We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent business trip to Oulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent business trip to Oulu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked a business clas room for my visit to Oulu. I had heard a lot good about Radisson Blue Oulu so I decided to make my stay comfortable and book a better room. The room situated on the 7 th floor facing the market square and the river. The room was spacious and well decorated, clean and absolutely a nice surprise for a tired traveller...
The night was quiet and therefore sleep quality excellent.
The breakfast was delicious and beautifully served.
I have been to many Finnish hotels and would say this is one is one of the very best. Higly recommentable.

Room Tip: A business class room is bit expensive but certainly worth trying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millacilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Millacilla, Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write about your stay. We are so happy to hear that you had a very good stay with us. Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Oulu. Hopefully we will see you again. With best regards, Heini Salmela/Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    283
    64
    19
    4
See reviews for
97
135
33
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good location, on the edge of the square. Views of the river estuary and the city. Really tasty and abundant breakfast. The friendly staff. City of Oulu in the summer is really comfortable, safe and clean, in winter a little bit too cold climate. Oulu has been selected in 2014 as the best cycling city in the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Pekka, Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write about your stay. It was nice to get full score from you. Hopefully it means that we will meet again. With kind regards, Heini Salmela/Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrücken, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Going to Finland is not really inexpensive, thanks to a group reservation through Oulu Uni the Radisson - which seems to be the best in Oulu - was quite affordable though. In Skandinavian summer, it is important for "Southerners" to be able to darken the room at night as there is daylight all night long. In order to get down after a long day of discussions, the bathtub in the very clean and neat bathroom helped a lot. Breakfast buffet was splendid, now I know what Super Breakfeast(TM) means. Location was superb when frequenting local pubs and restaurants or going for a walk along the water or on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Wolfhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Wolfhard, Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write about your stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you were impressed with our Super Breakfast. We look forward to see you again! Have a nice autumn! With kind regards, Heini Salmela/Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I only stayed here for one night on a business trip. I didn't use the gym or sauna.

Overall this hotel was good in all respects, with a few better-than-average features and no bad ones. The location is very good, next to a park and walking distance from everything in Oulu. Parking costs €10 a night but is easy and sufficient space. The included breakfast is better than average, with a variety of dishes and everything well labeled, including fat content.

The rooms are a decent size, nothing great. Internet is average, a bit slow at times and with a few problems connecting to some services. The bathroom floor is heated - nice touch. The hotel appears well kept up.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces the park and is a little bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fe_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Eric, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write about your stay. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to see you again. Have a nice autumn! With best regards, Heini Salmela/Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here one night in December and despite the hotel doesnt bring any WOW -effect, everything is working there exactly as it should be.

+ location in the center
+ good rooms, not too small
+ everything you need is in room, and functions well
+ coffee / tea facilities
+ bathroom ok
+ clean
+ wifi works well enough

- time to renovation might come in couple of years. Had some small signs of heavy usage, but it didnt bother us at all

Good choice in Oulu. No luxury but it's always pleasure to be in hotel where everything works well!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Mokoma, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to hear that everything worked well and you had a good stay with us. Hopefully we will meet again! Have a nice autumn! With best regards, Heini Salmela/Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Hotel room was quite obsolete and cleanliness was not up sufficiency. I must say the room was almost untidy. I found socks of previous guests on the heater. The bed was set up with two overlapping linens, because one was too narrow to cover the entire bed) and in the morning the bed was just put together in an inaccurate and sloppy mode. The bathroom was by far too small, the desk in the room was ruined and spotted with circular glass marks. The water boiler in the room was ok. Unfortunately, the coffe has not been restored every morning. WiFi was almost unusable in the room. We had to use it from the bathroom. Part of the staff was close to rudeness, part of them very polite. The breakfast was good but for the first three days, cornflakes were missing (we had breakfast at 7 a.m. every morning) which is really strange in an Hotel of that level. All in all, the Hotel was not up to expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasca67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Vasca67, Thank you for your comprehensive review and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations and you had some difficulties with the internet connection. Thank you for this valuable feedback for the future. Hopefully we will see you again, and next time we can meet or exceed your expectations. Have a nice autumn! With best regards, Heini Salmela/Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vuokatti, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have been at several hotels in Finland and never, never found anyone as comfortable as Radisson Blu Hotel in Oulu! The room with its all features was the most pleasant I have experienced in Finland. The location was quiet yet central and I absolutely loved the breakfast!! I also liked the fact that even though there was plenty of people, there was enough space and it didn't feel crowded. I could enjoy really enjoy my breakfast to the fullest. I travel a lot for work and usually I am not a big fan of the chain hotels but I can't wait to get back to Radisson Blu Oulu. It was such a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Heidi, Thank you for your extremely kind review and for taking the time to write about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to see you again. Have a nice autumn! Heini Salmela/Front Office Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Oulu
Scandic Oulu
#2 of 9 in Oulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Oulu
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Arina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Eden
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Apollo
0.4 mi away
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
#7 of 9 in Oulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
Address: Hallituskatu 1, Oulu 90100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Oulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oulu
#1 Green Hotel in Oulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on banks of Oulu River in center of town, less than 1 km from bus terminal, train station, air terminal or harbor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Oulu
Oulu Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Oulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing