We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good one in the town but pricy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good one in the town but pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Old buiding and thus a bit worn out (only little). But with very good quality bed! That's what I value while traveling quickly in-and-out. Location is very good in Oulu. But aren't these hotels a bit pricy (in Oulu in general)?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinaMatkustaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. We hope seeing you again at Radisson Blu Hotel in Oulu, With kindest regards, Pasi Pollari/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    281
    62
    18
    4
See reviews for
93
133
33
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Location was great & so was the hotel. Very helpful & friendly staff, stayed in one of the superior rooms - good size room & really comfortable large bed, bathroom a liitle small for the size of the room (shower no bath) but clean & functional. Had a great view of the river, requested highter level floor & our room was located on top floor (7). Good choice at breakfast time, seperate table with gluten free items on. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOManagement, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. Im pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us. We hope seeing you again at Radisson Blu Hotel in Oulu, With kindest regards, Pasi Pollari/Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A nice hotel. Nice and friendly staff, 10 points. Room is large, beds really good and room is fresh.
Location really good, a short distance from the city center. Breakfast is good, a lot of everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We thought this was one of the nicest places we stayed in our 2 week holiday around Finland. The rooms etc were of a very high quality and the breakfasts very good, but what stood out was the friendliness of the staff. We also borrowed the hotels free bicycles a few times to explore the islands.

Room Tip: Borrow the free bicycles and get exploring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived by bus from Haparanda, Sweden. If you come in by bus from the north, like we did, look for the Radisson on your right as you come into the downtown area (you can’t miss it, it’s a big box with the Radisson sign on the side). You’ll see the spire of the cathedral and the Radisson is a few blocks north of that. Push the stop button when you see the hotel and the bus will let you off a couple of blocks from the hotel, saving you the walk from the bus station. We booked a standard room well in advance and got what I feel was a very good rate. Check-in was pleasant and efficient. The helpful clerk gave us a walking tour brochure and map of the town so we could do a bit of sightseeing in the remainder of the afternoon. The room was very nice with lots of amenities, including a hot pot for making tea, coffee or hot chocolate, extra pillows, and nice, comfortable beds. There was a large-screen TV mounted on the wall and free wifi. There was a mini-fridge with the usual high-priced drinks that we used for storing our own drinks and snacks. There was even an ice bucket and an ice machine for us Americans that like ice in our drinks (something that every American hotel has but a rarity in European hotels). The room was very clean, but the wood floor in the main part of the room is getting worn and will need to be refinished soon. We didn’t eat at the restaurant but looked at the menu and the prices seem to be on par with the restaurants elsewhere in town. Breakfast was available from 6:30 a.m. and had a very good selection of both hot and cold food. However, the “hot” food (sausages, scarmbled eggs, potatoes) apparently had been sitting out for a while and was only lukewarm. We stayed on a Monday night so the nightclub mentioned by other reviewers was not a problem. We departed by train for Helsinki. The train station is about 8 blocks away but it’s flat and easy walking.
Tip: If it’s a nice day, get the walking tour brochure from the front desk and take a walk around the islands and historic buildings. A nice way to spend an hour or so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was fine. Maybe slightly worn furnishings, but big enough and I'm not offended by the squeeze bottles attached to the walls in the bathroom.

But the nightclub below is the problem, or more precisely the clientele of the nightclub. We were on a higher floor and didn't hear any noise from the nightclub itself, but after it closed at 3:30am the party moved to the parking lot right under our room.

Staff said there was nothing they could do -- maybe call the police on behalf or your guests or, better yet, not have a nightclub in the hotel?

On-the-go breakfast was a granola bar and unripe fruit.

Room Tip: make sure you're on the side of the hotel opposite the parking lot
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor_PuttsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Hotel Oulu. I appreciate the feedback about your stay and it was upsetting to hear that the sleeping experience could have been a bit better during your stay. We do our best to accommaodate our guest as far as possible from the Night Club. To minimize the disturbance. We also do our best to improve cooperation with Dione Night Club security staff in emptying the front yard after the closing hours. I hope that otherwise you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope seeing you again in Oulu. With kind regards, Pasi Pollari/ Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

You will have problem finding Radisson Blu Hotel: it is an ugly, boxy building amidst a trip of beautiful old wooden houses. The hotel overlooks the sea and the market square, and is convenient for touring Oulu city centre.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They even offered to loan as an umbrella for walking around Oulu on a rainy day.

The room was basic and clean, but was starting to show signs of wear and tear. The furnishings and the style hadn't been updated for a few decades, I'm guessing. The verbena scented mini toiletries were fantastic. There was free Wi-Fi in the room.
The TV in the room was a bit annoying - it was supposed to be very user-friendly and technologically advanced but failed miserably. Selecting channels was slow and difficult.

The breakfast buffet was varied and good and there were even some organic and vegan options available. There were lots of sugary goods as well.

All in all, Radisson Blu is a good basic hotel and good value if you can find a good deal on the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for writing your review about Radisson Blu Oulu. Thank you for staying at our hotel and we hope seeing you again, during your next visit to Oulu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oulu hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Oulu
Scandic Oulu
#2 of 9 in Oulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lapland Hotel Oulu
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Arina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Eden
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Apollo
0.4 mi away
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
Cumulus Oulu Hotel
#8 of 9 in Oulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu
Address: Hallituskatu 1, Oulu 90100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Oulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oulu
#1 Green Hotel in Oulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on banks of Oulu River in center of town, less than 1 km from bus terminal, train station, air terminal or harbor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Oulu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Oulu
Oulu Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Oulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing