We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sallatunturin Tuvat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Please, do something with your internet, it works from time to time already two years! It starts to be an important factor when you have to go in minus 15 to the main building just to check your mailbox. The house was amazing, everything is included, very clean and calm, thank you

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Inna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Drove from Nellim to Salla and the journey took us over 6 hours. The lodging is about 20 km from the centre of Salla. We came at the low season and thus, only 2 other cabins were occupied. The lodging is next to the Reindeer Park and is central enough for you to drive to most of the national parks. We were without electricty for most of a day that one time when the storm hit Salla. There was no back-up generator. It was fine as we were out for most of the day. There's an Aurora information centre at the lodging ran by a Dutch man, Bart. For a hour slide show and a framed picture, the info session will set you back EUR17.50 which I personally think is a bit steep as the info presented was collected off the internet. But his pictures of the Aurora were all his work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our feeling of being lost in the middle of nowhere soon changed into "This must be a winter fairy tale ...". The friendly staff of this holiday resort were very helpful organizing day trips for us, and - there you find yourself in a sleigh being pulled through the most stunning winter landscape by a reindeer! More speedy but equally thrilling was the skidoo tour to the russian border we did the next day. And not to forget the husky tour with six brave dogs doing all the work for us! If you don't like doing the tours in a group of twelve or more people, ask for a special guide. This requires a surcharge but sure makes all the difference!
During our stay we lived in a comfortable house with a fireplace and a sauna, which we enjoyed in the evenings. Always remember to take your keys with you when you leave the house to refresh yourself in the snow after using the sauna ... Otherwise you can easily find yourself locked out of the house with nothing but your skin to protect you from -20 °C!
Dinner was always a treat, wines were nice, and ever nicer was the cranberry vodka. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferien_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is a great place where you feel like paradise!!The little wooden houses are so sweet :) Were clean and really warm!!The view from the big window is just perfect.The staff is very friendly.That we enjoyed the most was the lappish breakfast!The perfect palce to stay in Salla !

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank annoulita100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

About 70 wooden houses on a large area. Not to big to wlak. Ski slopes near by.
Restaurant on the parc.

The only thing missing is a good supermarket.

All other facilities like snow scooter and safaris all available and professional.

Staff = friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartBlikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed in the cottages on the property of Sallatunturin Tuvat four years on a row, and we loved it all the times. The cottages are very nice and comfortable. They've got everything you need, with a nice sauna, a dry closet, a nice badroom, kitchen, you name it. Though it is small, it has all you need. And the hotel restaurant, the spa and the sky lift at about 200 meter. And at the reception of the hotel you can book al sorts of activities, like husky sledges, ice walking and fishing, snow scooter safaris etcetera. Great fun for people who also want to do something else but skiing. we like to vary a bit during a week in the snow. And about skiing: for a family with younger kids there enough of excitement, for experienced alpine skiers I think it's not much of a challenge. Although there is a black piste. And about the cold: don't worry a bit. Wear enough warm clothes and you'll be fine. Weather and snow conditions were always great when we were there. So don't hesitate and visit Sallaunturin Tuvat for your winter holiday.

Room Tip: Don't book a room, book a cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights during our new year's holiday. We loved the cottage, with private sauna and fireplace (wood provided). The kitchen is very well equipped: washing powder, kitchen paper, towels included. Very smart the drying machine for clothes. The cottage are really in middle of nowhere: the nearest supermarket is 10 Km away, in the nearby only snow, but it's easy accessible by car. We also made a all day long snowmobile safari on the russian border, which we enjoyed a lot. The only complaint is about wifi connection: the signal was too low to reach our cottage so we had to go out and walk a bit to download the mails!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greta_andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salla hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Salla
Holiday Club Salla
#2 of 6 in Salla
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sallainen Caravan and Cabins
1.8 mi away
PAN Village
PAN Village
#3 of 6 in Salla
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Snowpoint Villas
#5 of 6 in Salla
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sallatunturin Tuvat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sallatunturin Tuvat

Address: Hangasjarventie 1, Salla 98900, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Salla
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Salla
Price Range: $75 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sallatunturin Tuvat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing