We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Just what we wanted”
Review of Ski-Inn RukaSuites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuusamo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ski-Inn RukaSuites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kuusamo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We came to Ruka on a skiing holiday in February with Crystal and stayed at the ruka village inn, we booked half board which alowed us to eat across in PisteBar every night and can defiantly say its the best value money ski holliday we have had. The hotel is fantastic the rooms were perfect and the sauna just want we needed after dealing with -30 temperatures on the slopes (make sure you read the manual on the sauna, turning it on wasnt as obvious as the dials made out). The small kitchenette had everything you needed to russle up something if you were going self catering. I cant really comment on staff etc as we didnt really encounter any or need to, we were given are room pass codes on the bus on the way in and just walked straight in with our bags and up the lift. Breakfast was had in Cowboy's which is attached to the reception area and consisted of a continental style buffet which was perfectly addiquate. The Ski room downstairs was ok it mainly was just some lockers to keep them in but it helped. Its only across the little roundabout in the village centre and your at the bottom of the chairlifts so location wise it couldnt be better.
Ruka itself is brilliant its so compact but yet doesnt feel like theres nothing there, everything interlinks and has been built sympathetically. The ski runs are ideal for anyone learning or on there 1st few weeks of skiing wide open runs with barely a sole on them. Mainly tree lined and stunning vistas everywhere you look. Quiet is an understatement there were times we were lucky to see anyone on the same run as us, theres enough also to keep you happy when it comes to variety with a decent quantity of runs to last the week. PisteBar was the place to go during the day at the bottom of the ski runs and again on a saturday night but its really doesnt get going till about 11pm.We did most of the trips on offer Husky sleigh rides, Snowmobiling & Ice Fishing all were excellent and added to the enjoyment of the holiday and best of all we got to see the northern lights which were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roseoakhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Ski-Inn RukaSuites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 55 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

We decided to have a skiing weekend in Ruka and got ourselves a booking on Ruka Suites.
Definitely a good choice!

It is really convenient to stay at the these apartments, because they are located really in the center of the village and all the main services are so close. In Ruka you don’t need to use your car to get to places, everything can be reached in walking distance.

These apartments are really functional; they have been designed for skiing use. They seem to be pretty new and they are in great shape. There are also possibilities to prepare your own meal in the apartments’ small kitchenette.

Definitely worth the money, this was a good stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Ruka suites. We went with Crystal, and they were excellent. Our apartment was clean and warm. There is a supermarket in the block and sufficient restaurants very close to hand. It was cold but it is the most magical place. We went for the cross country sking which was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HolsR4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here over new year in 2011.

These apartments had everything required for self catering, they were warm, clean and well equipped. A drying room for ski wear a sauna for after skiing good cooking facilities and plenty of beds. The complex was a minutes walk from the slope and inside the apartments were shops, takeaways and a supermarket, meaning that you did not have to get all your outdoor kit on to get some milk, we found this very helpful. A ski locker is available in the entrance so no need to lug stuff back to the room either.

Good Points
Well equipped
Warm
Very close to slopes
Shops / Takeaways / supermarket inside building
Ski Locker
Sauna
Drying Room
Comfy beds

Downside
Noise can be heard from neighbouring apartments, partys, babys crying,
Not particularly cosy - just basic reminded me of an ikea display room
Not enough towels or pillows
Bins were onsite somewhere but we never found them despite being given directions!
Noisy heating system


I would reccomend for familys but for couples it was not very romantic or cosy so if you are a couple travelling to Lapland I would reccomend a log cabin, with real fire, having stayed in one before they are far superior but they are in the woods so can be a long cold walk to shops / ski bus and facilities!!!

All in all it was clean and central with everything we needed so no major complaints !

Ruka is very expensive for food, we ate out at:
Colorado Hotel - 2 Adults & 3 kids meals with deserts and soft drinks we paid £200!!
Classic Pizza - 3 Pizzas, 1 salad 5 soft drinks £85
Piste Restaurant - 2 adult meals, 3 kids meals with deserts and soft drinks £150

All the food was delicious but hidiously priced for pizza, burgers and racks of ribs.

The supermarket was also very expensive, for 7 days we spent £1000 on food and soft drinks!
However we did know this in advance as we have travelled to Lapland before.

Ruka Skiing / boarding
The skiing is very good, plenty of beginner slopes and above, lots of lifts and the slopes are not crowded at all. There is a half pipe, moguls, slalom ski jumps, and other delights for snow boarders. Rental equipment was top quality. Ski lifts were excellent, snow conditions were very good.

Kids skiing - A special area called rosa and rudolph with snow men, punch bags to ski into, targets to snowball, a snow man, santa stuck in a tree, 2 reindeer in a coral and a house to ski through was fantastic, and not just for the kids!!!

Ruka ski tuition - No so good
The ski school was ok, but group tuition is always limited by the ablitiy of the weakest person in the group.My group was the improvers group, it was 10 people together and I felt I learned nothing this time. It was my 4th time skiing and the tuition was going over old ground, just parallell skiing which I could do 20 years ago. My kids were in the begginer and advanced ski group and also were limited by other kids, in the improver group a girl was skiing who could not stop and refused to ski down many areas, I think the groups were too big and the ablities too mixed. If I went back I would only have a private lesson unless I was an absolute beginner. What you do learn from the lessons is where is safe to ski and what areas are good for your ability, but you could check this out yourself.

All in all I would rate ruka 8 out of 10.

Great for
* Facilties close together
* Great Food
* Fantastic ski area
* Uncrowded ski resort
*Top quality ski /board rental equipment

Poor for
*expensive food
*Ski School average

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank baronvondominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This suites hotel is perfect for individual travellers. There is a nice Colorado restaurant downstairs where you have breakfast (but unfortunately breakfast starts only from 8 am). I had the smallet roomtype, but I still enjoyed it much. There is everything you need in the room, and even a private sauna!!! Many extra towels which is useful. There is a cozy balcony with chairs, which is great after using the sauna.
Free wi-fi is available. There is no door key, but you have to enter your secret code (5 numbers) to get in your room. The same thing the hotel enterance at night.
This property is perfect for skiing, the location is just 2 minutes from Ruka, and on the ground floor they have special ski closets to keep your stuff.

Room Tip: try to get a bigger room, in the pictures they look nicer.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Tigra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed in the ruka suites in January 2010 (the smaller apartment)

Facilities:
Two bedrooms (one double, one with bunk beds)
Drying closet
Brilliant Shower
Awesome Sauna – perfect after a day on the slopes
Kitchen – fridge, hob, kettle and microwave.

We were there on a self catering basis which we found to be perfect the supermarket within the building where the apartments are located had everything we needed although there was a larger supermarket just a little walk away or bus ride if you don’t want to walk. You could use the lift pass on the busses to get them for free which was a bonus.

The ski area was perfect for us on a couple’s holiday with mixed abilities. Although smaller than areas in places like France, we found there to be plenty of slopes and the area was stunning. Ruka is one of the most beautiful places I have visited and the village/town has everything you need. There is a subways, a pizza place, a few bars and restaurants.

We are glad to hear that Crystal ski now offer this holiday as Inghams stopped selling it (in my opinion a big mistake). We will definitely return when we can 

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kd247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Firstly a tale of woe... We were booked to go with Inghams to Ruka in January 2011, having booked the holiday in June 2010. However in October 2010 Inghams decided to pull out of Ruka for the season. We were gutted.

Having been there three times (2006, 2007 and 2009) before and tried a few other Scandinavian locations we are pretty convinced Ruka is perfect for a family with young children.

To cut a long story short, we have just rebooked (April 2011) to return to Ruka in January 2012 with Crystal.

Ruka has many fantastic features which really do set it apart from other locations. One of the biggest being the amount of slope time available in the day. The normal piste opening hours are usually 9:30am - 7pm, yes 7PM!!! Meaning that once your family are all tired you can still go outside at 4pm and have a few more hours of fun on the slopes. On a Friday night they stay open until 11pm which is just unheard of. I'm an intermediate to advanced snowboarder and have been to several different places and the lifts shut at the latest 5pm, and in Norway as early as 3:30pm low season. So these wonderful long piste days mean you can go out for a snowboard / ski in the morning, go out in the afternoon on a winter adventure (of which there are so many available) and then if you have the energy still, get a couple more hours snowboarding/skiing in at the end of the day. Just fantastic.

The pistes are all superbly well groomed every day and because of the colder climate there isn't the issue of snow lumps building up at the bottom of runs and I have never known it to be slushy at the end of the days. Yes the runs are shorter 1.3km is the longest run, but it is more than made up for that in quality of piste and also the range of piste available.

We first stayed in a log cabin which was wonderful, a real magical experience in a quiet area. I would recommend this at least once as it is such a fantastic way to spend a week. Each subsequent visit and indeed our next visit is staying in the RukaSuites. The RukaSuites are part of the Kumpare building, a complex of shops, a cafe, Pizza restuarant, ski / snowboard lockers (free with the Suites), gym etc. This can all be accessed without having to put all of your winter clothing back on which makes life easier. The RukaSuites are very clean and modern but with lots of facilities including a broadband feed direct to the room via an ethernet cable which is great, as I usually have to do a bit of work. With the Suites being located right in the middle of the village they are close to everything including the large supermarket (about 10m down a hill) and only 50m from the frontslope lift /ski hire shop/lift pass shop.

As my wife and son are vegeterian, this can cause us some problems, but the Rukahovi and 'Piste' restuarants are really good.

As for the area itself Ruka is in an area of outstanding natural beauty. If the idea of trees so filled with snow that they should fall over is your idea of heaven then see you in Ruka next year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PCallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuusamo
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
Cumulus Resort Rukahovi
#2 of 4 in Rukatunturi
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage
Ski-Inn Hotel RukaVillage
#1 of 4 in Rukatunturi
78 reviews
14.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Kuusamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ruka Ski Chalets, Apartmenthotel
11.5 mi away
Holiday Club Kuusamon Tropiikki
0.6 mi away
Motel Willis West
Motel Willis West
#4 of 4 in Rukatunturi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski-Inn RukaSuites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski-Inn RukaSuites

Address: Rukatunturintie 9 | Rukatunturi, Kuusamo 93830, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Ostrobothnia > Kuusamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kuusamo
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In year 2012 renovated RukaSuites apartments provide different sizes apartments that are made especially for the needs of an active family. Apartments are located in walking distance from the slopes and ski lifts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing