We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical moderate-priced Scandic Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Kajanus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Kajanus
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kajaani
Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Typical moderate-priced Scandic Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I visited this Hotel with kids' football team. We chose this place because a) it was Scandic, which usually means pretty good quality b) it was cheap and c) a little bit away from center to prevent kids get away to town...

We got huge connected rooms with two bathrooms, there was plenty of space for 4 persons in a room, and rooms were very clean and comfy, especially the beds were just great. Place is very peaceful, so we got a very good sleep and it helped our kids to win the whole tournament... Kids just loved the swimming pool, and also the breakfast was fine. I can't say anything bad about this hotel, but nothing exceptional either. Good little Hotel in typical Finnish town, there's plenty of similar Hotels around, but if You get a good offer, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -MP069-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    61
    65
    14
    8
See reviews for
52
48
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We even had a sauna in our room.... but didn't even imagine using it.
Breakfast wasn't that good either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kajaani hotels

mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

one of the world class hotel , pleasant as well as affordable. any one can expect the best from this hotel and the scenic beauty around the hotel is breath taking.Best time to visit is march- may , the staff of the hotel is avaiable at your service 24 hours for any kind of help and also if u lucky enough through a lucky u will get a free stay at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shijipuyath1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

The hotel offers basic rooms. Mine was small and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and includes some of the best porridge I have tasted. The bar is quiet, at least on Thursday, Fridays and Saturdays, which is saying a lot. There is a small pool and sauna. Staff were very helpful and the town is on the door step.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiceloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

Scandic Hotel Kajanus is well located hotel in the centre of Kajaani. The hotel itself is in quite good condition, rooms are spacious and clean. Maybe they should start to do some renovations for the rooms soon, if they want to classify them as a 4-star hotel in the future. The reseption personnel were very friendly and I got my room very fast.

The restaurant services causes the strongest disappointment for me. It was a thursday night, when I stayed at this hotel (one night visit). The hotel bar and restaurant were nearly empty, and they closed restaurant and bar services very early. The decoration of the bar and restaurant is "cold" and not so alluring.

Normally in the Scandic Hotels the breakfast buffet is very good, but this time in Kajaani it wasn't. There were a quite qood selection of food available at the buffet , but if some sorts was ended from the table, it took a very long time to have it more. The quality of the food was not good at all. Carelian pies were burned, cheese and liver pate seemed like they had been hours in that table. The food was not tasty and this breakfast definately was not a good. I have eaten in the same hotel sometimes earlier, and I should say the quality of the food has worsen.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlandFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Island, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

I have stayed many times at the Kajanus over the years. It used to be called the Arctia hotel Kajanus in the beginning before Arctia was taken over by the Scandic chain. At that time the hotel posessed an excellent Northern Finnish / Lappish menu, a nightclub and an orchestra three times a week. I was often upgraded to a room with a private sauna and bubble bath and in addition there were bubble baths and a turkish sauna in the basement that were free for hotel guests on alternating evenings. These are all gone, but it is still an ok place to stay.

We recently stayed at the Kajanus in a family room for four. This was a refurbished room that has been made a few years ago by combining two single rooms; hence the room had double toilets and showers in addition to a double bed and a double sofa bed. The double bed was one of the longest hotel beds I've slept in. No in room sauna, but there is a sauna downstairs along with a heated swimming pool open for hotel guests in the morning as well as evening.

The hotel has ample free parking with car heater, free internet and free breakfast. The evening menu is of the dull standard Scandic variety, but there is an additional limited local menu if you ask for it. If you are a member of the Scandic club you will get a food voucher you can use as partial payment.

Vuokatti, a ski/spa/golf resort is a good half an hour away by car.

  • Liked — cleanliness, pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kajaani
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Valjus
15.8 mi away
Holiday Club Katinkulta
Holiday Club Katinkulta
#1 of 3 in Vuokatti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kajaani
Hotel Kajaani
#3 of 3 in Kajaani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti
17.5 mi away
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vuokatti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karolineburg Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kajanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kajanus

Property: Scandic Kajanus
Address: Koskikatu 3, Kajaani 87200, Finland
Location: Finland > Kainuu > Kajaani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kajaani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kajanus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kajanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing