We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It used to be excellent!...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravintola Matala - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ravintola Matala
Cuisines: Pizza, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It used to be excellent!...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

...but something was lost in the recent renovation. Food is poor and the the service is slighly weird. I hope the place will reshape itself.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    26
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sipoo, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Open late, good food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The kitchen is really open until 2 am every night, also Sunday-Monday night. The food is typical finnish including some pizzas. Very home-like atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PassiTappio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, OK service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice restaurant in Helsinki. Recently renovatd and it looks great!
Our waiter seemed slightly bored and like she wanted to get rid of us. In general though she did what was excpected and nothing more.
The food was good, but nothing great, and tasted a bit bland. Just a little more taste and I would have given 4 stars.
Price was good, nothing too expensive. I might come back here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobReh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Trendy, great food, long hours, must book”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

as strict vegetarians it was nice to find a good restaurant with good options in this part of the world. the Goat cheese salad is to die for, and quite big. the chilli grilled tofu with rice is also very good.

over all the atmosphere of the restaurant is fantastic, and the pizzas look and smell great.

prices are good and we had very good service.

the only down side is the people at the entrance that 'force' you to leave your coat behind and charge you for it. Not only he was rude, I had to get back to get my jacket as I was cold.

has a good bar too...

with two drinks and two dishes we spent 50Euros.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliciacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Pizzas in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

For a country in love with Pizza and where this weekly staple is one of the biggest bargains to be had in an expensive country, this quality restaurant housed in an old Jugend style building does not disappoint. the pizzas are massive, very reasonably priced and use quality ingredients. Why not try some reindeer ;-) Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dansdreamworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ravintola Matala also viewed

Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
 
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing