We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of many good pizza places in Oulu city center”
Review of Da Max

Da Max
Ranked #42 of 159 Restaurants in Oulu
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Turkish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of many good pizza places in Oulu city center”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is the nearest "känkkylä" for me so i visit this place almost weekly, and i have done so for many years. The quality of pizza depends a lot from when do you order it. When its between 10 pm and 4 am you will most likely get a bad pizza - in Oulu standards. Even then it will be better that any pizza from Helsinki, Turku, Tampere or other major cities.

This is one of the first places that started serving mayonese-pizzas and that`s the thing that makes pizzas in Oulu unique. Go here on day time and try the mayo-pizza, you won`t be disapointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikkoMm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Classic place for night pizza”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

To get a true Finnish experience, go here at 3 to 4 am, order and eat pizza. You can tell stories about that to your friends, children adn grand-children and wonder how on Earth Finns are on the top of global education, knowledge and learning rankings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza joint in OULU!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Best pizza in town!! Great pizzas, big sizes and great service! Def recommend :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellaa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Centrally located. Huge tasty servings including side salad if you could fit it in! Great find

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“My favorite Pizza in Finland, and great price, kebabs plates also tasty”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I hit this pizza joint every trip to Oulu Finland. This is my favorite Pizza in all of Finland and in my top 10 of the world. And If you know me then, you know I appreciate good food.

They use real handmade dough, add to that the tasty sauce options.
They have the regular red sauce with salami (like a pepperoni pizza).
But you must try the Kebab pizzas. My favorite is the Talon erikoinen (kebab, blue cheese, pineapple with light curry mayo sauce...ohh yeah). And it is like 6 euros, which is very affordable for downtown Oulu.
My other favorite is the Special Kebab plate. A huge plate of kebab meat with fries, bread, salad and sauce, can feed two people.
They also sell smaller wrapped kebabs to go (like gyros).
They also have big coke bottles for cheap money. And also sell beer for reasonable prices.

It is accross the street from Jumpru so it can get busy after midnight. Worth the wait the food here is fantastic.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ciscokid1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Max also viewed

Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
 
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
Oulu, Northern Ostrobothnia
 

Been to Da Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing