We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi'light' holiday”
Review of Basecamp Oulanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Basecamp Oulanka
Ranked #1 of 6 Kuusamo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed in Basecamp for a week at the end of March as part of a group on an Exodus 'Winter Wilderness' week.

Cannot say enough about the staff at Basecamp, especially Meiju who never failed to have a smile on her face throughout the week as she moved seamlessly between teaching all outdoor activities and then enacting multiple roles both front and rear of house in the Basecamp. Thanks also to Eki, Noora and Hanna who all played their part in making this a memorable week.

I took part in many winter activities for the first time including, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, ice climbing, dogsledding and snowmobiling. Oops, almost forgot the Quinzee building (team building gone mad), but lots of fun if you like cold confined spaces :) The equipment, tuition and setting for each was excellent.

The accommodation is perhaps a little basic, but was exactly as described and anticipated. Each room has twin beds, underfloor heating, adequate storage and an ensuite wet room. The room was spotless and modern.

The food was prepared by the Basecamp team and was locally sourced. We had Elk cooked in every way possible as well as trout and salmon. Members of our party who were vegetarian and celiac were also well looked after. Testament to our outdoor activities and the quality of the food was that many opted for second helpings on a regular basis.

All in all, an excellent week spent in good company in a fantastic location.

Stayed: March 2012
7  Thank Popey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed for one week at Basecamp Oulanka, which is situated in the Oulanka National Park. They run outdoor activities such as snow shoeing, rafting, quinzee building etc etc.

Basecamp is part of Pan Parks which means they have a code of conduct to follow and must be sustainable and green. All of the accommodation is wood cabins which are terraced and with two stories. The upper rooms have an upstairs gallery so are perfect for families.

The staff were all wonderful. There is a team of 5 as far as I could tell, who are both guides and run the place. They do everything from leading activities, manning reception, cleaning, helping with catering, washing-up, laundry etc etc. There is also a chef to make all the fabulous food you eat for the week. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and really made the week special.

The rooms are warm and comfortable, though sparcely furnished. Everything was in natural wood with some wonderful embellishments, and you have a balcony with a couple of seats to admire the view (though not really the time to sit out in -32C weather). They have underfloor heating which was great for drying boots and clothes, and the bathrooms were ensuite in a wetroom style.

The food was out of this world. Breakfast consists of cheese, meat, salad, breads, porridge, eggs, and yoghurt. Fruit juices and tea/coffee are provided. If you need a packed lunch you make sandwiches from the breakfast items.

Lunch is provided everyday as a hot meal. Either a soup with breads, or another hot meal. The evening meal consists of salad, breads, and then a meat and vegetarian option. There is also a dessert. Everyone in our group was impressed with the food we were given. Compliments to the chef and staff! If you need a packed lunch, you make sandwiches at breakfast and they give you additional items such as chocolate and a drink etc. Every day you are given a thermos of warm water to take out with you.

There is a sauna and hot tub for your evening relaxation after a hard day, and there are books and games in the recreation area. Eating and evening socialising is done in the same room and was very comfortable, with a fireplace lit every evening. They have a bar for alcoholic drinks, and if you buy a bottle of wine they will keep it for you so that you can enjoy it over more than one evening. You do not have to buy drinks if you do not want as squash, water, and tea/coffee are provided all evening free of charge. It is only alcohol or other drinks you would need to pay for.

They give you all of the clothes and equipment you need for the activity of your choice. You need only underwear and some thermals!

Basecamp is set in woodland and near a lake with a beach. The area is spectacularly beautiful and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here! The northern lights even made an appearance two of the nights we were there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SamB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We spent a week at Basecamp Oulanka in winter and loved the place.

The place is basic but caters for your needs perfectly. The rooms are warm & cosy, plenty of hot water and very conveniently located for the river and the sauna. The food was excellent; a varied menu, interesting and tasty dishes and plenty of it to provide you with the energy for the winter activities.

The staff, led by Eki were excellent; nothing was too much trouble and they all contributed hugely to the success of our trip. They make you feel like one of the family and have an excellent outlook, extolling the virutes of an outdoor life.

The equipment provided for the various activities was first rate, clean and available in all sizes. My wife, someone who prefers warmer climes, never felt cold in their equipment despite temperatures around -18c.

I would recommend Basecamp Oulanka to anyone and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: They are all equally good, with the same views etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I actually cried when we had to leave, one of the best holidays ever. Perfect location overlooking the frozen lake and on the edge of the national park. Eki, Teemu and all the team made us feel really welcome great chats over a 'bear beer' on an evening and the food was fabulous. Can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeyerAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I spent a winter week here in March, was a great experience, snow shoeing, husky sledding, cross country skiing, ice climbing and more. The staff were great - enthusiastic and keen to show off the site to its best. The cook was in hospital, so the other staff all chipped in for Oulanka's 'experimental kitchen' which 9 times out of 10 was excellent - especially as what we needed from dinner was bulk and heat after a day's activity.

To the reviewer who complained of no internet/tv and a 50m walk to reception I'd suggest that you picked the wrong place to stay - the whole point of Oulanka for me was that it was away from the chatter of an urban life, and all the more relaxing for it. Definitely recommend if you want to put in some effort and enjoy a pristine wilderness.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahAR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Helpful staff, even to the point of placing some dinner in the room to eat after return from walk.

However the room was over-priced for the off-season, with no discount granted even though we were the only guests.

The breakfast was very basic (provided the night before as we had to leave before the breakfast start! time of 9am - far too late for travellers. No dinner meals were possible after 6pm - far too early for walkers!

It was a very long and dark walk to the sauna, entailing an injurious fall down the outside staircase.

The room had no bedside table and it was cramped - no space on one side of the bed.

No Internet was provided - essential these days.

There was no TV, no tea/coffee, and the hairdryer could only be borrowed from Reception 50m away (and unstaffed between 1830 and 0900).

Room Tip: You have to be self-sufficient when Reception not staffed. Bargain hard - this is only basic wild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fatima W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampOulanka, Manager at Basecamp Oulanka, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Hi there!

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the service in our humble camp.

You are right: like you described, our camp is very basic, there are no televisions, radios, newspapers or internet to bring in the world news into the national park. Only silence and other nature sounds like Myllykoski white waters close by. Of course if there is something urgent (checking the travel schedules, booking tickets) you can use our computer for internet access.

Breakfast time is 9:00 am. For early birds there is the special possibility to get ready packed breakfast in to the room on the last night. We are sorry for the early dinner: we are still eating like other finns: Early, a lot and go to sauna and sleep early afterwards. We try to change out habits.

Very good that you had a chance to go to the sauna and hot tub. Because we try to avoid light pollution and increase the possibility to see Northern Lights, we do not have huge outdoor lights. We do have led lights making the stairways more safe. And otherwise we use head torches - we are sorry if we did not provide you our Petzl lights which is one part of famous Basecamp Oulanka gear.

You are also right about tea and coffee: there is no electric kettles or other kitchen equipment in the rooms. We apologize any inconvenience this caused to you.

About discounts during running water time (May-November): -10% off the second night room price, -20% off the third and next nights. Everybody staying overnight in the camp will get a benefit of 5 € off /one guided activity/person/day.

Thanks once more for the review, you are warmly welcome back to Oulanka national park, anytime.

All the best,
Bascamp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Very good food, Excellent activities and friendly staff made this love relaxing holiday. I found the location very tranquil but it is a taxi ride to the nearest town if you want to go out.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillH503848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuusamo
10.0 mi away
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
#2 of 4 in Rukatunturi
139 reviews
21.8 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
10.1 mi away
Ruka Ski Chalets, Apartmenthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Holiday Club Kuusamon Tropiikki
9.7 mi away
Motelli RukaTupa
Motelli RukaTupa
#6 of 6 in Kuusamo
4 reviews
10.6 mi away
Motel Willis West
Motel Willis West
#4 of 4 in Rukatunturi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Oulanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Oulanka

Address: Myllykoskentie 30, Kuusamo 93999, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Kuusamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kuusamo
Price Range: $116 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome into the Arms of Mother Nature! Wellbeing and ecotourism within the realm of the Oulanka National Park. Accommodation in our cosy wilderness hotel. No TV sets, radios or newspapers, only nature and its sounds. Comfortable accommodation in double, twin or single rooms. Twin rooms with balcony are perfect for family of 4. In addition to this there are smaller rooms with double beds. Activities all year round. Our programs are true ecotourism, bringing together conservation, local communities and sustainable use of wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Basecamp Oulanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing