We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time I couldn't stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karolineburg Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Kajaani B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The old manor may be a fine old place to stay, but this room in a separate fifties build waiting a demolition -house was awful. Actually so bad that even after whole day's drive and tired at 11pm we left after seeing the room and seeked an other accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finntripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is made up of one large manor house and two outhouses which host around 3 rooms each. I stayed in one of the outhouses.
First impression of the hotel when you enter from the road is not good - paint is peeling from the sign and it looks as though its been shut down.
The whole place is quite old fashioned and is v quiet.
Bedroom is very big. It has a TV, dressing table, wardrobe etc but the walls did have some water stains on them and the sheets on the bed are very worn and also stained. What annoyed me the most however was the lack of black out curtains. The sun never sets during the summer and it took me a while to learn how to sleep in full daylight. I did not wake up feeling refreshed.
Great thing about the room for me was the private sauna. Was easy to use, worked well and was a welcome way to relax. The rest of the bathroom, shower etc was very old but still functioning
Other big advantage was the big breakfast buffet.
Finally, location is great as its close to the lakes and easy walk into town. Having said that, there is really not much to do in town - Kajanni has also seen better days and it felt to me as though the town was closed.Had the impression that it was the fargo of Finland...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morts109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel really is a former manor house and was formerly inhabited by the senior managers of the nearby paper mill which was the main industry in the town (now alas closed down). The room was gigantic with two bedrooms off to the sides, each with two twin beds...and of course a sauna. The hotel is on the far side of the river from town, but only a short walk across the Kajaani castle bridge. Friendly staff and a fantastic Gargantuan breakfast. I had dinner there only once, but it was very good and not too pricey by local standards.
What I liked most was the rural location and the fantastic "olde worlde" furnishings, almost like being in a movie. On the downside, I was unable to get a phone to work and making an international call might have been problematic, though I was quite happy to cut myself off from the world there for a few days. Try it and see, it is something the like of which you will never have seen before!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Since this manor hotel was about empty when we got there mid-June, we got a huge suite. Had we gotten the double-room we booked this etablishment would have been overpriced. Despite the glorious history it might have, the house is worn-down with a lot of faded luxury in its 1980's details and its crumbling paint off the immediate entrance facade. Karolineburg is well-situated, though, within walking distance from Kajaani town centre across the bridge over the medieval castle ruins.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Purmobruden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Isommat saunalliset huoneet ovat hintavampia, mutta myös astetta laadukkaampia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Mamma-Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kajaani
0.5 mi away
Scandic Kajanus
Scandic Kajanus
#1 of 3 in Kajaani
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Valjus
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kajaani
Hotel Kajaani
#3 of 3 in Kajaani
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Club Katinkulta
Holiday Club Katinkulta
#2 of 3 in Vuokatti
164 reviews
18.1 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Julia
#2 of 3 in Kajaani
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karolineburg Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karolineburg Manor House Hotel

Address: Karoliinantie 8, Kajaani 87200, Finland
Location: Finland > Kainuu > Kajaani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kajaani
Price Range: $116 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karolineburg Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a pretty garden along the Kajaani River, this property is 600 metres from Kajaani town centre. It provides a garden terrace, free sauna access and individually decorated rooms. Set over 3 buildings, Karolineburg Manor House Hotel offers rooms with a flat-screen TV and a small refrigerator. Some feature a private sauna. A daily breakfast is served in the main building. Staff can help arrange a variety of activities, including cross-country skiing, cycling and hiking. There are 3 golf courses within 30 minutes’ drive. The historic area around the manor is protected by museum authorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Karolineburg Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing