We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Lapland Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruka

Ruka
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.33*
and up
Easy Snowmobile Safari for Beginners in Ruka
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Kuusamo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lapland Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from an incredible week in Ruka staying in the Rukahovi Apartments which are basically ski in ski out if you're not averse to bumping down a little unofficial slope to get the the lift. We did a 20km husky sled ride, 50km snowmobile safari and snowmobile reindeer trip all with Ruka Safaris who were very helpful and professional. Lots of downhill skiing (we took a 5 day pass) - fantastic snow conditions and some wonderful fun off piste tree skiing. Yes it's not a huge resort, but it's well maintained and there is enough variety to keep everyone but the most die hard black-diamonders happy. Some charming little ski huts on the slopes for a quick hot chocolate and we also had a wonderful meal at Ruka Peak - very special. No northern lights - and we had varying info from the locals (some saying they couldn't remember the last time they'd seen them at Ruka, to others saying there is a 50/50 chance on a clear night). We didn't do a specific trip as the weather was mostly cloudy anyway, but we did go on a beautiful night time stroll down to the lake near the town and watched the stars which was magical. A great family resort, or a lovely romantic spot for couples.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank H0lly1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    62
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went with a holiday group ( we were 8 women & 9 children) for Christmas and stayed in a hotel not far away. A few of us caught the bus that stopped outside the hotel (cost 10 euros each way) to visit the advertised Christmas Market which we could not find! We did ask & look. It was -30. The slopes were lit & looked great, the ski lifts were working and the woman in the tourist information was extremely helpful. They are more than willing to custom fit any manner of excursions/trips/experiences. We had a ball both the huskie & reindeer experiences were family owned & run. What a difference that makes to kindness, caring and personal touches! And as for the Santa & Mrs Claus! not far away in their chalet with elves. They were everything my inner child had always known they were!. :-) Our Children loved them too. It was so cold that my camera batteries kept going flat. However all those that used their Iphones took great photos easily.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GlennOulu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

All were so close and skitrack and slopes were excellent contitions. There were nice view from the windows.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlennOulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savicity
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“High quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ruka is definitely not the highest hills even neither in Finland nor in Europe and definitely not to compare with Alp's.

BUT it has excellently finished slopes, lot of nice small or big restaurants or bars. For example legenday Wunderbar.

At it's best on dark and extremely cold Christmas time, temperatures goind down to -38 C.
Or in spring after Eastern, when there is a lot of room to ski and extreme well prepared slopes to enjoy

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JukkisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the slopes looked great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

don't ski but the slopes looked great and the skiers and snowboarders seemed to be having a fab time. The slopes were never really busy. And they're floodlit to allow for nighttime skiing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jools115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruka also viewed

Lapland, Finland
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia
 
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia
Kuusamo, Northern Ostrobothnia
 

Been to Ruka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing