We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers choice in Oulu”
Review of Scandic Oulu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Oulu
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Travellers choice in Oulu”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

During lately I have visited Oulu a couple of times. This time I decided to test Scandic and I was very satisfied. Parking area is very comfortably located, the only negative point is that you have to pay beforehand with your creditcard, thats what I hate. The reception and restaurant are very modern and well located, like the hotel itself. Rooms are clean and large enough, you can see that the hotel is not very old. After this visit a do have a Scandic loyal customer card, thanks to the man in reception, it was done in a very professional way.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammi K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Oulu, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Golfaten

Thank you for sharing your experience! Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are now a member of Scandic Friends.

Have a great summer and welcome again!

Best regards

Tammi Karjalainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    296
    60
    16
    3
See reviews for
130
147
36
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Clean, modern, decorated scandinavian style. Nothing really to complain but I still miss something to feel a bit more like home. What really was annoying in the room during the night, there was this blue light by the door which you couldn´t turn off. It reflects light to the room far too much. For a light sleeper like me it is a must to get the room completely dark. Another thing I was wondering is you can´t turn the air conditioning off! We are in Finland and it is still winter and the room was too cold. You really don´t need air conditioning in Finland - probably sometimes in summer when it is really hot (that´s quite exceptional though). It was too cold everywhere in the hotel, because of the air conditioning.
Breakfast was quite standard. But I was missing fresh berries with yoghurt and porridge. There were only different ready-made jams full of sugar and with minimum berries. Fortunately they serve fresh fruits. But the vegetables (cucumber and tomatoes) were not eatable. Cucumbers looked like smashed and tomatoes were raw.
Dinner in the restaurant was average and not so cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammi K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Oulu, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello Jelbrew

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you in Scandic Oulu again.
Have a great summer and welcome again!

Best regards

Tammi Karjalainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Modern Scandinavian hotel with friendly staff and clean functional rooms, although somewhat sterile design. The hotel has a good basic gym and a Finnish sauna, but no swimming pool, which is a pity. The breakfast buffet is of standard quality, which could be easily improved with introduction of some regional/local products. Location wise, the hotel leaves nothing to be desired, it is as central as you can get, minimizing the time you have to exposed to elements in the city known for its hostile climate for 6 months in any given year.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammi K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Oulu, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello Kalle

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience!

We wish you have a great summer and hope to see you soon again in Scandic Oulu!

Best regards

Tammi Karjalainen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good location in city centre, just next to a large cinema. It's modern and the rooms are okay. Overall the hotel is okay. We had an early breakfast and it was not the best I've had but for that time in the morning it was okay as well.
The gym is well equipped compared to most hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammi K, Duty Manager / Front Office at Scandic Oulu, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Morsva,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and your kind review.
Have a nice spring and we hope to see you again as our guest.

Best regards,

Sanna Tikkanen
Duty Manager / Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Central location. Very nice hotel. Lobby cosy and spacious. Nice rooms. Breakfast excellent with a variety of choices. Car parking in a parking hall, not free though. I would recommend this hotel. I have stayed there several times and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammi K, Duty Manager at Scandic Oulu, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review! Nice to hear that you have always enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Welcome again!

Best regards,

Sanna Tikkanen
Duty Manager / Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Very modern, clean hotel. Nice sized twin room, basically furnished and not too cluttered. Bath room was a huge wet room, but faint odour of something, not sure what, but again it was spotlessly clean. Minibar was simple, could have done with a few more soft drinks.

I used room service on both nights however there was no menu in the room so had to go to reception to order. The staff were extremely helpful and all spoke perfect English. I found the food a tad expensive for what it was but was nice all the same. Breakfast was a buffet style with most tastes catered for.

All in all a pleasant stay in a clean well run hotel with excellent staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jc30168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammi K, Duty Manager at Scandic Oulu, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear JC,

Thank you for your feedback!
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We do not have menus in the rooms but we have added a list of Scandic Classics with QR code to all our rooms. With the code you can see our menu directly from our website.
Unfortunately this was not available during your stay since we added this function in the end of February.

Thank you for staying in our hotel and I hope we will see you again!

Best regards,

Sanna Tikkanen
Duty Manager / Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandelbachtal, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of the town next to a pedestrian area. The rooms were spacious and clean the personnel quite friendly with no problems in communicating in English. Restaurant an d bar was quite good.
I liked that there was were restaurants and bars right in the neighborhood of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lothar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammi K, Front Office Manager at Scandic Oulu, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hi Lothar

Thank you for sharing your experience! It was very nice to hear that your stay went well, the room was clean, the staff was friendly and the restaurant and bar was good. Our hotel has a great location in central Oulu. The hotel makes a perfect base for exploring Oulu attractions, such as theaters, museums, the Botanic Garden and Science Centre Tietomaa. And as you said we are next to the pedestrian area where the Oulu's shopping streets and restaurants are located. Thank you for your feedback and welcome again to Scandic Oulu!

Best regards
Tammi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
0.4 mi away
Lapland Hotel Oulu
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Arina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Apollo
1.9 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Eden
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Oulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Oulu

Property: Scandic Oulu
Address: Saaristonkatu 4, Oulu 90100, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Oulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Oulu 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Oulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Oulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing