We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best family holiday we have had!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Club Kuusamo Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Club Kuusamo Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kuusamo
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best family holiday we have had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at the Tropikii for one week with Activities Abroad with our eleven year old son. We did toboganning, snowmobiling, cross country skiiing, snow-shoeing, husky sledding, skiing, reinder farm etc etc. It was great fun and one of the best holidays we have ever had. The hotel facilities are good - tropical swimming pool, ten pin, sports bar, badminton.

The rooms are a bit cramped even though we supposedly had a large room for the three of us.

The hotel and activity staff were excellent and really looked after us well.

The main disappointment was the catering. The food was very average and there was a very restricted choice for the breakfast and evening buffet (when you compare it to say, a Mediterranean holiday hotel or a skiing hotel in France.)...the Finns aren't renowned for their cuisine.

The cafe doesn't open till midday so you've no way of getting any kind of hot drink when you come back from an activity at 10:30 or 11:00. And at lunchtimes the cafe is understaffed and you can wait 10 minutes in the queue.

DON'T underestimate the cold, especially when you are out on a snowmobile or sled! It was -20 degrees C all week. The company gives you a thermal suit, socks, snow boots, balaclava, mittens and mitten liners for the week. Under all this, I suggest you wear the following:
- Top half: thermal top, polo neck, fleece
- Bottom half: thermal pants, fleece tracksuit bottoms
- Hands: Thin liner/wool/cotton gloves, plus ski gloves
- Feet: Three pairs of socks!

And believe it or not....you will still get cold!

  • Liked — Range of facilities
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank berkoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2007

We took the family to Ruka Jan 2007. Stayed at Holiday club Kuusamo. Great hotel, Good meals excellent pool area. Two children (6 and 9) did ski school at ruka first time skiing, they loved it the ski school were excellent. Did snowmobiles and reindeer sleigh ride all very good experences. All in all very easy friendly holiday with good group of other families. The week went too quick.

Helpful?
6 Thank FarmerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

Timeshare RCI/Flexiclub member fm Harare, Zimbabwe

We booked the holiday club through our timeshare and having spent the last Xmas in Germany and then Austria, I wanted to make sure that we definitely had snow and there was no lack of it in Kuusamo. We have two young girls and we found the outdoor activites arranged from both the hotel and outside of the hotel fantastic. We did everything from a private trip to the Artic Circle to Santa's village, to Reindoor rides, ice fishing, night sledging, all the ski mobile trips, husky dog rides etc etc. Absolutely fantastic and all the outfits are supplied if you don't already have. The tour guide was just brilliant and not once did he clock watch and was absolutely brilliant with our two girls, all the patience in the world, nothing was too much trouble. We have been around the world and to us Finland was one of the best holidays we have ever experienced, the scenery was just like a Disney movie, Winter Wonderland. The skiing is brilliant X-ctry or down hill skiing. However, Ruka is recommended and we enjoyed many many hours just tobaganning down the slopes. We have never stopped talking about this holiday and have booked to go back for Xmas 2007. We all cannot wait. We could not fault this place and our two girls, rave about the hotel. I have to say that the beds are the best we have ever slept on. Great holiday and thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking at holidaying in Finland.

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
6 Thank Luv2travelAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

arrived late in the evening to the hotel, check in was extremly quick and we were then whisked down to the resturant for some food. hotel lobby was nice and transfer from hotel took no time at all(20-30mins tops)
ROOMS: i found the rooms to be very small with very little storage space but they were very clean and tidy but always lovely and warm! the bathroom area was a little more spacious but only had a shower which is ok but even me (who isnt really a bath person) would of loved a hot bath after a day on the slopes
FOOD: i am a very fussy eater and i wasnt very impressed with the food there was very little choice and you were never quite sure what you were eating, especially the evening meal, brealfast was a little better with more choice. the soup starters for the evening had frequently gone by the time we arrived and the desserts were non-excistent. they have another resturant downstairs that serves pizza and burgers etc and after a few nights in the buffet resturant we went down there and paid for our food, but like i say i am a bit fussy and most other people seemed to think the food was ok
SPA: the spa is good, big pool with a couple of hot tubs and a slide and massaging waterfall. i booked this hotel mainly on the basis of the spa and it didnt really justify it as we were quite bored of it after a couple of days. i didnt try any of the treatments as they were quite expensive.
TOURS: the tour centre is right next to the hotel which is very handy. we did the husky safari and snowmobile safari. they were both excellent and very good value, and all equipment is provided for you for each safari, boots gloves hats overalls etc.. the husky safari was by far my favourite, the views were excellent and the dogs a joy to be around although i must warn you it quite hard work to drive them but well well worth it, i could of done it all day. i would say its an absolute must! the snowmobile safari was also excellent my only drawbak is i personally would of liked to have gone much faster but the guide only goes as fast as the least confident member of the group which is sensiable but not as much fun as it could of been.
RUKS SLOPES: these slopes are perfect for beginners/intermediates as they are very very quiet and always well groomed. my only negative point is that they are very very short compared with other resorts but again that is fine for beginners. all the lifts are easy to use and the slopes well mapped out. there is also 2 freestyle parks and a couple of half pipes although these were very rarely used. im a snowboarder and it was a little limited for snowboarding. it was also annoying that the bus from the hotel takes you to the wrong side of the mountain and then you have to wait for another bus to take you round the other side where the ski school and hire/storage facitles are.

I would go to ruka again as i really enjoyed the slopes but would not stay in the hotel kuusamo as the bus journeys limited the amount of time you could spend on the slopes and the food was only average. i would stop in ruka but saying that anyone was does stop in kuusamo will have a good time especially those going with children. and i would definitley recommend the husky safari its not too be missed!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank manutdcorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2006

The hotel is not a four star as it is rated in the brochure. I would class it more of a 3 star, as the standard of the food is average. The pool is a good size but everytime we went into it, it was cold even though the temperature was supposed to be around 30 degrees! The evening buffet is not great and no choice for vegetarians at all apart from salad which does get a little repetitive when it is minus 15 degrees outside!

The rooms are pleasant and comfortable, but whatever you do, don't use the slippers from the mini bar as you will get charged for each slipper!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuusamo hotels

north east of England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

We landed in Snow for the first time ever on a ski-ing holiday, normally when we ski we have a long 4 hour transfer journey, only 1/2 an hour this time wonderful.
excellent warm Finnish welcome which was experienced everywhere we went.
The Hotel Club Tropikiki in Kusammo was clean,comfy, warm and had loads of sports and leisure facilities. excellent bar, good tasting and excellent variety of food.
Scenery was magnificent I have never seen as many trees! The tempratures were as low as -18 and as high as 1C but we were snug in ski suits we hired once we arrived.
The ski-ing was a lot better than we anticipated. snow fell every night so we skied on fresh powder every day sadly the runs were fairly short in comparison to France but the snow quality was far superior so you can't have everything! experienced night ski-ing under floodlights for the first time - has to be tried to be believed. The air was so cold that at times you could see ice particles forming in the air in front of your eyes. one day we saw an ice bow above the mountain breathtaking. i would reccomend anyone with sensitive skin to buy/take goggles and a balaclava with them to keep exposed faces covered as much as possible. personally I managed with sunglasses and a scarf but my skin is used to the cold.

Our 10 year old son said this was the second best holiday he has ever had (i think his best was Disney in USA)

what with the apres ski, swimming, bowling, poole tables etc,etc,etc we were spoilt for choice

we were so busy we didn't end up doing any Husky sledding or reindeer farms or indeed any of the other wonderful things we could have done, never mind maybe next time.

Helpful?
14 Thank beginnersluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2006

Ruka is a great resort for beginners/intermediates. The slopes are really uncrowded, the tuition good and the mountain restaurants really reasonably priced (wow!). The weather did drop to -30 plus wind-chill which was bitter but we still went out on the slopes; the chairlifts didn't work at these temperatures but T-bar lifts were open.

The hotel is a bit of a bus ride away from the slopes (about 30 minutes max) but it is a lovely journey and you get used to it. The views are amazing, as cliched as it may sound it really is a winter wonderland.

The standard rooms are a bit small with not a lot of storage space, however they were clean and comfortable. Food is good but does get repetitive in the evening; I couldn't fault breakfast though!

The spa is nice and the sports bar good. Alcoholic drinks are expensive but that's Finland for you (about £3 for a small beer). There is a good bowling alley and pool tables, darts etc. if you are feeling energetic after your day on the slopes.

We had a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank LinzRedhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuusamo
2.7 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
0.0 mi away
Rokua Health & Spa
Rokua Health & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ahmas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
#2 of 4 in Rukatunturi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Club Kuusamon Tropiikki
5.9 mi away
Holiday Club Ruka
Holiday Club Ruka
#9 of 13 in Kuusamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ollilan Lomamajat
Ollilan Lomamajat
#4 of 13 in Kuusamo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Club Kuusamo Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Kuusamo Spa Hotel

Property: Holiday Club Kuusamo Spa Hotel
Address: Kylpylantie, Kuusamo 93600, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Kuusamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kuusamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Spa Resort Hotel located on the shore of Lake Petajanlami, near the Arctic Circle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Club Kuusamo Hotel Kuusamo
Holiday Hotel Kuusamo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing