We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aegiali
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved every minute!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Amazing! Staff were very friendly, warm welcome, helpful, at reception, in the restaurant, at the pool, and the spa. Beautiful location, we walked to the beaches and swam every day, the pool was also lovely with plenty of room in the pool area. The restaurant was excellent, the salads were soo fresh and delicious with large helpings and not expensive. We were very happy with our room, the view from the balcony was awesome, and I found the little clothesline really useful. We would return anytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. Thank you very much for your compliments which are really appreciated by all our staff and management team! We are also pleased to hear great feedback concerning Ambrosia Restaurant - indeed we mostly use local products and vegetables from our organic garden.

We do hope you will return again soon and perhaps stay for a little longer to experience more of what Amorgos has to offer.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    95
    39
    26
    27
See reviews for
113
262
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful! The Spa was wonderful. Should have stayed longer....views to rival any I have seen. Friendly and super helpful staff! Rooms, meals, beauty treatments, all wonderful. Transport arranged effortlessly. I will be back

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agafonoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
I really thank you for your feedback! Kind words such as your always serve as an encouragment to keep on providing a high standard of services. I am truly glad to hear that you have had a wonderful with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aegialis Hotel & Spa.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

You couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay.
Views, nice food, nice staff and fantastic pool.
Pleasant waking distance into the port (on the way down at least).
Interesting island to drive around.
Of course, Be aware of goats on road and bring your own power adapter.
Yes, I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
It's a real pleasure to read such nice words and to see you did enjoy your stay at Aegialis Hotel & Spa.
I see even our famous goats came to welcome you...
I hope you're fine and the way back to normal life was not too difficult.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Amorgos ,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Aegialis Hotel was absolutely amazing. Lovely and warm reception by staff (even at 3am when our ferry finally arrived) and we were greeted with a welcome drink and food upon our arrival. The spa is total paradise and is fantastic value for money. The staff at the spa were friendly and attentive. The location was stunning overlooking the beach and port and the pool area was gorgeous. Breakfast was of a great quality and so were the poolside bar and pizza restaurant. Would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am extremely thankful for your laudatory words regarding our high level of services on each and every department of Aegialis Hotel & Spa.
You have interacted with all of us and I am truly glad to hear that we have fulfilled all of your expectations. Our aim is to indulge all of our guests and I can tell that we have reached our aim.
Thank you so much for letting TripAdisor surfers know about your impressions.

We look forward to your stay when you next visit Amorgos.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here last summer for my honeymoon. We booked it based on the reviews on tripadvisor and pictures, and I was really excited that we are going there. It was a bit pricey but it was our honeymoon and we wanted something special. Although at first it looked amazing it was a disappointment in the end.
We arrived late at night, everything looked great and we were very pleased.
Great location on the hill overlooking Aegialis, pleasant welcome by the staff, clean, freshly refurbished reception with LED lighting.We were given the welcome drinks which we had on the hotel restaurant terrace with amazing views of the swimming pool with the bar and further over the whole Aegialis bay.
Our room was the same and had a stunning view over the bay. Room was obviously designed to wow, but...The bathroom had a colour changing lights around the mirror and the TV,but TV wasn't working and there was no bath only a tiny shower and there were limited toiletries provided which were never replaced. There was a mini bar with one bottle of water only which was again never replaced. We couldn't close the safe and had to mention that to the reception several times until safe was finally fixed.
Buffet breakfast had a lot of options but everything was somehow low in quality. For example there was no real orange or apple juice but some poor watery mixture instead. Milk and coffee tasted watery as well, etc.
After breakfast we went to the pool for which we were told it's filled with sea water. Maybe, but there was also a great deal of chemicals as my eyes were stinging so much I couldn't open them 10 minutes after leaving the pool and I do keep my eyes always open when diving in the sea without any problems. The toilets by the pool looked dirty and smelled. Staff at the pool on the other hand was really great and very friendly, so we decided to forget about it and go to the beach instead.
There are 4 beaches in walk-able distances if you don't mind climbing the hills, and all of them are great. The first beach is the main beach, and it's mainly populated by young 'travelers', but they are all sleeping (some of them on the beach) until late in the afternoon so the beach is a bit quieter in the morning. The good point is that you are close to restaurants and shops in the town.The beach closest to the hotel is nice and it has a little beach-hut restaurant where you can have some nice simple Greek dishes and enjoy the view. If you wish more quiet place just behind the hill there is a similar beach without anything on it, but twice a day boat excursions would bring people for two hour stays. If you really want to escape into the wild there is a beach behind the next hill and there is hardly anyone ever there.
All in all great setting, not so great hotel. It looked to me like the management is pretending rather than trying to be an exclusive place. Price, setting and the views are the only exclusive thing about it. I wouldn't recommended to a friend and I don't think I would ever stay there unless they start doing things properly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jovana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we read them with attention and took them into consideration. Although we prefer to take care any incidents while the guests are still at the hotel, rather than reasoning through correspondence, I wish to explain a few things.
Concerning the bathroom. The lighting is in such a way designed so the practical and the artistic side of the architecture is combined. The main lights are the energy saving lamps, which as soon as you open them they have a light pink colour and after a few seconds, as soon as they warm up they become bright white. That why it seemed like changing lights. In addition to the the main light, an independent blue light is placed in a stripe behind the mirror, which serves the purpose of a night light, and turns a common mirror in to one with character. The bath is not a standard feature of our rooms and is well specified at our site. The size of the shower is 70cmX90cm. It is not a huge shower cabin, but neither a tiny one. Regarding the toiletries the items provided are: Shampoo, soap bar, shower cup, hygiene set and a sewing set. It is possible that some used were not replaced, but the stuff would be more than happy to respond immediately to a call of yours. About the mini-bar, I would like to precise it is not a mini-bar but a fridge. We do put a bottle of water, which we don’t charge, as a courtesy, just so the guest doesn’t have to look around in the middle of his first night.

Regarding the breakfast, we redesigned what was to be offered. Fresh orange juice, freshly squeezed by the guest himself is a standard. All pastries, pies are homemade and most of the raw matterial are from the island ensuring top quality and organic food.

About the swimming pool, we are proud to say that it is filled with sea, providing the guest the values of the sea water, and not wasting the precious reserves of drinking water. As all swimming pools, it needs to be treated with chemicals in order to ensure hygiene to the guest. The difference between a sweet water and a sea water pool is that the second one need a lot less chemicals. The incident with stinging eyes is not common, however it is possible to happen on that time of the day when the disinfectants are more present.
As an advice of a hotelier to a guest I would suggest that when some issues arise, inform the reception desk immediately or someone else in charge, as a lot of all the above matters could have been fixed, making the stay more pleasurable.
Apart from all the above, we would like to assure that all the personnel, including the management is dedicated to provide the best services to its guest, providing in many cases 5 star services at a 3 star hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The best hospitality! Very good quality comparing to the price. Irene and her family knows exactly what you want and what you need.
The food is excellent and the vegetables come directly from their land.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioMartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Giorgio,

Thank you so much for your complimentary and nice words !
It's always a pleasure to welcome you...
I also thank you for pointing out your satisfaction regarding the food served in our restaurant and our organic products.
Looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We got a recommendation from Naxos for this hotel. We were not disappointed.
Fantastic Island Amorgos and the staff at the hotel was part of it. Helpful with great ideas. Travelling with two smaller children they helped us with adventures.

The stay at the hotel and spa was very nice. We stayed in the family suite and had a great view over the sea.

We will go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaSthSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StamatisAegialis, Directeur général at Aegialis Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am truly glad that we have made your stay so relaxing at Aegialis Hotel & Spa.
Indeed our daily main concern is to have satisfied guests who can rely on us to spend the warmest and most enjoyable experience. I am truly pleased to hear that we have achieved our aim!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegiali
0.8 mi away
Vigla Hotel
Vigla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tholaria
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
82 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#10 of 12 in Amorgos
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#7 of 12 in Amorgos
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lakki Village
Lakki Village
#5 of 8 in Aegiali
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegialis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegialis Hotel & Spa

Property: Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Address: Aegiali 84008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Aegiali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aegiali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aegialis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegialis Hotel & Spa just received the Certificate of Excellence 2014! Located on the hillside of the Aegiali golf, with spectacular views of the Aegean sea, it offers to its guests more than just a stay to remember. With the personal attention of the Giannakopoulos family, the friendly personnel, and versatile services, you will definitely enjoy the Amorgian hospitality.The complex of Aegialis hotel and spa is spread in 20.000 Sqm with six buildings placed in such a way to offer the best possible view to the sea from each point. All three types of rooms and suites, fifty five in total, are available all year around in order to satisfy all expectations of its guests.The "Ambrosia Gallery Restaurant" is an addition to the Aegialis hotel and spa experience with a vast variety of Greek & International dishes. The "Wet Cafe" bar an oasis of refreshes and great fun by the Olympic size swimming pool. The Aegialis hotel & spa takes the stay at a higher level, adding to its guests experience a new complex dedicated to health and beauty, the "Lalon Idor". Located at a uniquely energetic spot, the guests feel the tranquility of the environment growing within them from the first minute. Designed to revitalize the mind and rejuvenate the body, equipped with state of the art equipment and highly specialized personnel, the "Lalon Idor" offers a great variety of services on the field of aesthetics, body treatments and hair dressing. On the 600sqm space of the spa facilities one can also use an indoor swimming pool with sea water, a steam room, a sauna, and a fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Aegialis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegialis Hotel Amorgos
Aegialis Hotel & Spa Amorgos/Aegiali, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing