We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average, nice location, sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Break Sokos Hotel Eden
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night in a superior room with sea view. Free and consistent wi-fi. Room very nice, some amenities, good air conditioning for Finland (it was hot outside). Breakfast better than average, including fresh waffle station and fresh pineapples. Good rolls at breakfast. Juices better than average Sokos hotel standard. Spa is free to use, didn't use it. Ate at the outdoor terrace restaurant, mainly burgers and pizzas, good pricing, nice side view to the beach. Parking was free of charge. I would recommend this hotel for Oulu visitors, although it caters mainly to families with small children.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended, very nice. Only superior rooms have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank henri_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your nice review. It´s always great to hear when our customers have had a pleasant stay and that our hotel has met their expectations.

I welcome you again as our guest when next time returning to Oulu!

With kindest regards,

Jaana Järvinen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Especially in summertime, this hotel is in great place. There is biggest northern beatch in 100m from hotel. From hotel to city, its only 2-3km travel. There is many kind of things to do nearby. Minigolf, swimming, surfing, beach volleyball, beatch football, childrens very good playgrounds and climbing net, speedpark for children (many kind of activities) good routes for walking and fireplaces for grilling etc... Beautiful views from hotel and of course great spa in hotel. Easy to recommend for everyone. Not so really near to airport, but under half an hour from there by car.

Room Tip: beautiful views from seaside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarppaliini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that everything has been going well and you have enjoyed your stay with us. Warmly welcome to stay with us again.

With kind regards,

Jaana Järvinen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

As I sat in the hotel's spa bench, I realized that nothing had changed since the 80`s. When I heard that the basic rooms do not have air conditioning yet, I feel sorry for Guests there. However, it is our superior room with air conditioning not working properly. And the toilet was leaking. The repairman came to see the situation and found that it was not quickly resolved. Correction had to be moved to the next day due to working hours.

Hotels in need of reform. Public spaces are still working, but hopelessly out of date. Modes surfaces are completely worn out in some places and technology ... maybe in pain sweating receptionists telling enough. Our hotel room was superior, but it said just one of the newer hotel very basic rooms. Our room was on the floor about the massive scratches square meters area. View of the sea was very narrow, on the shore in between the trees.

I give 'em Five in the surroundings, the hotel is located on the most beautiful beach in Oulu (Nallikari). In addition, the restaurants, the food was always fresh. The criticism that the breakfast was not enough seating space. The hotel staff seemed to be the cleaners with the exception of a very hectic. The staff even snapped to each other, in consultation with our customers.

I do not really recommend it, however, with children the hotel has everything you need. For me, the whole was disappointing. Two and a half stars.

Room Tip: During the summer season only superior because it has air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ZorroF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for writing your review about Break Sokos Hotel Eden. We value all the reviews as they help us to improve our hotel.
I am very sorry to hear that our hotel was not up to your standards.
I sincerely apologize for any discomfort you have experienced due to the condition of the property and rooms. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades.
I am very sorry to hear that our staff has been snapping to each other. That is not acceptable. We do have high season and it is very hectic but there is still no reason to act like our staff has acted. My apologizes!

But in spite of all the inconvenience I am pleased to hear that your children have enjoyed your stay with us.

I wish you a warm and sunny summer!

With best regards,
Jaana Järvinen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

45 beautiful walk from city. Rollerblades everywhere !

1970s feel and look. Likely fun for families (mine might have enjoyed). Average at best for business trip. Expensive cabs to city. Pleasant staff. Quite nice rooms, get ocean view. More for relaxing than working here

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is ideal place for families with kids, because they have spa, lots of arcade games etc. and then of course long beach right next to the hotel. Business wise this isn't your ideal choice, because it's outside from city centre(about 3,5km by foot and 5km with car) and taxi from airport is 40-45€. Hotel is little outdated, although they have done little "make up", but whether is elevators or bathrooms, you can see that hotel is from 80's. Bad thing was that it was hot and they didn't have air conditioning in the room, only noisy fan on the roof. Take room from seaside, so you get nice view. My room was facing parking lot, which wasn't that beautiful.

Room Tip: Take room from seaside, because from otherside is facing parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The rooms were spacious enough and the beds (excluding the extra bed) were comfortable. The spa was nice with a big pool, some smaller hot tubs, and three types of saunas. In the evening the spa was not too crowded with children, so you could actually relax. The surroundings of the hotel are great, with a nice long beach right next to it. If you're hoping to see the city more, it's a short drive, but there are also nice options closer to town. The only minor disappointment was the breakfast, only average.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time for writing your review about our hotel. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that our breakfast was a minor disappointment!

I welcome you again as our guest when next time returning to Oulu!

With kind regards,
Jaana Järvinen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel room okay but nothing special.
Spa is quite good, disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open on Saturday morning. I liked the Roman-Irisk sauna. The hot spas are not that hot.
Had a dinner buffet that was nice, so nice that I could not eat much at the breakfast buffet...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaana J, Front Office Manager at Break Sokos Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that you have been disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open on Saturday morning. Unfortunately there is only morning sauna and swimming for hotel customers every day from 8 am to 10 am. Spa opens at 10 am and then outdoor pool is open as well.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our buffet dinner but sorry to hear that because of that you could not fully enjoy our breakfast buffet!!

We hope seeing you again at Break Sokos Hotel Eden.

With kind regards,
Jaana Järvinen
Frotn Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oulu
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
1.9 mi away
Scandic Oulu
Scandic Oulu
#3 of 9 in Oulu
715 reviews
2 mi away
Lapland Hotel Oulu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lasaretti Hotel
Lasaretti Hotel
#6 of 9 in Oulu
89 reviews
2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Arina
10.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Samantta
Best Western Hotel Samantta
#1 of 1 in Haukipudas
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Eden

Address: Holstinsalmentie 29 | Nallikari, Oulu 90510, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Oulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
Price Range: $155 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break Sokos Hotel Eden is a versatile spa hotel in the seaside landscape of Nallikari, Oulu, offering fun and excitement to guests of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing