day as well as the bread; it would be very important for us to know what we have missed.
As the manager, I can assure that the Chef's only criteria while deciding a meal entry is the guest's desire and not the limited budget.

On the other hand, I'm glad you were fully satisfied by Lalon Idor Spa and would like to thank you for mentioning the quality of services and the professionalism of our staff.

Please rest assured we took the appropriate measures to address your concerns to the relevant departments and your comments are very much appreciated.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to offering you our high level of service when you next visit Amorgos,
I look forward to welcoming you back ,

With my best regards,

Stamatis Giannakopoulos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very nice hotel on top of the mountain with the view toward the see. Near the hotel small beach with nice bar. The port is near the hotel, but most ship arrive at the other port at the opposite site of the island. Be aware of that. Trip from port-hotel and vice versa are extra EUR 10, all other hotel visited in greece made this service for free as part of your journey. If you want to relax is the right place. You need scooter or car to visit the island. The island part around Aegialis is the most beautiful one.

Room Tip: First floor definitively.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience of Aegialis Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the peacefulness of the place.

Aegialis hotel and spa, as a curtecy to it's guest, provides complimentary the transfer from Aegiali port to the hotel and vice versa. As for the transfer from Katapola port to Aegiali, since the total distance is 44km (22km each way), there is a small cost of 10€ for the transfer service.
Aegiali port, has if not more, the same arrivals of the ferries as half days of the week the boat departs in Katapola and half in Aegiali. In addition to the big "Blue Star" ferries, Aegiali has Skopelitis, Artemis, Aqua Spirit and Sea Jewel, giving the option to the guest to schedule its arrival and departure plans accordingly.

We are glad to see that the rest of your experience was satisfactory and if you're planning of coming back we will be more than happy to assist you with any information regarding your arrival in Amorgos and Aegiali port.

We look forward to your next stay with us,
With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been using the Hotel Aegialis for 8 years now as a base for my small exclusive walking holidays. Each year that we stay there is better than the last. The location is stunning, overlooking Aegiali Bay and the islet of Nikouria, the rooms are light and spacious, with the most comfortable mattresses in Greece! Good food with an interesting wine list too. The spa offers a luxurious treat following a day of hiking the rocky paths of this beautiful island, with a selection of treatments or just as a place to retreat and relax. Most impressive is the enthusiastic and warm welcome of the Aegialis "family" - both real and adopted.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for your trust though all these years and for your nice words.
We are truly greatful to you and happy to hear that our genuine passion for our guests is palpable as you have mentioned almost all the departments at Aegialis Hotel & SPA.
We do our utmost to meet our guests expectations and to improve our services and your comment is an encouragement for the whole team.
The island is very quiet now and the weather perfect for hiking,
We look forward to welcome you back soon for your next holidays,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My family stayed at Aegialis hotel this summer and everyone had a great time and the service was really excellent. Our family included both elderly and young teenagers and the whole set up of the hotel really accommodates both very well - everyone was happy! The family that run the hotel are very helpful and everyone loved the pool, the spa with great massages and the restaurant.... and the view and setting are really lovely. Aegialis hotel really provides all the services and amenities that you need!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamsyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

I'm so glad to read you had such a nice stay with us. Everyday we dedicate ourselves to deliver our guests the higher standards of service. I am happy we achieved to offer you this "excellent" level of service. My team was grateful to your positive feedback.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
With my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have now stayed at Aegialis 5 times and the hotel is still our favourite and totally superb!! The staff are lovely and it is all so well organised yet relaxing The island and location are truly beautiful but it is the family who run it and the hotel's atmosphere that make it really special.

They all work so hard but it is really much appreciated by those of us who come to relax there.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher for a better view, lower for less climbing! Splash out on the Superior rooms. Worth the extra.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Five times in Aegialis Hotel & Spa and still so much enthusiasm... What else should we ask !!
I am truly grateful for your extremely positive feedback.
We do our utmost to enchant our guests and I am glad to hear that we do achieve our aim.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you in Amorgos and we hope next time you'll be able to stay some more.

Very kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews